Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Over-rided manual settings

  1. #1
    Member scorpioh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    1,973

    Default Over-rided manual settings

    I am having some problems with the k10 again. In Manual mode, whatever (Shutter and Aperture) I adjust, the camera seems to override them when I half-press on the Shutter Release for auto-focus. The Auto-exposure compensation is set to off already. The manual mode just seems so wrong... Any advice appreciated. Thanks.
    I say the lens is the soul of a camera. What about the body? Well, it's just the body...

  2. #2
    Senior Member creampuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Dover
    Posts
    5,116

    Default Re: Over-rided manual settings

    Did you press the Green button or inadvertently pressed the AE-L button and turned the e-dial?
    Suggest you check with the manual again.

  3. #3
    Member scorpioh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    1,973

    Default Re: Over-rided manual settings

    Quote Originally Posted by creampuff View Post
    Did you press the Green button or inadvertently pressed the AE-L button and turned the e-dial?
    Suggest you check with the manual again.
    I have checked and it seems tat neither the green or AE-L button has been pressed. Cos I have tried observing what will happen if I press them. Somehow the settings just jump when I half press the shutter release button. Is it faulty? Thanks.
    I say the lens is the soul of a camera. What about the body? Well, it's just the body...

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Choa Chu Kang
    Posts
    440

    Default Re: Over-rided manual settings

    try resetting it 1st? if nt send for to Shriro lor...
    Pentax K100D Super

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Balestier
    Posts
    2,052

    Default Re: Over-rided manual settings

    Quote Originally Posted by scorpioh View Post
    I have checked and it seems tat neither the green or AE-L button has been pressed. Cos I have tried observing what will happen if I press them. Somehow the settings just jump when I half press the shutter release button. Is it faulty? Thanks.
    I suggest u email Kevin of Shriro and ask for his opinion. If under warranty send in as soon as possible.

  6. #6
    Member scorpioh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    1,973

    Default Re: Over-rided manual settings

    Thanks all. It's out of waranty btw. The other problem is loosing a third stop from the max f-stop when using TAv mode. May I know how to reset it or can i reinstall the firmware? thanks alot!
    I say the lens is the soul of a camera. What about the body? Well, it's just the body...

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Balestier
    Posts
    2,052

    Default Re: Over-rided manual settings

    Quote Originally Posted by scorpioh View Post
    Thanks all. It's out of waranty btw. The other problem is loosing a third stop from the max f-stop when using TAv mode. May I know how to reset it or can i reinstall the firmware? thanks alot!
    Think the reset adiknaim mentioned is in setup where all resetings are reset to default. You can try upgrading firmware again. But it's still better to give Kevin an email to ask for his opinion as he's the one who is experience in these. (Unless u suay suay like me kenna all the 1st time problem.) Also can ask for an estimation cost for repair.

  8. #8
    Member scorpioh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    1,973

    Default Re: Over-rided manual settings

    Quote Originally Posted by longko View Post
    Think the reset adiknaim mentioned is in setup where all resetings are reset to default. You can try upgrading firmware again. But it's still better to give Kevin an email to ask for his opinion as he's the one who is experience in these. (Unless u suay suay like me kenna all the 1st time problem.) Also can ask for an estimation cost for repair.
    Thanks. The rest thru the Menu part I think I had done that before. I will try reinstalling the firmware.
    I say the lens is the soul of a camera. What about the body? Well, it's just the body...

  9. #9
    Member scorpioh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    1,973

    Default Re: Over-rided manual settings

    Hey guys, I had tried the menu reset and now it's working fine and correctly!!! Dunno what went wrong originally?! Finally it is working as expected. Initially, I thot I was the problem... Now I am loving my k10d more and more! A million thanks to all for your helpful suggestions.
    I say the lens is the soul of a camera. What about the body? Well, it's just the body...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •