Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 23rd June 2003   #1
thomaschan

Default G3 Flash advice for a newbie! Thanks in advance

Hi there, i have a G3 (upgraded from my A40).

I would like to find out what the BEST budget flash out there.

I've searched the forums, and have come across only 420EX and the emobiltz one..

Im also quite a beginner, so can i ask:

1. Any 3rd party flash FULLY compaitble with G3? ie, incamera flash intensity control etc....

2. Whats a flash good for anyway? So far what i understand is that it allows a person to take (in daylight) at higher shuterspeeds, smaller aperture, lower ISO, even if in bright daylight.

3. How does a flash work in macro photography? i have some closeup lenses, but doesnt camera itself cast a shadow on the target? i remmeber i tried taking some pics of a beetle abt 2cm away, and the camera itself cast a shadow on the beetle!

Thanks in advance!!
Old 23rd June 2003   #2
Newbie123

Get the 420EX. E-TTL works very well on the G3 with the 420EX
Old 23rd June 2003   #3
thomaschan

hmm thanks for the advice.. not sure whether 300+ spent on it will be worth the money or not.... considering i only spend abt a few hours a week taking fotos...

also, can anyone advise me on what E-TTL, TTL, Slave, etc terms stand for?

thanks a billion
Sponsored Link
Old 23rd June 2003   #4
Tweek

Default Re: G3 Flash advice for a newbie! Thanks in advance

Quote:
Originally posted by thomaschan
Hi there, i have a G3 (upgraded from my A40).

I would like to find out what the BEST budget flash out there.

I've searched the forums, and have come across only 420EX and the emobiltz one..

Im also quite a beginner, so can i ask:

1. Any 3rd party flash FULLY compaitble with G3? ie, incamera flash intensity control etc....

2. Whats a flash good for anyway? So far what i understand is that it allows a person to take (in daylight) at higher shuterspeeds, smaller aperture, lower ISO, even if in bright daylight.

3. How does a flash work in macro photography? i have some closeup lenses, but doesnt camera itself cast a shadow on the target? i remmeber i tried taking some pics of a beetle abt 2cm away, and the camera itself cast a shadow on the beetle!

Thanks in advance!!
1) The sigma series is fully compatible. The EF500 Super DG is modeled after the 550EX, power and functions are similar. But price is as low as the 420EX.

2) External flash lets you extend the flash range, FP mode gives u high shutter speed in low-light conditions, easy fill-flash, creative and indirect lighting angles, and many many more....

3) Since the flash is above the camera unit, it won't cast a shadow of the camera unless you use a very long lens, or u go sooo close to the subject that your flash can't cover the area. The most common problem to using flash in macro work is overexposure, as the distance is too close. To get around that, diffusers can be used, or some use macro ring light.
Old 23rd June 2003   #5
Zplus

Tweek / thomaschan:
You guys may wanna check out:
http://photonotes.org/reviews/sigma-ef-500-super/

and

http://www.sigmaphoto.com/html/news/500dg_super.htm

Seems may not work with the G3.
Tweek, have you tried the Sigma and how much is it. If its cheap I may wanna try it out too. I have the 420EX already and its fine so far. Sometimes I need a little more reach and if the Sigma can swing it... Hmm...
Old 23rd June 2003   #6
Newbie123

Quote:
Originally posted by Zplus
Tweek / thomaschan:

and

Tweek, have you tried the Sigma and how much is it. If its cheap I may wanna try it out too. I have the 420EX already and its fine so far. Sometimes I need a little more reach and if the Sigma can swing it... Hmm...
Mai tu liao... Buy Buy Buy....

Buy 10D
Old 23rd June 2003   #7
Tweek

Quote:
Originally posted by Zplus
Tweek / thomaschan:

and

Oh, paiseh, I didn't know there are problems. I use the EF500 Super with the D30 and 10D, no problems at all. Not sure if the DG version solves the incompatibility with the G series digicams.
Old 23rd June 2003   #8
Zplus

Heh... too bad.
Btw, how much is it??
May wanna move to DSLR next year (still saving up and learning techniques)
Old 23rd June 2003   #9
Tweek

erm, about $300+?

I bought mine 2nd hand from mylau.

actually I haven't tried a 420ex nor a 550ex so I'm not sure the limitations I encountered are due to the incompatibility of a third party flash, or just E-TTL characteristics that I have to swallow. But well, so far results are good and I am learning to use it better, so bottomline is it does work well, for me at least.
Old 23rd June 2003   #10
Zplus

Thanks!
Old 24th June 2003   #11
thomaschan

anyone advise me to get a 420EX or a DG?

Im probably gonna get a flash one of these days and brush up my techniques...

anyone here uses DG with G series and has problems?
Old 24th June 2003   #12
Tweek

if you don't need the range and the many frills of the sigma 500 DG, then get the 420EX, since price is similar. At least the original Canon one makes sure there is no incompatibility issues. Most of the time the flash range of the 420EX is sufficient.
Old 24th June 2003   #13
thomaschan

Talking

hey tweek thanks a trillion for ur help...

how much does a 420EX cost now?

noe any one who has a 2nd hand one for sale?
Old 27th June 2003   #14
leotitude79

A new 420EX will cost you 330 bucks from A.P

Me also thinking of buying a new flash. Maybe can try the MO
Old 27th June 2003   #15
dennislim

using the 420ex ... and i must say the results i got now is really surprising ... better than using the internal flash ... =)

just bought it 2 days ago ...
Closed Thread