Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Exposure with a CPL Filter

  1. #1

    Default Exposure with a CPL Filter

    When you are using a circular polarizer, does the camera compensate the exposure automatically? Of course, this is under the assumption that you are using Av or Tv. Or do you have to adjust your exposure yourself even when using Av or Tv?

    I am asking because i have noticed that in my shots whenever the filter is on, it is not only the sky that goes dark, but also the other elements in my picture.

    I am using a Hoya CPL by the way.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Senior Member Kit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Upper Bukit Timah
    Posts
    11,650

    Default Re: Exposure with a CPL Filter

    The camera usually compensates for the light lost due to the CPL.

  3. #3
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Exposure with a CPL Filter

    Thru The Len metering, of course will compensate when you use A P or S mode.

    Not only CPL filter, it will apply on all filters too.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  4. #4

    Default Re: Exposure with a CPL Filter

    Yes, CPL will normally drop exposure by around two stops. E.g if you are using Av, your shutter speed will be slower by two stops and vice versa.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Northwest
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: Exposure with a CPL Filter

    See for yourself. Fix the camera on a tripod, set to Av or Tv, and check the shutter or aperture settings the camera picks on the same scene with and without the CPL mounted.

    The exposure should be higher when teh CPL is mounted, i.e., longer shutter time or larger aperture, if the scene and lighting condition remain unchanged.
    As complexity rises, precise statements lose meaning and meaningful statements lose precision.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    sewage drain/manhole
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: Exposure with a CPL Filter

    slide the cpl over the front of the lens you may notice that the metering bar change in the view finder.


  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Lakeside, Singapore
    Posts
    289

    Default Re: Exposure with a CPL Filter

    As everyone has pointed out, you exposure will drop by about 1.5~2 stops when using a CPL. This effect, in terms of brightness of the image, may be exacerbated depending of what you are photographing and how you apply the filter. The camera may meter your settings as being correct and yet the image is much darker than you anticipated. I tend to use bracketing a lot more when I'm using a CPL filter since the results can ocasionally surprise you.
    Cameras: Rollei 35, Rolleiflex-T, FinePix F700, Nikon D60, D300
    Pics: Churchwolf's Album.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Sydney/Singapore
    Posts
    360

    Default Re: Exposure with a CPL Filter

    Quote Originally Posted by roygoh View Post
    See for yourself. Fix the camera on a tripod, set to Av or Tv, and check the shutter or aperture settings the camera picks on the same scene with and without the CPL mounted.

    The exposure should be higher when teh CPL is mounted, i.e., longer shutter time or larger aperture, if the scene and lighting condition remain unchanged.
    i thought the exposure would drop with a polarizer, causing underexposure.?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Northwest
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: Exposure with a CPL Filter

    Quote Originally Posted by mrchua View Post
    i thought the exposure would drop with a polarizer, causing underexposure.?

    The polarizer will decrease the light throughput, but the camera metering will compensate for that by increaing the exposure.

    If the camera setting is fixed to give a correct exposure without the CPL, then yes, adding the CPL will cause the picture to be underexposed.
    As complexity rises, precise statements lose meaning and meaningful statements lose precision.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Exposure with a CPL Filter

    Thanks for all the replies. I guess it's better to bracket your shots then

  11. #11

    Default Re: Exposure with a CPL Filter

    Quote Originally Posted by digitalpotato View Post
    Thanks for all the replies. I guess it's better to bracket your shots then
    if u bracket w a CPL, then i tink u better bracket ALL your shots. cus u must know wat u wan. if u dunno, anything (or nothing) is going to do.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •