Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Is auto levels necessary when doing post-process?

  1. #1
    Member hlw8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in heartland
    Posts
    627

    Question Is auto levels necessary when doing post-process?

    cos recently i realised my PS steps have some flaws, so need to rectify them. my experience is that sometimes look nice, sometimes abit weird leh. if like that hor, quite hard to batch process sia.

    can u help me see which one looks better? 4 in 1 pic.



    Top left - apply Distortion Control only in Capture NX
    Top Right - apply Distortion Control + D-lighting in Capture NX
    Bottom Left - apply Distortion Control in Capture NX + assign Finepix color profile in PS CS only
    Bottom Right - apply Distortion Control in Capture NX + assign Finepix color profile & Auto Levels in PS CS only

    If the pic too small, i will re-adjust and upload again.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Gim Boon Tai
    Posts
    2,909

    Default Re: Is auto levels necessary when doing post-process?

    I only batch process very generic and subtle tweaks to my photos. If you really want to deliver, nothing beats getting down and dirty and tweaking each photo manually.
    If you understand my works, it's photography. If you don't, it's art.
    SplutterPhotography|flickr

  3. #3
    Member hlw8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in heartland
    Posts
    627

    Default Re: Is auto levels necessary when doing post-process?

    Quote Originally Posted by Splutter View Post
    I only batch process very generic and subtle tweaks to my photos. If you really want to deliver, nothing beats getting down and dirty and tweaking each photo manually.
    oh i see. ya, if want the best quality, manually is the best but also quite tiring sia.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,095

    Default Re: Is auto levels necessary when doing post-process?

    Quote Originally Posted by hlw8888 View Post
    oh i see. ya, if want the best quality, manually is the best but also quite tiring sia.

    Automated batch processing certainly can give you acceptable pictures in the majority of cases. I think all of the four versions you show are acceptable. But if you can't decide which is "best", how do you expect a computer to be able to do it for you? Plus, whatever looks best in this specific case may not work that well for another photo.

    If you spend some time planning/setting up your picture before you release the shutter, a minute of manual intervention at a later stage isn't really that much. In all likelihood you will fine-tune only a small set of "keepers" anyway.

  5. #5
    Senior Member zoossh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    8,725

    Default Re: Is auto levels necessary when doing post-process?

    bottom right has appropriate contrast and more neutral cast. but suggest that u do batch process only for keeping purposes. those you want to post and share, select them and process them individually, becos no batch workflow can do that for you.

  6. #6
    Member hlw8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in heartland
    Posts
    627

    Default Re: Is auto levels necessary when doing post-process?

    Quote Originally Posted by LittleWolf View Post
    Automated batch processing certainly can give you acceptable pictures in the majority of cases. I think all of the four versions you show are acceptable. But if you can't decide which is "best", how do you expect a computer to be able to do it for you? Plus, whatever looks best in this specific case may not work that well for another photo.

    If you spend some time planning/setting up your picture before you release the shutter, a minute of manual intervention at a later stage isn't really that much. In all likelihood you will fine-tune only a small set of "keepers" anyway.
    Quote Originally Posted by zoossh View Post
    bottom right has appropriate contrast and more neutral cast. but suggest that u do batch process only for keeping purposes. those you want to post and share, select them and process them individually, becos no batch workflow can do that for you.
    thks for the opinions. i'll take note next time.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Override2Zion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Singapore/Bangkok Thailand
    Posts
    2,111

    Default Re: Is auto levels necessary when doing post-process?

    I'd do manual processing for pictures that I think are nice. Batch processing usually doesn't work so well. And from my experience, Photoshops's Auto Levels dun usually yield good results, at least not most of the time.
    Nikon D200/D700/D800 User :)
    [www.PositiveStudioProductions.com]

  8. #8

    Default Re: Is auto levels necessary when doing post-process?

    Automated processing is a pre-programmed function. the computer actuali decides on wat levels to tweak to.

    it really depends on the outcome u want. manual tweaking, thou more time consuming, allows u to adjust the levels to your own liking. but if u juz want some fine tuning and are to lazy to manually tweak them, den auto levels wld be a better choice.
    A perfect photo that is empty of any feeling will never equal a blurred photo full of emotion

  9. #9

    Default Re: Is auto levels necessary when doing post-process?

    My experience in Auto Level is that its tends to change the colour, together with the contrast.
    Sometimes it works very well. But at times it make the photo too bluish.
    And depending on the scene, sometime it can be too contrasty too.

    Well, just personal taste, I find that the bottom right pic has a very light bluish cast in the rocks which
    I personally don't quite like.

    I tend to use Auto Contrast more often.
    But seriously, manual tweaking using Level, Curves, Brightness/Contrast will give a more optimal results.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Is auto levels necessary when doing post-process?

    er the water and the tree branch in btm left looks good. sharp and contrasty. has a warm feeling. but the upper portion of the picture is a little over exposed. the top right picture's upper portion looks better. have a blend of both worlds ba. make use of layer masks and apply image->use extreme levels to get precise selection.

    btm right looks cool and sad.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Is auto levels necessary when doing post-process?

    What auto-level does is to cut away the unused black and unused white to give the highest contrast of the photo.

    If your photo is alread in the range then it basically does nothing. So it really depends on your shot.

  12. #12
    Member hlw8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in heartland
    Posts
    627

    Default Re: Is auto levels necessary when doing post-process?

    once again, thks for all the advices and tips.

    i'll take note next time.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •