Thread: Which lens is good for travel? Sigma 18-200mm or Canon EF55-200mm?

Default Which lens is good for travel? Sigma 18-200mm or Canon EF55-200mm?

Hi,

I am new to photography and i am looking to upgrade my lens from my lens kit to 1 that i can use for travelling and walkabout.

I am using a Canon EOS 400D and I am quite low in budget as of the moment. I went to CP and one lady recommended EF 55-200mm f/4.5-5.6 II USM. It seems not bad and it has image stabilizer. But I am looking at my options now. It seems that Sigma 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 DC OS is quite popular?

What i need is a lens that i can use for travel, to walk around and capture beautiful pictures - and all these without lowering the quality of photos.

Hope to get some advice. Thanks!

Default Re: Which lens is good for travel? Sigma 18-200mm or Canon EF55-200mm?

My friend recently got a EF-S 55-250mm IS (S$360 from J3:16) and I tested it out for 2 days. It's still good, if not a bit non-contrasty, so upping the in-camera contrast did help just a bit (or RAW editing on computer).

Haven't tried the 18-200mm.

You have a 400D, that means you probably have another lens.. so what setup do you have now?
    Our pictures are our footprints. Its the best way to tell people we were here - JoeMcnally | Flickr

Quote Originally Posted by Headshotzx View Post
    My friend recently got a EF-S 55-250mm IS (S$360 from J3:16) and I tested it out for 2 days. It's still good, if not a bit non-contrasty, so upping the in-camera contrast did help just a bit (or RAW editing on computer).

Haven't tried the 18-200mm.

You have a 400D, that means you probably have another lens.. so what setup do you have now?
    He mentioned kit lens, should be 18-55mm.

I got a 18-55 and a 55-250.. Loving them

Personally, I find the 18-200's OS not as "powerful" as the 55-250's IS
    Meow!