Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Panaroma

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North-East
    Posts
    1,977

    Default Panaroma

    Hi guys, when you want to take a panaroma pic, do you guys stitch the pics tog with some software thingy or u do it with the function of the camera?

    If using software, any recommendations for free software to perform this?

    Thanks...
    In the eyes of the beholder!

  2. #2
    Senior Member giantcanopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    6,232

    Default Re: Panaroma

    Hi undergrd

    I am not aware that cameras can perform stitching after taking a few contiguous shots.

    There are several softwares in the market. The only good one i can think of that is free is GIMP

    Ryan

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North-East
    Posts
    1,977

    Default Re: Panaroma

    Cos I heard from some frez that Olympus cameras have the function. How true is it i reali dunno...

    Will take a look at GIMP.

    BTW, does photoshop CS2 has this function?

    Is it difficult to stitch the pics tog?

    Thanks Ryan for the info...
    Last edited by undergrd; 10th April 2008 at 05:10 PM.
    In the eyes of the beholder!

  4. #4
    Senior Member giantcanopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    6,232

    Default Re: Panaroma

    Not too sure about Oly system

    Photoshop has this photomerge function
    The later versions of photoshop has very accurate stitching

    There are some simple things to abide to while creating segments for stitching to make the stitching higher chances of success. I found this link regarding photomerge to be pretty useful

    There are of course other softwares available as well

    Ryan

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North-East
    Posts
    1,977

    Default Re: Panaroma

    ok..will try out the link. thanks for the info...
    In the eyes of the beholder!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sharp Left U-ey
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: Panaroma

    Not sure which brand of camera you're holding, but the Nikon/Canon ones have a stitch assist program (Panorama Maker/Photo Stitch) which comes with the camera for amazing Panos.
    Don't Dance with the Devil in the Pale Moonlight...

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North-East
    Posts
    1,977

    Default Re: Panaroma

    Im using a Nikon D70 which doesnt have such function...
    In the eyes of the beholder!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Upper Bukit Timah
    Posts
    34

    Default Re: Panaroma

    I used to own an Olympus point and shoot camera that has this panaroma function on the camera. But you still need the Olympus provided software to do the stitching. It is quite troublesome as you need to tell the camera that you are going to take panaroma shots and it only works when you use Olympus memory card. The only advantage is that the camera will provide some guide on the portion where you need to overlap.

    It is easier to simply use third party software. No dependency on having to preset on camera. I use CS2 to do the stitching.

    Rgds

    THT

  9. #9

    Default Re: Panaroma

    My K800i phone camera can do inbuilt stitching! But I believe it is always more accurate to do it on the big screen at home. Especially tricky scenes where the software might not get it correct automatically.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North-East
    Posts
    1,977

    Default Re: Panaroma

    hi guys, thanks for all the inputs...will start learning stitching in my cs2...
    In the eyes of the beholder!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •