Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 41

Thread: Pls advise on this Computer Spec.

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Woodlands, Singapore
    Posts
    2,078

    Default

    Originally posted by Retro
    I used to build my own system, then I got lazy and bought a Dell. The good thing is that you can buy RAM from SLS and add on to the Dell system without voiding the warrenty. You can change your own video card, and add your own CD-RW. That's what I did. Best of all, you have an original OS and 3 year support. Price like I mentioned is about there, but hey, it's a whole lot simpler and less stressful!
    Agree with Retro on this since you already seem to have a CDRW, just check what brand of DDR RAM the Dell comes with & try to match it with another 256MB or 512MB even. Do check what type of casing it comes with & the no. of 5.25' bays. Ideally it should have one spare bay so that you put in your CDRW without having to take out the existing CDRom drive for greater versatility.
    Last edited by cyrilng; 15th June 2003 at 07:00 PM.

  2. #22

    Default

    Originally posted by Retro
    I used to build my own system, then I got lazy and bought a Dell. The good thing is that you can buy RAM from SLS and add on to the Dell system without voiding the warrenty. You can change your own video card, and add your own CD-RW. That's what I did. Best of all, you have an original OS and 3 year support. Price like I mentioned is about there, but hey, it's a whole lot simpler and less stressful!
    Really? I am not violating the warranty in anyway by adding stuff to the system? I know some companies are rather particular abt this. I have a cdrw in my present system and it would be great if I could transfer it to the dell system.

  3. #23
    Member Retro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    East Wing, Dungeon #8
    Posts
    342

    Default

    Check with Dell ... that's why they don't have stickers at the back of their PCs. In the past if your sticker is ripped, your warrenty is void.

    Hey, that's what they told me. Anyway, I added in RAM, and a CD-RW. Now thinking of upgrading with new secondary hard disk and new video card.

  4. #24

    Default

    Originally posted by Retro
    Check with Dell ... that's why they don't have stickers at the back of their PCs. In the past if your sticker is ripped, your warrenty is void.

    Hey, that's what they told me. Anyway, I added in RAM, and a CD-RW. Now thinking of upgrading with new secondary hard disk and new video card.
    Ok. Will check it out with them. Tks alot for the info!!

  5. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    201

    Default

    I'm no computer expert. Hence can't help a lot but got a DIY computer 2 months or so ago for between 1800 to 2k. (+ additional add ons later.)

    Intel Pentium 4 Processor 2.4GHz.
    - 512MB RAM at 333MHz
    - 80 gig IBM HDD
    - 16x Creative DVD ROM
    - 128MB Elsa 525 GRAPHICS CARD
    - Integrated 5.1 Channel(Audio) Capable
    & Integrated intel 10/100 Ethernet on the Abit mother board
    - Norton anti virus bundle with mother board software
    + Casing, Fopply disk, int. moderm + 4 additional usb2.0 port + firewire card+ mouse & keyboard & speaker


    monitor & CD writter salvage from old set. the above set up is more for 3d & video editing work. base on yr requirment, U should be able to go far below the price.

    secondly though these "branded stuff" provides customer/tech support it is important to know where is their customer service base.

    Eg. my old office use GAxxxxx computer system. When we called for tech support, we are actually calling KL customer service centre. It takes ages for the tech support to refer a local agent to us. This local agent came by, realise it's the graphic problem, feed bad to the KL ofice, KL office has got no spare part, got to import it in from USA to KL then to Singapore. No doubt the shipment are all done by realiable shipping company. But the key issuse here is it take them 1 1/2 months to settle the matter fully. And this done only with many angry calls from our side

    Whereas for a DIY set, u might not get the support U need bt when a problem arises, it can be tackle easily.

    Hence, it important for the end user to know what's happening behind the customer service number!

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Woodlands, Singapore
    Posts
    2,078

    Default

    Originally posted by jtnet
    I'm no computer expert. Hence can't help a lot but got a DIY computer 2 months or so ago for between 1800 to 2k. (+ additional add ons later.)

    Intel Pentium 4 Processor 2.4GHz.
    - 512MB RAM at 333MHz
    - 80 gig IBM HDD
    - 16x Creative DVD ROM
    - 128MB Elsa 525 GRAPHICS CARD
    - Integrated 5.1 Channel(Audio) Capable
    & Integrated intel 10/100 Ethernet on the Abit mother board
    - Norton anti virus bundle with mother board software
    + Casing, Fopply disk, int. moderm + 4 additional usb2.0 port + firewire card+ mouse & keyboard & speaker


    monitor & CD writter salvage from old set. the above set up is more for 3d & video editing work. base on yr requirment, U should be able to go far below the price.

    secondly though these "branded stuff" provides customer/tech support it is important to know where is their customer service base.

    Eg. my old office use GAxxxxx computer system. When we called for tech support, we are actually calling KL customer service centre. It takes ages for the tech support to refer a local agent to us. This local agent came by, realise it's the graphic problem, feed bad to the KL ofice, KL office has got no spare part, got to import it in from USA to KL then to Singapore. No doubt the shipment are all done by realiable shipping company. But the key issuse here is it take them 1 1/2 months to settle the matter fully. And this done only with many angry calls from our side

    Whereas for a DIY set, u might not get the support U need bt when a problem arises, it can be tackle easily.

    Hence, it important for the end user to know what's happening behind the customer service number!
    One of the reasons why Gat8w** are no more in SG.

  7. #27

    Default

    Originally posted by munfai
    like Zerstoner said, flash is mainly cpu intensive. meaning to say that even if you graphics card is the latest Radeon 9800 but your cpu is a lowly tortoise, the animation will still be jerky. the 3d capabilities of a graphics card are not utilised by flash at all.
    but we are looking at a p4 here dude

  8. #28

    Default

    Originally posted by gabriel06
    but we are looking at a p4 here dude
    err... so what is your point here? the p4 is powerful enough to provide fluid animation in most flash movies. it still does not depend on the display card!!!

  9. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    201

    Default

    Originally posted by cyrilng
    One of the reasons why Gat8w** are no more in SG.
    Oh Really?!! that's a blessing for many Singapore User!!!
    Last edited by jtnet; 15th June 2003 at 11:31 PM.

  10. #30

    Default

    Originally posted by munfai
    err... so what is your point here? the p4 is powerful enough to provide fluid animation in most flash movies. it still does not depend on the display card!!!
    other animations????
    i feel not point going OT here
    if u still feel that a good graphics card is not needed so be it !
    for me i still prefer a 64mb or above graphics card
    and i would still reccommend a better graphics card !

  11. #31

    Default

    Originally posted by gabriel06
    other animations????
    i feel not point going OT here
    if u still feel that a good graphics card is not needed so be it !
    for me i still prefer a 64mb or above graphics card
    and i would still reccommend a better graphics card !
    ooops... sorry if i was being too argumentative and persistent!


  12. #32

    Default

    Originally posted by gabriel06
    other animations????
    i feel not point going OT here
    if u still feel that a good graphics card is not needed so be it !
    for me i still prefer a 64mb or above graphics card
    and i would still reccommend a better graphics card !
    Depends on what you are referring to.

    As per the original poster's requirements, Flash and Photoshop are solely 2D applications. All the transforms are done by the CPU and hence the graphics card need only be capable of good 2D rendering speed.

    What would you think is a better graphics card for such a purpose?

    I was thinking along the lines of a Matrox G400/G550 or a basic Radeon based card.

    Please elaborate on how a 64MB graphics card would help in non-3D applications.

  13. #33

    Default

    Originally posted by Zerstorer
    Depends on what you are referring to.

    As per the original poster's requirements, Flash and Photoshop are solely 2D applications. All the transforms are done by the CPU and hence the graphics card need only be capable of good 2D rendering speed.

    What would you think is a better graphics card for such a purpose?

    I was thinking along the lines of a Matrox G400/G550 or a basic Radeon based card.

    Please elaborate on how a 64MB graphics card would help in non-3D applications.
    "Flash and Photoshop are solely 2D applications"
    erm.. ok if that is ALL that the user needs
    but the choice is with the user
    its just my pt of view that a better graphics cards is better
    if u dun otherwise, its ur problem
    i dun actually bother
    personally i feel ram & graphics card & processor are the most impt
    : )
    u may feel otherwise too
    but as i said its just a personal preference & i dun see wats wrong with it.........
    no point going on & on right??
    mr computer expert
    i'm really new to computers
    i'm so sorry i know nothing about computers
    Last edited by gabriel06; 16th June 2003 at 01:24 AM.

  14. #34

    Default

    Originally posted by munfai
    ooops... sorry if i was being too argumentative and persistent!

    its ok dude
    cos its like kinda personal preferences here if u get wat i meant

  15. #35
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Pasir Ris, Singapore
    Posts
    274

    Default

    there still alot of things to consider..

    is there a need for good sound / good speakers
    are u an avid music fan?

    changing the sound card n speakers would be nice

    what about the monitor a 17" crt or a flat ?

    would changing the cd-rom to a rewritable be good. A cd-rw is popular and making backups of your system especially photographs

    no doubt the ram in the workstation is insufficient. It barely makes the mark.

    I am using a p3 800 latop with 256 ram. Able to switch to dreamweaver and photoshop easily. But when photoshop has lots of stuff or when the file is getting big it can be a problem.

    A good graphic card can help in Falcon's requirements if he sees the need for dual monitor support. That would ease alot of time/space etc when he multitask.

  16. #36

    Default

    Originally posted by gabriel06
    "Flash and Photoshop are solely 2D applications"
    erm.. ok if that is ALL that the user needs
    but the choice is with the user
    its just my pt of view that a better graphics cards is better
    if u dun otherwise, its ur problem
    i dun actually bother
    personally i feel ram & graphics card & processor are the most impt
    : )
    u may feel otherwise too
    but as i said its just a personal preference & i dun see wats wrong with it.........
    no point going on & on right??
    mr computer expert
    i'm really new to computers
    i'm so sorry i know nothing about computers
    Ignorance I have no problem with, the tone of your replies is another......

  17. #37

    Default

    Originally posted by Zerstorer
    Ignorance I have no problem with, the tone of your replies is another......
    ok care to share wassup with my tone??
    sorry if i sounded harsh
    best of regards
    gabriel

  18. #38

    Default

    the extra ram on the graphics card are not utilized if the user does not play 3d games or do 3d design. please be aware the different graphics cards on the market are for different purposes and levels of users. it doesn't mean the more ram the better for the user.

    don't be blinded by the normal consumer number game.

    Originally posted by gabriel06
    "Flash and Photoshop are solely 2D applications"
    erm.. ok if that is ALL that the user needs
    but the choice is with the user
    its just my pt of view that a better graphics cards is better
    if u dun otherwise, its ur problem
    i dun actually bother
    personally i feel ram & graphics card & processor are the most impt
    : )
    u may feel otherwise too
    but as i said its just a personal preference & i dun see wats wrong with it.........
    no point going on & on right??
    mr computer expert
    i'm really new to computers
    i'm so sorry i know nothing about computers

  19. #39

    Default

    i don't think it is enough...
    256 MB ram and the 16MB AGP card....
    consider DIY...
    Win XP Home OEM selling below S$150
    u buy this kind of branded computer very hard to maintain. once spoil you must call them. cannot change parts urself... so must pay what they sae... no customizations at all...
    haha juz my three sense...
    hope this helps

  20. #40

    Default

    Wow dude. Digging last year thread huh !!!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •