Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Noise, ISO and neatimage

  1. #1

    Default Noise, ISO and neatimage

    Was wondering which to do.
    Should i....

    1)Use a higher ISO, thus getting a properly exposed but grainy pic, then neatimage

    2)Set a lower ISO with less grain, underexposed, then level later. And do neatimage as well?

    Which is better.

    oh, how many stops underexposed can a picture still look good, salvaged, after doing level in PS.
    Last edited by blizzy; 13th June 2003 at 09:33 PM.

  2. #2

    Default

    1 stop underexposed is ok, autolevel + slight colour cast correction and it will still look fine.

    Sometimes I go up to 2stops under, but the resultant colour cast is quite difficult to correct.

    I would think it might be better to underexpose and use both neat image and levels correction.

    What camera are u using btw?

  3. #3

    Default

    using pro90is.

    At iso 200, the grain is rather bad. have to neatimage definitely.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Everywhere where e sun shines
    Posts
    1,057

    Default

    heh...wat's neatimage huh??

  5. #5

    Default

    Originally posted by kelster
    heh...wat's neatimage huh??

    www.neatimage.com

    a software to reduce noise.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Everywhere where e sun shines
    Posts
    1,057

    Default

    hmm...is the software free?...tried the site...but seems to have some problem....

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Bedok
    Posts
    1,785

    Default

    If your camera has a histogram, use it. You can underexpose as long as the darker regions are not getting clipped. If the histogram is clumped in the dark end, then the image is too underexposed, and the details in the shadows cannot be recovered, bcoz they were not captured in the first place. In that case, i would bump up the ISO. In other words, as long as the histogram says 'ok', i would prefer to underexpose.

    About the colour cast: when you underexpose, some of the colour channels may be in the 'too dark' region, although the combined histogram says 'ok'. This results in the colour cast. Very hard to correct. Can avoid by not letting the histogram go too near the complete black region.

    i'm using a 10D. i would go as high as ISO800 - above that i would rather risk camera shake or i won't bother with the shot. NeatImage is awfully slow. (Though it does wonders.)

    What's a pro90is?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    334

    Default

    Originally posted by ST1100
    What's a pro90is?
    It's an old Prosumer Canon digital camera with x10 zoom, optimal image stabiliser and about 3 mega pixels ... I think.

  9. #9

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    334

    Default

    I stand corrected. 2.6 megapixels. Too bad they couldn't make full use of the 3.3 megapixel CCD it comes with.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •