Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

  1. #1

    Default PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    Hi,

    I'm going Italy in May, and I'm quite sure that I'll be using more than the 4GB cards. I don't want to pay extra to buy any portable memory devices(as I'm broke already paying for the trip ) and don't want to bring a laptop cos it's too bulky.

    This might be a silly question, but is it possible to transfer photos from CF cards to my PDA? I'm holding to a O2 pda. What kind of set up do i need? What kind of cables/reader/software. Please be as specific as possible cos I may not be as techincal as you


    Thanks for your help in advance!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Serangoon, Singapore
    Posts
    855

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    possible. but ur PDA has sufficient memory storage space? depends on the transfer rate as well..

    not sure abt O2. but my father's old ASUS PDA has an external battery pack to be attached to the back of the PDA and it has a CF card slot.
    EOS 6D | GH4 | LX100 | HERO4

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NTU
    Posts
    1,906

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    Don't think PDA has enough memory.

    Might as well bring your laptop or get a few more cards.
    SMS Only: Nine One Five Zero Seven Two One Six

  4. #4
    vince123123
    Guests

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    Your PDA will have much less memory than your 4GB cards. I think your PDA only has ard 128MB or something.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,080

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    o2's flame right?
    i have that one too.

    1 prob with mine is that sometimes the tranfer will missed out a few pics into the PDA.

  6. #6
    Moderator John Teoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    2,059

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    But O2 Flame uses mirco SD and his camera is using CF card. Don't think it will work too.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,080

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by John Teoh View Post
    But O2 Flame uses mirco SD and his camera is using CF card. Don't think it will work too.
    can connect via cable to card reader.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    1,109

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by syc77 View Post
    can connect via cable to card reader.
    Think cable might be more expensive than another memory card... It would depend on on how long you are away in italy, and what you are doing there.

    1) Consider shooting at lower normal JPEG, instead of in raw.

    2) Go to cyber cafe and upload your photos onto your photowebsite or transfer from CF to microSD (PDA card) using a multicard reader.

    3) Be prudent in your shooting and delete shots you don't want. Work within the 4GB.

    4) get another memory card. You still need to be prudent.
    "Photography is an austere and blazing poetry of the real" -Ansel Adams

  9. #9
    Senior Member Kit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Upper Bukit Timah
    Posts
    11,650

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by RyanRemus View Post
    Hi,

    I'm going Italy in May, and I'm quite sure that I'll be using more than the 4GB cards. I don't want to pay extra to buy any portable memory devices(as I'm broke already paying for the trip ) and don't want to bring a laptop cos it's too bulky.

    This might be a silly question, but is it possible to transfer photos from CF cards to my PDA? I'm holding to a O2 pda. What kind of set up do i need? What kind of cables/reader/software. Please be as specific as possible cos I may not be as techincal as you

    Thanks for your help in advance!
    Your O2 battery is not going to last for all those slow transfer. Your best bet is to get more cards. If you can't afford them, you can always loan from your friends or I'm sure some kind souls here will be able to help.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    140

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    Hi
    I had been Europe trip for 2 week in two years back… during that trip, I had brought enough CF card with a portable storage devices. On average, I used about 2 GB per 2 day shoot.

    For your case, if you don’t buy portable storage devices…the best way is bring more CF card or bring your laptop along.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    1,109

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by wilson68 View Post
    Hi
    I had been Europe trip for 2 week in two years back… during that trip, I had brought enough CF card with a portable storage devices. On average, I used about 2 GB per 2 day shoot.

    For your case, if you don’t buy portable storage devices…the best way is bring more CF card or bring your laptop along.
    Boy, you must spend alot of time shooting, or your files damn big or you keep every shot...
    "Photography is an austere and blazing poetry of the real" -Ansel Adams

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    140

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by blive View Post
    Boy, you must spend alot of time shooting, or your files damn big or you keep every shot...
    Yeah lah, Europe is a nice place, alot of thing to shoots... of course every shot will be in large jpeg files.
    Last edited by wilson68; 1st April 2008 at 11:10 AM.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    West Legion
    Posts
    7,751

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    so your point is to get more microSD and use it to backup data from ur CF?

  14. #14

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by syc77 View Post
    o2's flame right?
    i have that one too.

    1 prob with mine is that sometimes the tranfer will missed out a few pics into the PDA.
    Hi syc77,

    Did you transfer JPEG at finest resolution or normal resolution? How long did it take for you to transfer? What was the set up that you use - cables or card reader etc...
    If I bring along a portable hard disk, any way possible to transfer from the camera to the PDA to the hard disk? How much maximum could you transfer at 1 go. About 1GB?

    How did you know that pics are missing? By viewing one by one on the PDA?

    Thanks guys/gals for all your help!

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Serangoon, Singapore
    Posts
    855

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by RyanRemus View Post
    Hi syc77,

    Did you transfer JPEG at finest resolution or normal resolution? How long did it take for you to transfer? What was the set up that you use - cables or card reader etc...
    If I bring along a portable hard disk, any way possible to transfer from the camera to the PDA to the hard disk? How much maximum could you transfer at 1 go. About 1GB?

    How did you know that pics are missing? By viewing one by one on the PDA?

    Thanks guys/gals for all your help!
    if u got an external hdd, then u can invest in those "photo bank" kinda casings which takes in 2.5" hdd with card reader, so u can directly backup ur CF cards into the hdd w/o any medium like laptop or PDA.

    cheap and relatively gd ones are Digimate. can try SLS 6th floor, shop "IT Image".

    else just get more CF cards.
    EOS 6D | GH4 | LX100 | HERO4

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    1,109

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by wilson68 View Post
    Yeah lah, Europe is a nice place, alot of thing to shoots... of course every shot will be in large jpeg files.
    I can understand that. I am in the UK now, and its spring, so the colours here is wonderful. I have also been to many parts of europe too. Of course, I used to shoot film, so you can imagine I only have 8 rolls any one time. I mostly shoot in large JPEG now, but it would depend on your MP too to determine your file size.

    No matter what, you need to be prudent in your shooting and delete those you don't want.
    "Photography is an austere and blazing poetry of the real" -Ansel Adams

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    1,109

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by Fragnatic View Post
    if u got an external hdd, then u can invest in those "photo bank" kinda casings which takes in 2.5" hdd with card reader, so u can directly backup ur CF cards into the hdd w/o any medium like laptop or PDA.

    cheap and relatively gd ones are Digimate. can try SLS 6th floor, shop "IT Image".

    else just get more CF cards.
    If budget is tight, then a portable storage drive will still be expensive. still going to be a few hundred dollars. Check out your budget. Else get a few more 1GB or 2 GB CF/SD card instead. As always, be prudent in your shooting.

    I have a vosonic 8760 from eastgear with 120GB, mostly use for storage of all my files.
    "Photography is an austere and blazing poetry of the real" -Ansel Adams

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    140

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by blive View Post
    I can understand that. I am in the UK now, and its spring, so the colours here is wonderful. I have also been to many parts of europe too. Of course, I used to shoot film, so you can imagine I only have 8 rolls any one time. I mostly shoot in large JPEG now, but it would depend on your MP too to determine your file size.

    No matter what, you need to be prudent in your shooting and delete those you don't want.
    Agree that...of course will very careful use if there is a constraint. But for me, I will prefer to shoot first then delete later if memory is not enough.


    Quote Originally Posted by blive View Post
    If budget is tight, then a portable storage drive will still be expensive. still going to be a few hundred dollars. Check out your budget. Else get a few more 1GB or 2 GB CF/SD card instead. As always, be prudent in your shooting.
    Yes...budget is tight, I think get a few CF card is still cheaper then get a portable storage

  19. #19

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    I vote for more CF cards. Its easier and lighter to carry ard.

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Serangoon, Singapore
    Posts
    855

    Default Re: PDA as a memory backup,is it possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by blive View Post
    If budget is tight, then a portable storage drive will still be expensive. still going to be a few hundred dollars. Check out your budget. Else get a few more 1GB or 2 GB CF/SD card instead. As always, be prudent in your shooting.

    I have a vosonic 8760 from eastgear with 120GB, mostly use for storage of all my files.
    oh, i thought TS had a portable hdd.
    what i meant was just to get the casing and u can fit ur 2.5" hdd inside to backup cf cards directly into ur hdd.
    EOS 6D | GH4 | LX100 | HERO4

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •