Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 68

Thread: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

  1. #21

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    When i started shooting events just 1 week after i get my camera, I too had to use auto mode. Course i still not used to changing speed and aperature. Have not even get use to the camera, i have to learn to use flash. So end up switch auto and ttl then just focus on get the angle and composition correct!

    There's always smthing to learn even if u go auto mode. The only waste is your shutter have life, you wanna spend that life using M mode, if u use the life on A mode, its a waste of the camera's potential already.

    Using the D80 too!, Use manual and explore the in-cam editing function. Save my ass all the time.
    Craptacular! More Craptacular : D80 + MB-D80 + 18mm - 135mm + 50mm F1.4

  2. #22

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by johngiam View Post
    When i started shooting events just 1 week after i get my camera, I too had to use auto mode. Course i still not used to changing speed and aperature. Have not even get use to the camera, i have to learn to use flash. So end up switch auto and ttl then just focus on get the angle and composition correct!

    There's always smthing to learn even if u go auto mode. The only waste is your shutter have life, you wanna spend that life using M mode, if u use the life on A mode, its a waste of the camera's potential already.

    Using the D80 too!, Use manual and explore the in-cam editing function. Save my ass all the time.
    It also doesn't make sense if you switch to M and then you adjust until the metering bar tells you '0'. Might as well use A (aperture priority) mode and let the body set the shutter speed for you. Not happy with the metering the body gives you, just meter somewhere else.

  3. #23

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by johngiam View Post
    When i started shooting events just 1 week after i get my camera, I too had to use auto mode. Course i still not used to changing speed and aperature. Have not even get use to the camera, i have to learn to use flash. So end up switch auto and ttl then just focus on get the angle and composition correct!

    There's always smthing to learn even if u go auto mode. The only waste is your shutter have life, you wanna spend that life using M mode, if u use the life on A mode, its a waste of the camera's potential already.

    Using the D80 too!, Use manual and explore the in-cam editing function. Save my ass all the time.
    Seriously, A and S modes are there for a purpose, if u tink shooting M makes u more 'M'anly, then go ahead. Indeed there are cases where M is more suitable, but i dare say for the vast majority of non-studio shots, A mode is pretty flexible n oftentimes the way to go. Not happy with exposure? dial in Exposure Compensation. If u r in M mode and just adjusting shutter/aperture to put the indicator at '0' all the time, frankly, it's idiotic.

    To the Thread Starter, there's nothing wrong with shooting AUTO for a start, everyone learns from somewhere. Keep shooting n learning

  4. #24

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Nothing wrong with using Auto mode leh.. This is to bring the DSLR advances to the mass market.
    Nikon D90

  5. #25

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by johngiam View Post
    There's always smthing to learn even if u go auto mode. The only waste is your shutter have life, you wanna spend that life using M mode, if u use the life on A mode, its a waste of the camera's potential already.
    Oh dear oh dear. What rubbish!

  6. #26

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    I believe DSLR users want to fully make use of all the maual functions we can play around and bring out that creativity in you. If you're just using Auto mode, what differences does it make compared to a PnS? Hope you didn't buy a dslr just to look "pro".
    Canon 400D 18-55-250IS:)
    My Flickr

  7. #27

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Why not use manual focus while you're at it too?

    If your camera has an auto function go ahead and use it - as long as you know what you're doing and you are still in control.

    Your camera comes with auto-functions for a reason, to make photography faster and simpler. Likewise, your camera can meter and calculate your values for you faster than your finger can turn the dial in some conditions, why stick stubbornly to "manual" when you can get better results faster too?

    Different conditions call for different operation of the camera, it is up to you the user to decide which would work best for you.

    Likewise for the question above - there are times when it does help to switch to manual focus, you just need to learn when.
    Canon EOS 66 | Kit Lens | Leung Sheung Wing Chun Singapore

  8. #28

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by pictureperfect View Post
    I believe DSLR users want to fully make use of all the maual functions we can play around and bring out that creativity in you. If you're just using Auto mode, what differences does it make compared to a PnS? Hope you didn't buy a dslr just to look "pro".
    Lots.. Bigger sensor, less noise, shallower DoF from the use of longer lenses, better focus selectivity, less shutter lag, you are able to get the critical shot.

    I don't shoot carrying a separate light meter with me. Since I meter with the camera, then I control something and let the camera do its job controlling the other parameter. You only shoot fully manual when you need to, eg studio, when using manual lenses on bodies which doesn't support metering etc..

    Otherwise, when you know you want to control aperture, use A, when you want to control shutter speed, use S. Still it's not difficult to use A for everything. Select the aperture you desire, take the metering, if the shutter speed is not desirable, change the aperture or ISO and meter again to lock the new shutter speed. If the combination does not give you the exposure you want, meter somewhere brighter or darker, lock the exposure and reshoot. I don't even bother to dial in exposure compensation.

    Bottomline is, if you want to delegate the camera some job, you should jolly well know what it's doing. Metering is something which the camera is designed to do well, so make use of it. It helps you concentrate more on your subjects rather than the technicalities. I'm pretty sure you cannot delegate composition and framing to the camera.
    Last edited by lsisaxon; 27th March 2008 at 05:18 PM.

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Clementi, Singapore
    Posts
    2,836

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Wow this thread is really full of crap. Why is auto made wasting your camera exactly?
    "If you use the life on A mode your wasting already"
    This really made my day, stupidest thing ive heard in here for a long time!

    Anyway to the thread starter, there are a variety of reasons, id suggest ignoring all the idiots here who suggest that your wasting your camera because you are not. Just read up on the basics, learn how everything links together (Aperture, Shutter and ISO etc) and then come back and post some photos if you still have this problem.

  10. #30

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    well, certainly nothing wrong with using auto

    so long as one eventually knows how manual works, not necessary to use manual all the time?

  11. #31

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    M mode is often used when you want consistent exposure across a series of photos taken in the same location.

    A and S mode is for convenience and speed. I use A mode most of the time. Which mode you use partly depends on what you're shooting and the effect you want.

    Auto mode is for even greater speed. Less control, but it's useful for things like street photography, when often, you don't have the time to think and change to an appropriate shutter speed or aperture. I don't use this mode, but I'm sure there are a lot more reasons why seasoned photographers use auto mode, but definitely not because they don't know how to use other modes.

    That's just my point of view. There might be other reasons why pple use different modes.

  12. #32

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by wildstallion View Post
    Wow this thread is really full of crap. Why is auto made wasting your camera exactly? This really made my day, stupidest thing ive heard in here for a long time!
    Canon EOS 66 | Kit Lens | Leung Sheung Wing Chun Singapore

  13. #33
    Senior Member geraldkhoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The Tiny Red Dot
    Posts
    2,571

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by wildstallion View Post
    Wow this thread is really full of crap. Why is auto made wasting your camera exactly? This really made my day, stupidest thing ive heard in here for a long time!

    Anyway to the thread starter, there are a variety of reasons, id suggest ignoring all the idiots here who suggest that your wasting your camera because you are not. Just read up on the basics, learn how everything links together (Aperture, Shutter and ISO etc) and then come back and post some photos if you still have this problem.
    I agree! To the TS, ignore all the silly comments...

    You know what, we should get all the people who think that using auto is a waste of a DSLR to get a compact camera and go out and shoot... and see what they come back with! In fact, a few of my frens were thinking of having a "competition" amongst ourselves and we must leave all our DSLR gear at home and ONLY use a compact camera... that will really test our photography eye... or the lack of it...
    A picture tells a thousand words... make yours speak a million!
    My Flickr | My Blog

  14. #34

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    There is a steep learning curve for some new to DSLR. Hence there's always the exif for reference in AUTO mode with regards to shutter speed and aperture in pictures produced.

    No point in wasting time thinking too much on shutter/aperture to use when a photographic opportunity could come and go in a blink of an eye. Progress with your camera by experimenting with the various modes and at the end of the day, enjoy your camera and go out make great pictures with it regardless of modes! It's a hobby and not a chore

  15. #35
    Member sunboi80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    West of SG
    Posts
    743

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Yeah i feel diff modes got diff purposes, can't say AUTO is for idiots...
    the situation and lighting condition will determine which mode we use
    even Mr Ken Rockwell states that he uses the "P" mode often...
    my feel..

    AUTO/P modes - need to shoot fasts to capture the moments...

    A- control depth of field and the bokeh.. (guess these 2 are related)

    S- Fast action or that motion blur effect

    M- u know wat you are doing and wan to get that superb pic (it does not help if u can't get wat u wan after a few tweaks at the settings here and there, i believe the pros can )...
    I guess M mode looks more "PRO" but it seems to work better in conditions where by the lighting dun change much..
    else u gotta change ur settings and do a test shoot before u can start the real tasks... (I wonder if there are ppl who no need to test shoot, based on their gut feel adjust all the settings then shoot and wahla... the best picture comes out)

    mabbe i am a noob that's why i can't do tat yet haa
    i used A and S abt 90% of the time... 10% M

    It's a learning process, slowly take ur time to get used to the control and decide which mode suits u best... "1 man's food may be another man's poison"
    ;) L-plate Photog: I come, I see, I shoot

  16. #36

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    This is a very interesting thread....

    Me also still learning... and just venture into DLSR after 4 yrs using my prosumer cam.

    Most of the time, P, S and A modes are all I normally use.. M mode does not really use it much due to the fact that I prefer the $$ spend on the cam and let the cam do the other jobs while I focus on other more important stuff like composition and framming. Moreover dun have a studio setup that allows constant lighting.

    Using A or other auto modes on the DLSR does not mean u are wasting the DSLR.. its a leaning phase.. and as experience increases, the person behind the cam starts to look at things from a different angle, and starts playing with A, S and M when the situation arises.

    Take for exmple if I want to get a shot quick.. do I waste time loking at lighting... etc.. or just put to P or A.. frame.. and shoot. Better to get the shot than to lose it. For some of us.. photography is a hobby.. and getting an SLR does not mean we want to look pro... just that the ability to change lens for what we love to shoot it more important IMHO.
    Nikon D90

  17. #37
    Member sunboi80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    West of SG
    Posts
    743

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by bomby929 View Post
    This is a very interesting thread....

    Me also still learning... and just venture into DLSR after 4 yrs using my prosumer cam.

    Most of the time, P, S and A modes are all I normally use.. M mode does not really use it much due to the fact that I prefer the $$ spend on the cam and let the cam do the other jobs while I focus on other more important stuff like composition and framming. Moreover dun have a studio setup that allows constant lighting.

    Using A or other auto modes on the DLSR does not mean u are wasting the DSLR.. its a leaning phase.. and as experience increases, the person behind the cam starts to look at things from a different angle, and starts playing with A, S and M when the situation arises.

    Take for exmple if I want to get a shot quick.. do I waste time loking at lighting... etc.. or just put to P or A.. frame.. and shoot. Better to get the shot than to lose it. For some of us.. photography is a hobby.. and getting an SLR does not mean we want to look pro... just that the ability to change lens for what we love to shoot it more important IMHO.
    yeah for the flexiblity to use difference lens(and filters) to get that desired effect which fixed lens cams can't do it..

    slowly move to the more advanced modes when u are more famaliar with the cams... i dun think all pros used "M" mode all the time... at least for the paparazzis... they are always trigger happy..snap snap snap did see them adjust their settings le..
    ;) L-plate Photog: I come, I see, I shoot

  18. #38

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by sunboi80 View Post
    yeah for the flexiblity to use difference lens(and filters) to get that desired effect which fixed lens cams can't do it..

    slowly move to the more advanced modes when u are more famaliar with the cams... i dun think all pros used "M" mode all the time... at least for the paparazzis... they are always trigger happy..snap snap snap did see them adjust their settings le..
    If I were to waste time setting the shutter speed and aperture on this shot, I wouldn't have gotten it.. He would have moved and the lighting would not have been the same anymore. Shot on aperture priority mode. EXIF intact. That's my 10-month old baby.

    Last edited by lsisaxon; 28th March 2008 at 02:50 PM.

  19. #39

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by sunboi80 View Post
    yeah for the flexiblity to use difference lens(and filters) to get that desired effect which fixed lens cams can't do it..

    slowly move to the more advanced modes when u are more famaliar with the cams... i dun think all pros used "M" mode all the time... at least for the paparazzis... they are always trigger happy..snap snap snap did see them adjust their settings le..
    hahhaaa... by the time they adjust to get the perfect pic.. the stars gone liao.. Since when paparazzis.. or UFO pictures are sharp?

    Also.. i would not have got this as well.. if I messing with M mode

    Last edited by bomby929; 28th March 2008 at 02:49 PM.
    Nikon D90

  20. #40
    Member sunboi80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    West of SG
    Posts
    743

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    I not only aperture and shutter speed le..still got ISO, WB etc...
    i guess when they mean manual they meant all these settings.... not forgetting the compostion, framing etc...
    tot advance cameras are suppose to help u wif all these settings? perhaps a cam wif all manual functions might be cheaper?
    ;) L-plate Photog: I come, I see, I shoot

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •