Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 68

Thread: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    North-West of Sg
    Posts
    24

    Default WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Hi all...

    me pretty new to using DSLR. still in Auto mode!!!

    ever since i got my D80.... had used it a few times le....

    but i realised something..... when i took in landscape, the pix is ok... sharp & clear. But when i took in portait.... the pix seen blur blur one...

    Why is it so???

    Tried to keep as still as possbile le... but still got this problem.

    can the experts advise me hw should i do to prevent blur blur pix???

    Thanks....

  2. #2

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by langzi View Post
    Hi all...

    me pretty new to using DSLR. still in Auto mode!!!

    ever since i got my D80.... had used it a few times le....

    but i realised something..... when i took in landscape, the pix is ok... sharp & clear. But when i took in portait.... the pix seen blur blur one...

    Why is it so???

    Tried to keep as still as possbile le... but still got this problem.

    can the experts advise me hw should i do to prevent blur blur pix???

    Thanks....
    I suggest switching to M mode.
    A dslr in Auto mode is not a DSLR.

    Set shutter accordingly to lightings and F value at 2.2-2.5/2.8

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    North-West of Sg
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by yamapi View Post
    I suggest switching to M mode.
    A dslr in Auto mode is not a DSLR.

    Set shutter accordingly to lightings and F value at 2.2-2.5/2.8
    M mode!!!

    abit too chim for me now.

    but 1 dun understand why in landscape the pic turned out to be sharp but not in portait!!!

  4. #4

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    maybe showing us the blur photo will help?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    1,139

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    it could be a hand shake...
    or maybe using too wide aperture... maybe F1.8..???
    or subject is moving...
    or too slow shutter speed...

    or maybe you need to shoot more...
    practice makes a difference...

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    North-West of Sg
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by JavaBeanz View Post
    maybe showing us the blur photo will help?

    will do so soon....thanks...

    guess i need to create those online photo album thingy

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bukit Batok
    Posts
    82

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Bro please show your pic, if you do not mind people laughing at it (Not me definitely). I never thought someone will say such phrases something like, "WTH, I almost roll on the floor laughing after seeing your pictures!" when I posted my picture.

    Well I do get very useful and supportive comments by respected photographers like Dennisc and such. Just to inform you to be prepared for mocking comments, which I did not prepare for to that extent and felt kinda hurt.
    Last edited by Jeronleow; 27th March 2008 at 05:49 AM.
    Canon EOS 40D, EF-S 17-85mm F4-5.6 IS USM, pending BG-E2N grip and Speedlite 580EX-II flash

  8. #8

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by yamapi View Post
    I suggest switching to M mode.
    A dslr in Auto mode is not a DSLR.

    Set shutter accordingly to lightings and F value at 2.2-2.5/2.8
    Another example of the bad advice you can get here. Don't worry, your D80 is still a D80 even if you are on Auto mode. Don't listen to the people who tell you that if you don't shoot on M, you don't know what you are doing.

    However, you will not get the best out of your camera until you learn the relationships between ISO, Shutter Speed and Aperture and also how Aperture, Focal Length and Distance affects Depth of Field. I suggest you go to the library and get a book on photography which caters for beginners and you read and experiment.

    Unless you can post a shot with some settings info, we cannot really give any more guidance here. What you are referring too (blur blur) might actually mean that your subject is sharp but your background is blurred, which is the effect that many people want when shooting portraits.

  9. #9
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by langzi View Post
    ....................................

    but i realised something..... when i took in landscape, the pix is ok... sharp & clear. But when i took in portait.... the pix seen blur blur one...

    Why is it so???

    Tried to keep as still as possbile le... but still got this problem.

    can the experts advise me hw should i do to prevent blur blur pix???
    .......................
    no picture to show??

    ok, my guess is you took the portrait at indoor without flash, and zoom in, the shutter speed is too low for you do handheld, end result: handshake, photo blur.

    solution:
    increase ISO,
    use smaller number of f-stop value (bigger aperture)
    use flash
    use tripod

    else bring the person to outside
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  10. #10

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by langzi View Post
    Hi all...

    me pretty new to using DSLR. still in Auto mode!!!

    ever since i got my D80.... had used it a few times le....

    but i realised something..... when i took in landscape, the pix is ok... sharp & clear. But when i took in portait.... the pix seen blur blur one...

    Why is it so???

    Tried to keep as still as possbile le... but still got this problem.

    can the experts advise me hw should i do to prevent blur blur pix???

    Thanks....
    Maybe it's just the way you hold the camera in portrait and landscape mode. In portrait mode, people tend to have their elbows sticking out to the side, which supposedly "increases" shake. So like your Sergeant Major will tell you, TUCK THE ELBOW IN.

    alternatively, get a battery grip which has a vertical release.

  11. #11

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    my guess is your landscape pics turn out sharp because there is no specific point of focus to note the lack of sharpness.

    your portrait shots turn out out of focus because u do not select the appropriate focus point to lock onto your subject.

    all of it is because u dun manually select your af point.

  12. #12
    Senior Member dennisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Freezing Upp Thomson/Mandai!
    Posts
    2,008

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Few reasons. One could be your too close to the subject? What lens are you using? Another would be DOF too shallow or could be the person is in indoors? etc so many possibilities, pic speaks a thousand words, no pic no tok. haha don't keep us guessing

  13. #13

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    I'm also starting to learn about photography. Please post a pic and allow me to learn at the same time...

  14. #14

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by langzi View Post

    but i realised something..... when i took in landscape, the pix is ok... sharp & clear. But when i took in portait.... the pix seen blur blur one...
    you need to post picture

    no picture, no one can tell you what is wrong

    can black out your face if you want

  15. #15
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by night86mare View Post
    you need to post picture

    no picture, no one can tell you what is wrong

    can black out your face if you want
    you mean put a mosaic on the face, so the person is unidentifiable izit?
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  16. #16

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    you mean put a mosaic on the face, so the person is unidentifiable izit?
    mosaic or happily use paintbrush to draw black spot over the face, both work

    i mean, we need to see picture, but in case ts is shy, give him suggestion first

  17. #17

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by night86mare View Post
    mosaic or happily use paintbrush to draw black spot over the face, both work

    i mean, we need to see picture, but in case ts is shy, give him suggestion first
    yah, yah.. If the face is the sharpest portion of the image (it's a portrait isn't it?), then it's as good as no information.

  18. #18

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    Quote Originally Posted by lsisaxon View Post
    yah, yah.. If the face is the sharpest portion of the image (it's a portrait isn't it?), then it's as good as no information.
    hrmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    ya hor. then how aiya, ts, just take picture of your soft toy la, until you can get the same result. and post it up, if you are shy. if you're not just show the original blur blur portrait pic

  19. #19

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    DSLR in auto mode? please lah, dont waste your machine. better buy a point and shoot one. Just practice and experiment brother thats all you need.

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Serangoon, Singapore
    Posts
    855

    Default Re: WHy Blur Blur in Portait??

    lol... i tink we shd stop "spamming" replies and wait for TS to reply, and show us a photo (and EXIF too) of what he meant.
    else all these talk are quite useless.

    Quote Originally Posted by langzi View Post
    will do so soon....thanks...

    guess i need to create those online photo album thingy
    u can upload directly into the gallery of clubsnap if u don't wish to create an online photo album at the moment.
    Last edited by Fragnatic; 27th March 2008 at 03:25 PM.
    EOS 6D | GH4 | LX100 | HERO4

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •