Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: Driver for ethernet card

  1. #1

    Default Driver for ethernet card

    Hihi

    Is it possible that an ethernet card has no brand? I just formatted my harddisk and my system couldn't find a driver for my ethernet card. I tried looking at the card but couldn't find any brand. I tried calling Qala regarding this since it was issued together with my Creative 8010 ethernet modem when I bought from them but they have no idea either. I am using WIN98SE. I cannot change my OS due to hardware compatibility issues(tried the win2k and XP already). Also the CD that comes with the modem has no driver for the ethernet card. Anyone can help?

    Regards

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bedok, Singapore
    Posts
    687

    Default

    Can take a look at the ethernet card and tell me what's printed on the chipset?

    If it's Netgear or Realtek 8139 then I can help you.

  3. #3

    Default

    Originally posted by yaoxing
    Can take a look at the ethernet card and tell me what's printed on the chipset?

    If it's Netgear or Realtek 8139 then I can help you.
    Tks. WIll take a look again at the card this weekend. I remembered I did not see any brand on it the other day when I was looking at it.

  4. #4
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,601

    Default

    falcon, take a macro pic of the network card, and post it up - it's easier to help you this way. you can identify the origins of the card if you can make out what is the chipset on it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    yes..show us the pic of the card
    We are HDD of PC & FT are MB add to storage;
    so PC never hangs with enormous storage capacity - LKY

  6. #6

    Default

    worst come to worst buy a new card
    sim lim sq alot

    two place i reccommend are unlimited(level 5) or costronic(level4)

  7. #7

    Default Re: Driver for ethernet card

    Originally posted by Falcon
    I cannot change my OS due to hardware compatibility issues(tried the win2k and XP already).
    this is strange! what kind of hardware are you using that is only supported in Win98 and not 2k or XP?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default Re: Re: Driver for ethernet card

    Originally posted by munfai
    this is strange! what kind of hardware are you using that is only supported in Win98 and not 2k or XP?
    i have an old scsi scanner that cannot work with 2k or XP



    u want?

  9. #9

    Default Re: Re: Re: Driver for ethernet card

    Originally posted by Wai
    i have an old scsi scanner that cannot work with 2k or XP



    u want?
    FOC?

    no, thanks... got 2 scanners, at home and in office

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    1,417

    Default Re: Re: Re: Driver for ethernet card

    Originally posted by Wai
    i have an old scsi scanner that cannot work with 2k or XP



    u want?
    Dun waste ur scanner.. Write your own driver
    Canon Lover :)

  11. #11
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Originally posted by gabriel06
    worst come to worst buy a new card
    sim lim sq alot

    two place i reccommend are unlimited(level 5) or costronic(level4)
    Of all the shops you recommend those 2? Are you meaning otherwise or seriously?

    Those 2 shops are notorious for their bad sales and after sales service!

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bedok, Singapore
    Posts
    687

    Default

    Originally posted by espn
    Of all the shops you recommend those 2? Are you meaning otherwise or seriously?

    Those 2 shops are notorious for their bad sales and after sales service!
    hehe, that's what I was thinking too.... of all shops.... he recommended these two **** shops....

  13. #13
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,601

    Default

    i'm using a dont-know-how-many hand network card for my own pc - it's an intel 82559 card, got it for only 25 bucks for wake on lan, and dont know what management system. it's a steal - cheaper cards, like the 82557, are only 10 dollars each...

  14. #14

    Default

    Originally posted by sehsuan
    i'm using a dont-know-how-many hand network card for my own pc - it's an intel 82559 card, got it for only 25 bucks for wake on lan, and dont know what management system. it's a steal - cheaper cards, like the 82557, are only 10 dollars each...

    Who cares, as long as it works, who bother if it is 82559 or 82557

  15. #15

    Default

    Originally posted by blurblock
    Who cares, as long as it works, who bother if it is 82559 or 82557
    it matters... some chipsets are more stable and less resource intensive than others.

  16. #16
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    I got 1 3Com from SCV, and 3 Dlinks, find them good.

    Can get a Dlink one lor, cheap cheap, supports Win98 and up.

  17. #17

    Default

    get 3com or interl ..life time warranty ...

  18. #18

    Default

    Well you could get a cheapo $20+ network card.

    Since they really don't make much a diff in terms of connectivity speed for broadband.

    Even a discarded 10Mbps NIC is enough. No need for 10/100 NIC

    Broadband is only 1.5Mbps or 3Mbps only.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    cheapo one use lousy realtek chipset

    usually the OEM, no box one use realtek, those are below $25

    my friend bought a linksys OEM one last time...got problem

    then pay extra $$ to get the box version....then problem solve

    after that than we discover that OEM one use lousier chipset

  20. #20

    Default

    Originally posted by espn
    Of all the shops you recommend those 2? Are you meaning otherwise or seriously?

    Those 2 shops are notorious for their bad sales and after sales service!
    haha ok
    maybe cos i always go with my friend who owns a computer company & always get stuff from them
    & they treat us especially well & very competative prices i must say
    but not everything there is cheap though
    like cpu and mouse,keyboard combo

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •