Thread: Some noob questions

Question Some noob questions

I'm a noob using a Canon 400D (kit 1) to improve my photography skill...

1) I've just purchase a dry cabinet, may I know the ideal RH settings? There's also a temperature display beside it. Is it co-related? I'm using the 30L Digi Cabi brand bought at Carrefour.

2) What is the essential equipment needed to help build my foundation?
    a) Type of lens
    b) Is a tripod needed? A ballhead?
    c) Type of flash?
    d) Any other options is welcome...

3) What is the function of a ballhead?

4) I've noticed that my hand shake a little especially when I trigger the shutter. Is there a way to overcome it literally?

Thanks for sharing your experience.

Default Re: Some noob questions

1) RH is usually set to 45%.

2) Don't be too eager to buy equipment. Experiment and shoot more often with your current setup and then slowly explore other areas. This would allow you to get familiar with your camera and it's capabilities.

2a) The types of lenses needed depend on the type of photos you want to shoot. (ie. Macro, wide angled landscapes, etc.)

2b) You'll need a tripod for night landscapes, cityscapes, etc. You may also need a tripod for macro work.

2c) You got to know what you're shooting before you decide to buy a flash. Do you need one in the first place?

3) The ballhead allows you to rotate and move your camera to position (on the tripod) easily, with just one knob. There is the alternative 3-way adjustment head that would require you to adjust 3 different knobs/handles if you want to get your camera into position. However, that does not mean that the ballhead is better than the other. Each has its own applications to various situations.

4) Tuck your arms close to your chest when shooting. Do not "snap" on the shutter button. Rather press slowly and release slowly. Sort of like how the SAF teaches the soldiers not to snap the trigger on the rifle.