Thread: DSLT in USA Adventure Theme Parks

Default DSLT in USA Adventure Theme Parks

hi

i will be makin a trip to USA this coming June and will be bringing my DSLR along. The setup with be just ONE kit lens with the body. Part of my trip i will be at adventure theme parks, like California Adventure and 6 Flags etc. Parks with really scary roller coaster rides.

This is my first time to such theme parks and i am concerned about bring my DSLR along. You see, most likely i will carry a backpack to house my camera and other stuff and i do know that we will be strapped real securely into the seats of the rides. So my main concern is that-will my camera backpack hamper with the harness of these rides?

The last thing i want is that i cannot be strapped into the seats as i cannot carry my backpack along while on the rides. And i cannot pass my backpack to anyone else as only me and my wife are going and its suicidal to ask her carry my backpack while i take the rides myself

So anyone will experience with such trips can advise me?

Default Re: DSLR in USA Adventure Theme Parks

Since most of the time you'll be on foot, I recommend you don't carry too much. Also, some of the better rides require you to leave your bag at the platform because they involve high G turns or upside down loops.

If you're getting a day pass and are staying near the park, it would be a good idea to get in all the rides first, then go back and pick up your cam and spend the remainder time shooting.

Summertime is nice in California. Try to visit Yosemite or even Death Valley if you can, the kind of beautiful you see there is the hair stand-up kind. Bring a polarizer for your lens.
    Last edited by HougangMan; 16th March 2008 at 10:45 PM.
    Canon 5Dm2/17-40f4/24-70f2.8/24-105f4IS/70-200f2.8IS/85f1.2/100f2.8M/135f2
    Gallery

Default Re: DSLT in USA Adventure Theme Parks