Thread: Panning shot

Default Panning shot

This is my first time trying panning shots using ixus 70.I feel that there is not enough 'blur' effect around the Proton to make it look like it is moving fast?What do you guys think?

Default Re: Panning shot

You should try to get a sharp capture of the car, then bother yourself about how to get better motion blur.

On the other hand, you can add artificial motion blur with image editing softwares.

firstly, the car isnt sharp enough (esp the front part)
    secondly, ur shot is slightly too late. the back of the car is seen (unless that's what you want), usu, ppl would like the side of the car to be captured.

to get a more pronounced motion blur effect, u either use a slower shutter speed, or get the car to move faster
    EOS 6D | GH4 | LX100 | HERO4

Panning ideally, don't panning until the back side.

Try to panning motorcar and bicycle, as you can see the driver. Best capture when the driver looking at you.

Thanks for all the advice

Quote Originally Posted by dw8888 View Post

Panning ideally, don't panning until the back side.

Try to panning motorcar and bicycle, as you can see the driver. Best capture when the driver looking at you.
    If I'm not wrong, it's try to pan. try to panning.

IMHO, if you were to try and pan the car, you might consider taking it via landscape, rather than portrait mode.
    One day you'll see.

Hello Variodical

As someone who has been shooting cars for the past 2 years or so, take note of these things:

1- Contrary to what everyone above have mentioned, panning DOES NOT require for you to take the car FULL side on. although that results in a picture with more motion blur, it is often more challenging to compose, and more than often pictures come out to be a little boring.