Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Hubstation - how to record to dvd

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Eastnorth
    Posts
    680

    Default Hubstation - how to record to dvd

    Does anyone know if it is possible to buy a dvd recorder and connect it to the hubstation to burn the programs stored on the hubstation hdd, onto dvd?

    The Hubstation (HS) has 2 sets of composite and 1 set of component. I'm thinking of tapping from one of these points and connect it to a dvd recorder.

    The reason why I want to do it this way is because I want the record-a-channel-while-watching-another feature of the HS, and when the HDD is full, I can archive it onto DVDs and later watch it on tv or pc. Also a dvd recorder can edit out adverts before burning which the HS cant do. And also cos the HS is <$200 at the PC show now.

    Anyone knows if this option is possible and if there is a better option? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Hubstation - how to record to dvd

    Quote Originally Posted by blueayz View Post
    Does anyone know if it is possible to buy a dvd recorder and connect it to the hubstation to burn the programs stored on the hubstation hdd, onto dvd?

    The Hubstation (HS) has 2 sets of composite and 1 set of component. I'm thinking of tapping from one of these points and connect it to a dvd recorder.

    The reason why I want to do it this way is because I want the record-a-channel-while-watching-another feature of the HS, and when the HDD is full, I can archive it onto DVDs and later watch it on tv or pc. Also a dvd recorder can edit out adverts before burning which the HS cant do. And also cos the HS is <$200 at the PC show now.

    Anyone knows if this option is possible and if there is a better option? Thanks.
    dunno about u lah, but my parents using the hubstation to record and also another hdd recorder (which is also a dvdr)

    probably you can schedule a timing for recording, cos you cannot just copy the information over. so you have to play on the hubstation and then record on the dvdr, like normal recording.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Eastnorth
    Posts
    680

    Default Re: Hubstation - how to record to dvd

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    dunno about u lah, but my parents using the hubstation to record and also another hdd recorder (which is also a dvdr)

    probably you can schedule a timing for recording, cos you cannot just copy the information over. so you have to play on the hubstation and then record on the dvdr, like normal recording.
    So it is possible. That is good to hear. Can I ask a few more questions?

    Which port do you tap from? Composite (the one marked vcr or split y-cable from the one that goes to tv?) or component? And for component, its just for picture right, so audio have to tap from one of the composite ports?

    When u say you cannot just copy over, do you mean that after I record on the HS, I have to playback the program on the HS, and at the same time start recording the HS's output via the dvd-rec? Or the other way is that put the dvd-rec on timer and record the program at real time from the HS's output, like normal recording as you said in your last sentence. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

    I'm now searching which dvd-recs have the advert editing function and how it works, thought its not so critical lah, but if can find one that can do it automatically at good price it'll be better.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Hubstation - how to record to dvd

    their setup is simple, hubstation via component to tv, composite to dvdr. (they got 2 dvdr, 1 more attached to another set top, crazy imho)

    then when they record some shows that are showing on the same time as the HS timer, they will just set timer to that channel and record.

    you can plug component and audio to your dvdr for best pic quality.

    and ya, you need to playback and copy. since its not a data cable. if its recorded on the HS already, then you have to playback on the HS into and record off the playback.

    advert editing imho is waste of time lah, unless u got time to play with it... just get 1 with hdd one most likely there is function for those. and its not automatic... most imho don't remove them automatically, its a skipping function, some 15sec some 10sec per press of button.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Hubstation - how to record to dvd

    See my Photo Gallery at the Clubsnap

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Eastnorth
    Posts
    680

    Default Re: Hubstation - how to record to dvd

    Thanks for the link Megaweb. I couldn't find any technical info before that.

    DCA> Thanks for the info bro. Have got the HS already. The recording function and quality does not disappoint. Going to look for a DVD-rec or HDD-Vid-rec. Saw the JC Ryan HDD based one, but the picture quality disappointed me, although it is a really convenient and compact system.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Hubstation - how to record to dvd

    there's a USB port...anyone have any idea the functions? i was hoping we can just plug some thumbdrive and copy the programs out....*dream*

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Hubstation - how to record to dvd

    Quote Originally Posted by di0nysus View Post
    there's a USB port...anyone have any idea the functions? i was hoping we can just plug some thumbdrive and copy the programs out....*dream*
    gotch meh? gotta go see again, only see a ethernet port...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •