Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Sony/Konica-Minolta

Sony/Konica-Minolta Dream. Create. Live

Old 6th March 2008   #1
flowerpot99

Default Sony A350 hands on (test shot at IT show)

Had a chance to play with this new camera today at the IT show. Built is like previous alpha but seems like the LCD is slightly bigger. The A300 is not available in in this IT show so could not try it out. Wanted to see if the Live view was as good as advertised. Personally used D40, then E330, then L1, so had some expectations on the A350 and hoped this will be a better one. The Live view has some lag when you try to move the camera around to look for subjects to shoot(due to the 14mp sensor? shall comfirm on A300) . Think this could be a problem for sports or fast moving subject. However it does takes photo instantly once focused as advertised. Below are some of the shots taken at various ISO using P mode after doing a master reset. Think it is quite noisy but detail are retained till ISO 800. Hmm think have to wait some more for improvements here. (D3 ISO?)
Old 6th March 2008   #2
flowerpot99

Default Re: Sony A350 hands on (test shot at IT show)

ISO 200

Cropped

ISO 400

Cropped

Old 6th March 2008   #3
flowerpot99

ISO 800

Cropped

ISO 1600

Cropped

Sponsored Link
Old 6th March 2008   #4
flowerpot99

ISO 3200

Cropped

Flash at various setting. P mode

ISO 400 f5 1/30s

ISO 1600 1/125s f5.6
Old 6th March 2008   #5
wind30

how is the lag compared to E330 live view mode A. I also have a E330 and thinking of getting the A350 since it is the only other DSLR with a proper live view.
Old 6th March 2008   #6
Rashkae

Dude, that's not bad for ISO 800. Did you have DRO on? If so, it could explain the noise.
Old 6th March 2008   #7
Zenten

Bro, you really know how to test a camera. Low ISO also can make...I mean squeeze out so much noise......
Old 6th March 2008   #8
flowerpot99

The metering system did quite well and so did the built in flash. If only the noise could be reduced. Think at default the noise reduction is not on or set at low (could anyone confirm?).
Old 6th March 2008   #9
achanth

Default Re: Sony A350 hands on test at IT show

the A350 is a good camera. Liked its size. However pictures seems underexposed, compared to D300 (which I also tested, but the size did not appeal to me). Tested shoots a the same place...thought the response was a bit slower than D300, but much faster than many existing cameras. Also the 14.2 megapixel was appealing. I understand the sensor is also larger than most cameras, except those at high end.
Good camera, light enough. The flip LCD size at 2.7in seems to be a bit small compared to the 2.5in LCD of other sony DSLR, Is it the design issue?
Old 6th March 2008   #10
eow

Originally Posted by flowerpot99 View Post
The metering system did quite well and so did the built in flash. If only the noise could be reduced. Think at default the noise reduction is not on or set at low (could anyone confirm?).
The noise isn't that bad really i do see a very usuable iso 1600 pic
u have to do a similar comparison to yr various cameras taken under such lighting condition, to see is the differences in noise really that great?,and when u under yr shot in such lighting condition. it is normal to expect to see a noise free image?
In a real life circumstance, will u really take such shot in such place without using flash ?
Old 6th March 2008   #11
Zenten

Which other camera gives you a 14MP CCD at below $1200 ........... live view some more

Cannot complaibn liao unless you were also expecting FF .................

Last edited by Zenten; 6th March 2008 at 11:25 PM.
Old 6th March 2008   #12
flowerpot99

Originally Posted by wind30 View Post
how is the lag compared to E330 live view mode A. I also have a E330 and thinking of getting the A350 since it is the only other DSLR with a proper live view.
Think E330 is much smoother when moving around to compose a shoot. But think if shooting still sld be the same. But E330 is a old le though still very good (the pionneer) and dun have the stabilizer I wanted.

Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
Dude, that's not bad for ISO 800. Did you have DRO on? If so, it could explain the noise.
Not too sure. Just did a master reset and turn to P mode to shoot. Not too farmiliar with the system and people breathing down my neck wanting to try it too. Any Alpha user can clarify?

Originally Posted by Zenten View Post
Bro, you really know how to test a camera. Low ISO also can make...I mean squeeze out so much noise......
Deliberately try to aim for dark places with bright lights to test the noise and the metering. Think abit disappointed with the noise but still got chance (A300 maybe better).

Originally Posted by achanth View Post
the A350 is a good camera. Liked its size. However pictures seems underexposed, compared to D300 (which I also tested, but the size did not appeal to me). Tested shoots a the same place...thought the response was a bit slower than D300, but much faster than many existing cameras. Also the 14.2 megapixel was appealing. I understand the sensor is also larger than most cameras, except those at high end.
Good camera, light enough. The flip LCD size at 2.7in seems to be a bit small compared to the 2.5in LCD of other sony DSLR, Is it the design issue?
Think the LCD looks very nicely designed with rounded edge. Maybe the framing makes it looks small? I heard the view is not 100% at LCD too.
Old 6th March 2008   #13
flowerpot99

Originally Posted by eow View Post
The noise isn't that bad really i do see a very usuable iso 1600 pic
u have to do a similar comparison to yr various cameras taken under such lighting condition, to see is the differences in noise really that great?,and when u under yr shot in such lighting condition. it is normal to expect to see a noise free image?
In a real life circumstance, will u really take such shot in such place without using flash ?
True true. Somemore I suspect the noise reduction is not on or set to low too. Its quite comparable to current camera at the category its competing and has many advance technology that will appeal to the many beginners ard.

Which other camera gives you a 14MP CCD at below $1200 ........... live view some more

Hmm the 14mp really ate up my memory card... Wanted to try more but card is full le.
Old 7th March 2008   #14
wind30

errr... actually the 14MP is a minus to me.... I would prefer the A300 CCD even if it was the same price. 14MP just add more noise and more storage space and (maybe less DR)... what is the point since the underlying technology for both sensor is the same
Old 8th March 2008   #15
tchoonyong

hmm... seeing such a response i think i might consider waiting for a few more alpha models before deciding to buy a new alpha models. Just wondering if there will be any semi pro models coming out this 2 years with live view as in Nikon D300?
Old 8th March 2008   #16
TME

Originally Posted by tchoonyong View Post
hmm... seeing such a response i think i might consider waiting for a few more alpha models before deciding to buy a new alpha models. Just wondering if there will be any semi pro models coming out this 2 years with live view as in Nikon D300?
Rumours are that the A700 will be re-released with a Liveview iteration and the tentative name is A750... but absolutely no news... I think we have to wait for Photokina...
Old 8th March 2008   #17
dr34mc4st3r

Originally Posted by tchoonyong View Post
do u really need liveview?
Old 8th March 2008   #18
MADeINCeBU

Originally Posted by flowerpot99 View Post
Not too sure. Just did a master reset and turn to P mode to shoot. Not too farmiliar with the system and people breathing down my neck wanting to try it too. Any Alpha user can clarify?
I'm not sure if the default settings for A350 are the same as for A200.
Just now I did a master reset of my A200. Noted down the following default settings:
Long Exposure NR set to On (Off,On)
High ISO NR set to On (Off,On)
D-RangeOptimizer set to Advance (Off, Standard, Advance)

During the "Fundamental Digital SLR Handling Course", master Julian W also gave us golden tips, which included keeping those settings ON.

Can anyone give advice: in what instances those features become counter-productive?
Old 8th March 2008   #19
wind30

I did a test of the A350 live view and the refresh rate does really seem a bit poor. Motion is rendered in a blur leh, making it a little hard to use.

I thought the A350 seems to be a good combination of fast-af live view and IS.... but now the live view doesn't render motion well which kind of defeats the purpose of a fast AF.
Closed Thread