Thread: How much Flash Power ?

Default How much Flash Power ?

I am new to shooting flash with umbrella. As i dont have digital camera or flash meter, I have to learn flash power by heart. I am using SB-28 at iso 100, 1/125, 45 degree on a stand to the left of camera, 45' inch umbrella, maximum shaft length. no fill on the opposite side of subject face. Below are my findings :-

[A] shoot thru umbrella

flash to subject distance flash focal length flash aperture flash power
    1.5m 24mm F2.8 FULL
    1.5m 85mm F4 FULL

[B] reflect from umbrella

flash to subject distance flash focal length flash aperture flash power
    1.5m 85mm F2 FULL

Please comment whether these settings are similar to yours.
    Last edited by CasualSnaper; 6th March 2008 at 11:33 PM.

Default Re: How much Flash Power ?

well, in current age and time, dun think it will be appreciated. but still nevertheless, nice research.

btw, iso matters as well, and light angle and amount of fill.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

Not that it's not appreciated, but I don't think that anyone would even know or remember the data, assuming they are using the same exact flash, umbrella, flash-to brolly distance and brolly reflectance/translucency factors.

However, I suspect you might be able to actually calculate a range of useable settings working on your base findings. I used to do entire tables with my darkroom formulation based on sets of base variants and test results - very tedious and time consuming, but it was really fun and helpful when I got it right.

Most togs I know don't even use a flashmeter - they prefer to whack and check on their LCD screens because they are shooting digital.
    Last edited by Dream Merchant; 7th March 2008 at 09:57 AM.

Your setting for this is incorrect.