Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Blur the Gackground ??

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    somewhere near...
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Blur the Gackground ??

    I like shots when the subject is focused yet have a VERY blur background... HOw do you actually adjust the settings? While taking such shots...is it for days better?? And do you use the flash for such shots??


    Thanks!!

  2. #2
    ClubSNAP Idol Adam Goi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    5,682

    Default Re: Blur the Gackground ??

    Originally posted by siron
    I like shots when the subject is focused yet have a VERY blur background... HOw do you actually adjust the settings? While taking such shots...is it for days better?? And do you use the flash for such shots??


    Thanks!!
    Reduce the f-value as indicated on your cam dsiplay, to the smallest possible given your DC or lens(for film-based cam users); in short the smaller the value, the blurrer is the background!

  3. #3

    Default

    The further the subject away from the background increase the blurness too

  4. #4
    Moderator ziploc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Snoopyland
    Posts
    4,577

    Default

    To add to what adam said, besides setting the widest aperture, also don't forget to use the longest telephoto zoom and move your subject as close to the camera and as far away from the background as possible.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Hi,

    Note: It is VERY HARD to get a good blur background if you are using a consumer digital camera (e.g. G1/2, F707, 99x, etc). This is because the inherent depth of field of such cameras is very high due to the small sensor and relatively 'wide' lenses used. So you can only maximize the effect by using the telephoto end of the zoom and as big an aperture as you can get.

    Regards
    CK

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    somewhere near...
    Posts
    2,115

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang
    Hi,

    Note: It is VERY HARD to get a good blur background if you are using a consumer digital camera (e.g. G1/2, F707, 99x, etc). This is because the inherent depth of field of such cameras is very high due to the small sensor and relatively 'wide' lenses used. So you can only maximize the effect by using the telephoto end of the zoom and as big an aperture as you can get.

    Regards
    CK

    Sorry but can you tell me what do you mean by using the telephoto end of the zoom ? Is it zoom to the fullest??

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by siron



    Sorry but can you tell me what do you mean by using the telephoto end of the zoom ? Is it zoom to the fullest??
    Yup, zoom in all the way so the objects appear the largest.

    Regards
    CK

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    like this??



    taken with F707

    F3.5 (should have use F2 instead)
    ISO 100 (should use high or low ar?)
    EV -2
    no flash
    macro mode (heard that macro mode can increase DOF)



    For the above, i have to admit that i use PS auto level to increase the DOF a bit and to make the object look like poped out of the screen (similar effect of using slide?)
    We are HDD of PC & FT are MB add to storage;
    so PC never hangs with enormous storage capacity - LKY

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    somewhere near...
    Posts
    2,115

    Default

    [QUOTE]Originally posted by kamwai
    [B]like this??


    Your pics looks good!

  10. #10

    Default

    Originally posted by kamwai
    For the above, i have to admit that i use PS auto level to increase the DOF a bit and to make the object look like poped out of the screen (similar effect of using slide?)
    paiseh huh can you elaborate what you meant by using auto-levels to increase DOF? Me a bit puzzled.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    east side
    Posts
    1,937

    Default

    from what i know...u use higher iso when its low light and brighter lights u use lower iso.....
    am i right?

  12. #12
    sneezybum
    Guests

    Default

    Originally posted by kamwai
    like this??

    For the above, i have to admit that i use PS auto level to increase the DOF a bit and to make the object look like poped out of the screen (similar effect of using slide?)
    How you use PS to adjust DOF? Me very interested to know. Can disclose??

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Originally posted by sneezybum


    How you use PS to adjust DOF? Me very interested to know. Can disclose??
    i just use auto level, i dunno much abt PS also

    i think i show u the original photo without auto level then u will understand.....
    We are HDD of PC & FT are MB add to storage;
    so PC never hangs with enormous storage capacity - LKY

  14. #14

    Default

    Originally posted by kamwai


    i just use auto level, i dunno much abt PS also

    i think i show u the original photo without auto level then u will understand.....
    to my knowledge, auto-levels will only adjust the levels in the image. The difference in DOF may be just an optical illusion.

    One way to make DOF more shallow using photoshop is masking then gaussian blur.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •