Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Sony/Konica-Minolta

Sony/Konica-Minolta Dream. Create. Live

Old 3rd March 2008   #1
mee

Default Switching from D200 to A700

Hi, can anyone share your experience in switching from D200 to A700? Your positive and nagetive experience are useful for my consideration. Thanks
Old 3rd March 2008   #2
Rashkae

Default Re: Switching from D200 to A700

Hmmm, I don't know how many people actually made that switch, since the D200 is a good camera already. I do know that some D200 users I know enjoyed the ergonomics and handling of the A700 a lot. There are some advantages to the A700.
Old 3rd March 2008   #3
scaredcloud

I am using D300 now, while handling of D300 and D200 is almost the same, it really feels good when i was playing with the A700 previously.
The ergonomics is nice, and the battery grip is really nice to hold and navigate. Both me and my wife tried 40D and A700, and we agreed that A700 really feels better. In terms of performance, i would say the camera is pretty responsive, i was using it coupled with a 50/1.4 and i was happily snapping away.
However, there are a few things that u may need to have some get used to:
1) No LCD panel on top
2) Focusing screen (the focus point and layout logic)
3) Menu

Other than these 3, i find it quite comfortable to work with as a nikon user.
Old 3rd March 2008   #4
henrykoh

i am using a a200 and have been using it intensively, i like it but sometimes i feel i need more control and the a700 is more appealing in this respect. a a750 with live view would be ideal for me. i did not want to buy the a700 at that time because it was like 'old' in the light of the recent release models and off course the a200 is cheap.

i want to go to a higher model but the full frame is not what i need, so i am still waiting. I hope you get my drift
Old 3rd March 2008   #5
mee

Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
Hmmm, I don't know how many people actually made that switch, since the D200 is a good camera already. I do know that some D200 users I know enjoyed the ergonomics and handling of the A700 a lot. There are some advantages to the A700.
Thank you Rashkae for your sharing. If you are now using A700, may be can share some of the advantages over D200 if you know.
Old 3rd March 2008   #6
Rashkae

Originally Posted by mee View Post
Thank you Rashkae for your sharing. If you are now using A700, may be can share some of the advantages over D200 if you know.
Well, let's see now:

1. 12.24MP sensor (similar to the one Sony designed for the D300)
2. In-body image stabilizer (VR on ALL lenses, even 25-year-old minolta ones)
3. Dynamic Range Optimizer. This is like an enhanced, much faster Active D-lighting.
4. Larger, 921,000-dot screen
5. Fantastic Vertical grip
6. Autofocus Zeiss Lenses (on Nikon it's MF only)
7. HDMI output (fantastic for showing pics you just took in a slideshow on an LCD TV)
8. Bundled remote control
9. Remote flash trigger using built-in flash
10. Grip-assisted eye-start AF
11. 21.6 MB/s Data transfer rate vs. 5.3 MB/s
12. Continuous 5fps burst mode

Hmmm... I think there are more but I'm too lazy to think right now. That's just what came to mind immediately.
Old 3rd March 2008   #7
mee

Originally Posted by scaredcloud View Post
I am using D300 now, while handling of D300 and D200 is almost the same, it really feels good when i was playing with the A700 previously.
The ergonomics is nice, and the battery grip is really nice to hold and navigate. Both me and my wife tried 40D and A700, and we agreed that A700 really feels better. In terms of performance, i would say the camera is pretty responsive, i was using it coupled with a 50/1.4 and i was happily snapping away.
However, there are a few things that u may need to have some get used to:
1) No LCD panel on top
2) Focusing screen (the focus point and layout logic)
3) Menu

Other than these 3, i find it quite comfortable to work with as a nikon user.
Thanks Scaredcloud for your sharing. You are right, I am also feel that up-grade from D200 to D300 is like not much changes. After touching and shooting a few testing shots of A700, quite tempting to switch over but yet to have enough reasons to do so.
Old 3rd March 2008   #8
mee

Originally Posted by henrykoh View Post
i am using a a200 and have been using it intensively, i like it but sometimes i feel i need more control and the a700 is more appealing in this respect. a a750 with live view would be ideal for me. i did not want to buy the a700 at that time because it was like 'old' in the light of the recent release models and off course the a200 is cheap.

i want to go to a higher model but the full frame is not what i need, so i am still waiting. I hope you get my drift
Thanks henry for your sharing. I am not looking at full frame now as well.
Old 3rd March 2008   #9
eow

As for me i quite of a wide angle user...with the exception of the new vr kit lens recently offered by canon and nikon...nikon cheaper vr wide angle zoom cost easily more than s$500-s$2000 for 24-105vr to 17-55 vr.
however for sony all lenses become vr lenses from the el cheapo 18-70 kit lens to the cz 24-70mm

zoom aside...we also had vr-enable prime.....haha imagine able to shoot up to 3 stops or more with a f1.4 lens
Old 3rd March 2008   #10
mee

Well, let's see now:

1. 12.24MP sensor (similar to the one Sony designed for the D300)
2. In-body image stabilizer (VR on ALL lenses, even 25-year-old minolta ones)
3. Dynamic Range Optimizer. This is like an enhanced, much faster Active D-lighting.
4. Larger, 921,000-dot screen
5. Fantastic Vertical grip
6. Autofocus Zeiss Lenses (on Nikon it's MF only)
7. HDMI output (fantastic for showing pics you just took in a slideshow on an LCD TV)
8. Bundled remote control
9. Remote flash trigger using built-in flash
10. Grip-assisted eye-start AF
11. 21.6 MB/s Data transfer rate vs. 5.3 MB/s
12. Continuous 5fps burst mode

Hmmm... I think there are more but I'm too lazy to think right now. That's just what came to mind immediately.
Thanks, I shall wait and see anyone add in some more good and bad things about A700.
Old 3rd March 2008   #11
mee

Originally Posted by eow View Post
As for me i quite of a wide angle user...with the exception of the new vr kit lens recently offered by canon and nikon...nikon cheaper vr wide angle zoom cost easily more than s$500-s$2000 for 24-105vr to 17-55 vr.
however for sony all lenses become vr lenses from the el cheapo 18-70 kit lens to the cz 24-70mm

zoom aside...we also had vr-enable prime.....haha imagine able to shoot up to 3 stops or more with a f1.4 lens
Thanks eow. points taken.
Old 3rd March 2008   #12
Rashkae

Thanks, I shall wait and see anyone add in some more good and bad things about A700.
Main weaknesses vs. D200:

1. No top LCD screen (do you really need it?)
2. Much easier to find lenses all over SG
3. Sony SG lens prices are really too high

For point 2 and 3, it's a good reason why we order from the USA. Great experiences so far.
Old 3rd March 2008   #13
eow

Beside, unlike nikon and canon which provide vr-is enabled lenses only under their own brand.
the sony,pentax and olympus had the ability to convert all 3rd parties lenses into anti-shake lens ...
image using a sigma 12-24mm for indoor shoot with an as enabled body.....the other brands mostly required u to shoot with a tripod...which in some places may draw too much attention

Last edited by eow; 3rd March 2008 at 11:14 PM.
Old 3rd March 2008   #14
mee

Main weaknesses vs. D200:

1. No top LCD screen (do you really need it?)
2. Much easier to find lenses all over SG
3. Sony SG lens prices are really too high

For point 2 and 3, it's a good reason why we order from the USA. Great experiences so far.
Hmmm...point 2 and 3 is really my geart concern and it keep pulling me back. it's OK no top LCD screen, direct button is better and the big LCD screen at the back I think it's better too.
Old 4th March 2008   #15
dr34mc4st3r

Hmmm...point 2 and 3 is really my geart concern and it keep pulling me back. it's OK no top LCD screen, direct button is better and the big LCD screen at the back I think it's better too.
up to you to feel whether that's a pro or con. for me i think its more fun to search around the world for cheaper prices of lens (i.e. B&H Photo) and ebay, but that will take more time lah. suddenly u cannot take for granted can buy lens anytime
Old 4th March 2008   #16
tankm

You are right. That didn't stop lots of Minolta/Alpha users from the BBB virus.

Originally Posted by dr34mc4st3r View Post
up to you to feel whether that's a pro or con. for me i think its more fun to search around the world for cheaper prices of lens (i.e. B&H Photo) and ebay, but that will take more time lah. suddenly u cannot take for granted can buy lens anytime
Old 4th March 2008   #17
Zenten

Beside, unlike nikon and canon which provide vr-is enabled lenses only under their own brand.
the sony,pentax and olympus had the ability to convert all 3rd parties lenses into anti-shake lens ...
image using a sigma 12-24mm for indoor shoot with an as enabled body.....the other brands mostly required u to shoot with a tripod...which in some places may draw too much attention
So when you buying the Pentax K20D? ........
Old 4th March 2008   #18
eow

Originally Posted by Zenten View Post
So when you buying the Pentax K20D? ........
sorry bro, i'm a change man, nowaday more into bee and bird..just a simple camera and a lens with 3rd party ext tube will do nicely for me liao
Old 4th March 2008   #19
raincool2005

sorry bro, i'm a change man, nowaday more into bee and bird..just a simple camera and a lens with 3rd party ext tube will do nicely for me liao
oh yes... i really believe u leh !
Old 4th March 2008   #20
Rashkae

Yup yup... It's just the birds and the bees and the flowers and the trees...

And with an "extension tube" eh?