Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Device for D100 to shoot at interval

  1. #1
    Member mig37's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Toa Payoh, Singapore
    Posts
    120

    Default Device for D100 to shoot at interval

    Hi all,

    Just wondering if there's a device to allow user to program the camera to shoot at a specific interval. For instance, one shot every 5 seconds.

    If there were, what is the model number, where to get and the price?

    Thanks in advance.

    Cheers!

    Ming Huei

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    If I am not wrong, the MC-20 remote can do it.

    Regards
    CK

  3. #3
    Member mig37's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Toa Payoh, Singapore
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Thanks ckiang, will check with CP.

    Cheers!

    Ming Huei

  4. #4
    Member mig37's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Toa Payoh, Singapore
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Hi ckiang,

    Found out from MS Color that MC-20 can only be used with MB-100.

    Since its gonna be used just once, I probably won't get the vertical grip just for this.

    Thanks for everything.

    Cheers!

    Ming Huei

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by mig37
    Hi ckiang,

    Found out from MS Color that MC-20 can only be used with MB-100.

    Since its gonna be used just once, I probably won't get the vertical grip just for this.

    Thanks for everything.

    Cheers!

    Ming Huei
    Oh yes, my bad. I was assuming you have the grip, most D100 users do. Unfortunately, the D100 by itself can only support the mechanical type cable release which cannot do what you wanted.

    Regards
    CK

  6. #6
    Member mig37's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Toa Payoh, Singapore
    Posts
    120

    Default

    No problem ckiang.

    But I have been thinking about getting the grip. Still see no valid reason, the urge is there though.

    Cheers!

    Ming Huei

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    2,548

    Default

    You can cobble up a mechanical intervalometer interface quite easily

    Things you'll need:

    Shutter release cable (non locking type)
    Auto resetting timer module (plans are online)
    Relay and associated driver circuitry (plans online)
    1 soleniod
    Aluminum etc.

    The method is simple enough, build a timer and add a relay to drive a soleniod. Clamp solidly the shutter release cable so it's pushed in by the soleniod and once the solenoid is deactivated the shutter cable will disengage.

    It's an OLD old method many of us used in the early 70 to time single frame shots and such units were commercially available back then too for cameras fitted with power winders.
    The Ang Moh from Hell
    Professional Photography - many are called, few are chosen!

  8. #8

    Default

    Just hook it up to a computer via USB cable and use Nikon Capture 3.

    The camera control allows time lapse photography.

  9. #9
    Member mig37's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Toa Payoh, Singapore
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Thanks everyone.

    Looks like I'd go for Willy's idea. But, have to buy Capture 3.

    Cheers!

    Ming Huei

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •