Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 36

Thread: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

  1. #1
    Senior Member engrmariano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rivervale
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    just got crazy about HDRI and tried this free software.
    CnC are very much wellcome, please be gentle coz i'm not expert about this, just want to share.

    heres the d/l site http://qtpfsgui.sourceforge.net/

    used 3 different EV jpegs to create 1 HDRI.

    -2EV


    0EV


    +2EV


    just select these 3 images upon installing the software and following some instructions.

    heres the resulting image


    look at the detailes of the wooden table and the marble stains on this image.
    imho, its way better than the 0EV.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    Hmm...
    Interesting...
    Worth a try...

  3. #3
    Senior Member engrmariano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rivervale
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    Quote Originally Posted by mechattax View Post
    Hmm...
    Interesting...
    Worth a try...
    land scape is next

  4. #4

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    Yea.. the resulting file size of HDR is always about 3 or more times bigger than total sizes of 3 files or more..

    Enjoy HDR-ing...

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Where the wind blows...
    Posts
    4,528

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    Really?

    Quote Originally Posted by dreamsnapper View Post
    Yea.. the resulting file size of HDR is always about 3 or more times bigger than total sizes of 3 files or more..

    Enjoy HDR-ing...

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Where the wind blows...
    Posts
    4,528

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    Hi engrmariano, I think the DR for the scene is not that wide to test HDR leh....What you get in you sample I think can be obtained by tone mapping your 0ev pic (RAW format)....yah, you should try landscape or outdoor pic. What do you think?

    Quote Originally Posted by engrmariano View Post
    land scape is next

  7. #7

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    needs more massaging in photoshop - the blue in the picture for the johnson's logo and another bottle cap is too vibrant

    oh, when will they produce a super duper good hdr program then can spend less time in photoshop trying to make it look normal while retaining dynamic range..

    however like lastboltnut has said, the dynamic range is still relatively limited. most indoor scenes cast in relatively ok ambient light will be like this. just a little play in shadows/highlights will give you almost the same result. when it comes to much more problematic scenes then the strengths and/or weaknesses of the hdr program will stand out.

    this is your 0ev picture after playing with shadow/highlights in cs 2



    actually, i think from experience, the file size isn't that huge unless you save tiff. it will be bigger than normal, that's for sure.
    Last edited by night86mare; 25th February 2008 at 05:43 PM.

  8. #8
    Senior Member engrmariano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rivervale
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    night86mare: i saw some of your hdri, its nice. but on my part, cannot process raw and potoshop at the moment coz laptop abit low power, may be when upgraded to mac(?).

  9. #9

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui



    my feeble attempt

  10. #10
    Senior Member engrmariano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rivervale
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    jopel: thanks for trying my images what software did you use?

  11. #11
    Senior Member cichlid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    S'pore
    Posts
    5,060

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    Hi engrmariano

    Is it straightforward and easy to use, the program?

  12. #12
    Senior Member engrmariano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rivervale
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    Quote Originally Posted by cichlid View Post
    Hi engrmariano

    Is it straightforward and easy to use, the program?
    not as easy as 1-2-3. may be 3-6-9.

    just try to produce 3images with different EV then finish the image with not much adjustment. then its up to you to manipulate some adjustments of the software that you want to do with the final image.

  13. #13
    Senior Member engrmariano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rivervale
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    LANDSCAPE (3jpgs)

    -2EV


    0EV


    +2EV


    im not happy with the final image so i crunk up the sauration abit using irfanview

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,922

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    Interesting thread. I have yet to try out the free software.

    Please pardon the bad JPEG compression. Here is something that I spent like 15mins post-processing them via my 'manual' HDR method. Hope you don't mind I used your set of pics, engrmariano.

    Just wanted to compare doing DIY HDR vs HDR merging by software. Your thoughts are much appreciated. Open for discussion.

    Last edited by hazmee; 27th February 2008 at 03:13 PM.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    What do you call "Manual HDR" ?

  16. #16
    Senior Member engrmariano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rivervale
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    hazmee:no problem with, im also looking for someone to discuss with coz im not an expert about this, just got interested with it.
    about the image you producesd, for me its lacks the details on the shadow part. i think you give more emphasize on the bright part(?)

    amuary: i think manual HDR means creating HDRI with a single jpg or raw.
    Last edited by engrmariano; 27th February 2008 at 06:32 PM.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    Ah I see... I had always thought it would be an advantage from buying a DSLR (I found bracketing painful on my fuji bridge), since you would get more information in the RAW, you would be able to create HDRs from single RAWs. As it turns out, the default processing on the D40 is so good that I rarely feel the need to post-process (ok, except a bit of lomoization lately hehe , I like the look).
    Somehow, I have always considered bracketing as a kind of "hack" you use when your sensor is not good enough to capture the whole DR.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,922

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    Quote Originally Posted by engrmariano View Post
    hazmee:no problem with, im also looking for someone to discuss with coz im not an expert about this, just got interested with it.
    about the image you producesd, for me its lacks the details on the shadow part. i think you give more emphasize on the bright part(?)
    Hi, if you look at your processed HDR image using the free software, shadow details and colors looks fake. There isn't any contrast and it looks flat. Those are the reasons why I avoid processing my shots in HDR software (e.g. like Photomatix) because I often get mixed results. Its almost like playing Russian roulette. To be honest, I do not really like to muck around with HDR software. I find it works best only in bright sunny days where the dynamic range exceeds what the sensor can capture.

    BTW, when I mentioned manual HDR, I meant using masking layers of different exposures in Photoshop and manually adjusting them without going through the HDR software.
    Last edited by hazmee; 27th February 2008 at 09:46 PM.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Clementi, Singapore
    Posts
    2,836

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    HDR has to be used carefully, none of the shots above work with the HDR method, even as a test. You need to get out and find a location with way more dynamic range, such as:









    You will be able to see a much bigger difference in your shots, and understand how to manipulate and use the software far more effectively.

  20. #20

    Default Re: Creating HDRI With Qtpfsgui

    jaw dropping

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •