Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    3,688

    Default Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    I have just used the M1 USB modem to have internet connection on the go, and after upgrading to the medium speed one (1800), the download time to local sites was as fast (or as slow) as using the lowest speed (512).........after checking with the service center they told me that this was because of limited bandwidth of the base stations, but she told me that by the end of the month of Feb there will be enhancements made to the base stations. I wonder if this has now been done, since I noticed faster download speeds since today......

    Has anyone else noticed the same thing?

    I use the local standard chartered login page as a gauge to see the speed as this page is also slow to download through Starhub broadband:

    https://online-banking.standardchart...tart.jsp?fts=1
    It used to be about 15 sec to download this page through Starhub and about 18 sec with M1 mobile broadband which to me is fine......

    I am planning to stop my subscription to Starhub at home :-)

    Hong Sien
    Last edited by hongsien; 21st February 2008 at 02:37 PM.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    try to test the speed with this web site www.speedtest.net
    is used by ISP to test their speed.
    when u sub to 1.5M or 512K, may be is the same down load speed 512K ...

    try to discover how good or bad your speed is. hv fun.

    I am not in any mobile broadband yet. Keen to sub to Singtel though is service is suck for MIO.



    Cheers

  3. #3

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    Quote Originally Posted by hongsien View Post
    I have just used the M1 USB modem to have internet connection on the go, and after upgrading to the medium speed one (1800), the download time to local sites was as fast (or as slow) as using the lowest speed (512).........after checking with the service center they told me that this was because of limited bandwidth of the base stations, but she told me that by the end of the month of Feb there will be enhancements made to the base stations. I wonder if this has now been done, since I noticed faster download speeds since today......

    Has anyone else noticed the same thing?

    I use the local standard chartered login page as a gauge to see the speed as this page is also slow to download through Starhub broadband:

    https://online-banking.standardchart...tart.jsp?fts=1
    It used to be about 15 sec to download this page through Starhub and about 18 sec with M1 mobile broadband which to me is fine......

    I am planning to stop my subscription to Starhub at home :-)

    Hong Sien
    Last time, M1 USB modem is ok, but recently my 512k is almost dead. I am looking for Starhub landed line even my contract end at Sep 2008.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    3,688

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    strange, I have been using M1 USB modem the whole day today and it was faster then when I just started using it a week ago or so.....almost as fast (as slow) as Starhub broadband at home.

    I have not stopped Starhub yet, but will do soon I guess, if it keeps going like this, it costs me less than half of what I used to pay and I can also use it outside

    HS

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    LA 2019
    Posts
    1,282

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    this stupid thing depends on locations.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    Quote Originally Posted by hongsien View Post
    strange, I have been using M1 USB modem the whole day today and it was faster then when I just started using it a week ago or so.....almost as fast (as slow) as Starhub broadband at home.

    I have not stopped Starhub yet, but will do soon I guess, if it keeps going like this, it costs me less than half of what I used to pay and I can also use it outside

    HS
    M1 have actually launch a series of upgrading of its network due to be completed in Late Feb early Mar

  7. #7

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    Quote Originally Posted by advrider View Post
    this stupid thing depends on locations.
    Ermm... agree the thing dependent on location, but it is not stupid.
    Pictures always should have a special story behind it or a special meaning to the photographer.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Raffles Place
    Posts
    1,808

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    i am using M1 wireless broadband on my laptop at work, starhub at home..

    i am also starting to feel that m1 wireless broadband is more than enough for my daily usage.

    Starhub cost abt $57++ while M1 cost abt $23++ ? M1 being wireless is very useful..it is a slower that starhub but overall i guess it is enough for my nature of usage.

    i too am gg to terminate my maxonline soon.. going 100% wireless on my laptop.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Raffles Place
    Posts
    1,808

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    Quote Originally Posted by advrider View Post
    this stupid thing depends on locations.
    i did tried using it during an underground MRT ride.. while it is moving between stations.. not bad.. i just can msn but opening my webpage is slow.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Raffles Place
    Posts
    1,808

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jukon View Post
    Last time, M1 USB modem is ok, but recently my 512k is almost dead. I am looking for Starhub landed line even my contract end at Sep 2008.
    how come yours is still 512K ? they had done a free upgrade for me to 1-2M

  11. #11

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    Quote Originally Posted by raincool2005 View Post
    how come yours is still 512K ? they had done a free upgrade for me to 1-2M
    When I log in my M1 modem, the connectivity is low & I cannot post in CS.
    I told M1 my problem, they upgrade me free to 512K from 384K sometime last year. But still the problem cannot be solved, they advise to upgrade to 1800 plan. I thank them & say No.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    Quote Originally Posted by raincool2005 View Post
    how come yours is still 512K ? they had done a free upgrade for me to 1-2M
    free upgrade? so paying $22/month for the 1.8G plan?

    my singnet contract finishing, dunno if I should go to wireless broadband. The thing is I sometimes play online games so... most probably cannot.

  13. #13
    Member hope107fm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bedok, Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,002

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    I don't think so. I have been using M1 1.8mps since Nov 2007 and have not seen much improvement in speed. In fact, I now encounter connection problems very often - first connecting the device to the network, then when I click internet explorer it oftens displays "internet explorer cannot display this webpage". Urgh....

  14. #14

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    For the past one month, my M1 "broadband" seem like "dead' and cant log in most of the time. Even so, it will only last for mins only then have to keep on trying till it can.

    I have asked their customer service centre Then they told me sorry for the inconvenience cause as they would having some upgrades for the hardware and software.

    Now, slightly better abit but i dont see any huge improvements yet. Anyway, for this price what can i say too much too.
    Dreams at Photoaid! Contact me, pls!

  15. #15
    Member catseye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    682

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hitman View Post
    Ermm... agree the thing dependent on location, but it is not stupid.

    Haha ... agree on the location part.

    I also think it is stupid cos sometimes it keep asking me for "Vodaphone" ISP and I need to reboot to get it working! Stupid man.

    I feel there is an improvement from the early days, but there is still a long way to go to realise the full potential of my 512Kbps BW.

    Having said that, among mobile internet, I believe M1 BB gave the best value for money today .... right?
    Last edited by catseye; 27th February 2008 at 01:59 PM.

  16. #16
    Member catseye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    682

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    Quote Originally Posted by raincool2005 View Post
    how come yours is still 512K ? they had done a free upgrade for me to 1-2M
    Bro ... you referring to M1 BB?

    I thought they only upgraded my previously 384K to 512K only.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    3,688

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    Doing the speedtest.net test I never go beyond 408kbps.......and I am on the 1800 plan, it seems to be just a 512kbps. I wonder if those on the 512 plan has a similar speed or even lower? I did the tests in Sengkang and now Clementi Ave 3

    HS

  18. #18
    Member catseye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    682

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    Quote Originally Posted by hongsien View Post
    Doing the speedtest.net test I never go beyond 408kbps.......and I am on the 1800 plan, it seems to be just a 512kbps. I wonder if those on the 512 plan has a similar speed or even lower? I did the tests in Sengkang and now Clementi Ave 3

    HS

    I guess you should downgrade to the 512K plan first, wait until M1 clean up their act, then revert back to 1800. To be fair ... I did hear from a friend who had (now terminated) 1800 plan that the city area gave better speeds compared to the heartlands.

    Cheers!

  19. #19

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    Quote Originally Posted by hongsien View Post
    Doing the speedtest.net test I never go beyond 408kbps.......and I am on the 1800 plan, it seems to be just a 512kbps. I wonder if those on the 512 plan has a similar speed or even lower? I did the tests in Sengkang and now Clementi Ave 3

    HS
    HS will you do a similar speed test at Jurong Point & advise on how to maximum M1 BB 512kbps plan
    Thank you Jukon

  20. #20

    Default Re: Is M1 mobile broadband faster now?

    [QUOTE=raincool2005;3794969]how come yours is still 512K ? they had done a free upgrade for me to 1-2M[/QUOTE

    How come you get a free upgrade to 1-2M? M1 say must pay for anything beyond 512K.
    Please enlight me, I also want a free upgrade to 1-2M.
    Thank you, Jukon

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •