Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > General Discussions > General, Reviews, Tech Talk

General, Reviews, Tech Talk Share tips & tricks, techniques, general photography chat.

Old 18th February 2008   #1
ThomasD

Default Wireless flash trigger kept firing on 580EX

Does anyone has any experience using the OEM wireless flash trigger (model YHPT-604) to fire canon 580EX? It kept firing uncontrollably without me triggering it. I use it on other flash and it works fine. I also change channels but didn't help. Any advise, thks.
Old 18th February 2008   #2
longkangman

Default Re: Wireless flash trigger kept firing on 580EX

yeah having same problem too for those radio and optical trigger.
Old 18th February 2008   #3
ThomasD

Any other alternative besides using canon ST-E2 transmitter??
Old 18th February 2008   #4
hazmee

The China made triggers (Cactus, PT-04, YHPT-604) don't work well with Canon flashes especially with the older 580EX or even the recent 430EX. Apparently there are no hardware fix or workaround when using the combination. I gave up on those triggers eventually. Saving up for a more reliable system.
Old 18th February 2008   #5
hazmee

Originally Posted by ThomasD View Post
Any other alternative besides using canon ST-E2 transmitter??
You can opt for the Bowens Pulsar or Elinchrom Skyport radio based flash trigger system.
Old 18th February 2008   #6
flipfreak

price of pulsar can buy pw already. sian.
Old 21st February 2008   #7
ThomasD

Anyone can recommend a cheaper version to work with 580EX mark I & II?

Appreciate!
Old 21st February 2008   #8
flipfreak

Anyone can recommend a cheaper version to work with 580EX mark I & II?

Appreciate!
elinchrom skyport.
Old 21st February 2008   #9
chngpe01

Originally Posted by hazmee View Post
The China made triggers (Cactus, PT-04, YHPT-604) don't work well with Canon flashes especially with the older 580EX or even the recent 430EX. Apparently there are no hardware fix or workaround when using the combination. I gave up on those triggers eventually. Saving up for a more reliable system.
These China made trigger don't work well at all with any flashes including studio strobe eg. Bowens and Elinchrom. Do not waste your $ on any of these, cos I have and speaking from experienced. These useless trigger will break down after some use, happened to witness twice. First time I bought 2nd hand from a CSer and found it did not work after only one shoot. My friend got a new one and after 3 months, it broke down.

Using elinchrom skyport now.
Old 21st February 2008   #10
phoakm

You can try looking for trigger and motor cables that can connect to the trigger devices which can trigger the flashgun. I had settled with PW with the following stuff. Till now never fail.

http://www.paramountcords.com/Pockwiz.asp
Old 22nd February 2008   #11
ThomasD

Originally Posted by chngpe01 View Post
These China made trigger don't work well at all with any flashes including studio strobe eg. Bowens and Elinchrom. Do not waste your $ on any of these, cos I have and speaking from experienced. These useless trigger will break down after some use, happened to witness twice. First time I bought 2nd hand from a CSer and found it did not work after only one shoot. My friend got a new one and after 3 months, it broke down.

Using elinchrom skyport now.
May I know the price of a set of elinchrom skyport.
Old 22nd February 2008   #12
catchlights

May I know the price of a set of elinchrom skyport.
should be around $320, call Cathy and ask is the best.
Old 22nd February 2008   #13
flipfreak

the universal ones shld be here already. quickly grab a set before they are all gone.
Old 22nd February 2008   #14
hazmee

I ordered the Elinchrom Skyports from www.bhphotovideo.com. Can't wait to use it this weekend!
Old 22nd February 2008   #15
flipfreak

i ordered pw yesterday.

i hope it gets here by next week.
Old 22nd February 2008   #16
hazmee

Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
i ordered pw yesterday.

Did you order from bhphotovideo as well? Should take about 3-4 days to arrive.
Old 22nd February 2008   #17
flipfreak

Originally Posted by hazmee View Post
Did you order from bhphotovideo as well? Should take about 3-4 days to arrive.
yup. can't wait. u were using the china triggers right?
Old 22nd February 2008   #18
hazmee

yup. can't wait. u were using the china triggers right?
Yeah man. I nearly went crazy with those bloody triggers.
Old 22nd February 2008   #19
phoakm

i ordered pw yesterday.

Did you order the sync cord togetherl?
Old 22nd February 2008   #20
phoakm

they don't come with them!?! argh!!! siao liao!
They do provide a sync cord, but those cannot trigger flash.

You need those things I refering to especially when you want to trigger the flashgun!

Last edited by phoakm; 22nd February 2008 at 03:07 PM.
Closed Thread