Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

  1. #1
    Senior Member josho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jln Teck Whye
    Posts
    2,110

    Default Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    I gotten my wii set (japan set) stated : 100v on the adapter. I had my step down transformer station output: 210v , 110v.

    What will happen if I used this step down transformer on the 100v adapter? Will it blow or...?

    Is there any step down transformer for only 100v? I was quoted for $48 at the game shop, is that consider exp?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    100v & 110v belong to same cat...

    dun go game shop buy, go SLT buy, since most game shop also buy from SLT and sell in their shop with mark ups. make sure you get the correct amp. higher better than lower...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    As a precaution buy at least 1.5x your required power rating. I had a step down burn on me before. And it was at least 1.1x the stated power rating. It was working fine for at least a week then one day decided to retire. The step down burned and my equipment blew a capacitor - pop, smoke and liquid seeping out. Not a pleasant sight.

  4. #4
    Senior Member josho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jln Teck Whye
    Posts
    2,110

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    Hmm.. base on that, is it wise to use my step down transformer? Since DCA mentioned it belong to the same cat.

    jet- what you mean by 1.5x? Mine is 300w (gotten one from SLS VHF shop previously) with the output of 110v / 220v but base on the wii adapter, it is 100v. So I kinda scare that it will fried the adapter since there's 10v diff...
    Last edited by josho; 16th February 2008 at 09:39 AM.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    no diff lah, but wats the draw on the Wii? as in watt or amp
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  6. #6
    Senior Member josho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jln Teck Whye
    Posts
    2,110

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?


    This is my step down transformer.


    Wii adapter

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    might as well direct buy a 12V transformer 5A one... lol... confirm can last...

    wat u are doing is, 230V to 110V to 12V... cut short 230V to 12V best...

    but yours can lah, since its 300W, your wii adaptor is 94VA, should be ok...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    Why not buy 200V/230V Wii power unit?
    Easily from China.

    Btw, Wii is very popular in China as well as PSP Slim version.

    Lifestyle there [in China] is much better then us as they enjoy these. Is so common in many shops selling. Not like Sgp, much less.
    Cheers

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Land of the Teddy Bear
    Posts
    2,324

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    erh... i don't think it is advisable to use 110V on the 100V set..... a bit risky to cause your set to blow up. Try to get a 100V stepdown transformer.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    Is Perfectly OK to use a 100V device on a 110V supply line and 110V device on a 100V supply line.
    Is also perfectly OK for 220V device on a 240V supply.
    There is no way that such 10V [110-100V] or 20V[220-240] can cause any problem.

    The only thing you cannot do is plug in a 100V or 110V device into a 220V or 240V Supply Line. The device will be burnt [the power unit].

    Next, If a 220V/240V device is connected to a 110V/100V supply line, NOTHING will happen. No harm.

    Cheers

  11. #11
    Senior Member dominator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Amazon Forest
    Posts
    1,662

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    100 or 110 no problem la.

    For Sg 220, 230 or 240...all also same same use.
    Cleanse your thoughts, not by the foods you eat.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Land of the Teddy Bear
    Posts
    2,324

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    Quote Originally Posted by dominator View Post
    100 or 110 no problem la.

    For Sg 220, 230 or 240...all also same same use.
    erh.... 220V cannot try on the 230V supply.... i try before and i see smoke come out of my equipment power supply....

  13. #13

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    Go Sim Lim Tower find a 110-230v -> 12V 4A (or thereabout) DC adapter. You can get somebody there to help you 'transplant' the Wii cable over lah. That way you won't have to worry about smoking your power supply units.

  14. #14
    Senior Member Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Blue/Green Planet
    Posts
    1,854

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    Quote Originally Posted by josho View Post
    I gotten my wii set (japan set) stated : 100v on the adapter. I had my step down transformer station output: 210v , 110v.

    What will happen if I used this step down transformer on the 100v adapter? Will it blow or...?

    Is there any step down transformer for only 100v? I was quoted for $48 at the game shop, is that consider exp?
    110v is within tollerence for a device that states it requires 100v

    As is a device that states it requires 220v and is supplied 240v

    Just don't feed a device that requires 110v with 240v

    Time, is an effortless construction :)

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cons digger.
    Posts
    3,924

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    Quote Originally Posted by tigereye19 View Post
    Is Perfectly OK to use a 100V device on a 110V supply line and 110V device on a 100V supply line.
    Is also perfectly OK for 220V device on a 240V supply.
    There is no way that such 10V [110-100V] or 20V[220-240] can cause any problem.

    The only thing you cannot do is plug in a 100V or 110V device into a 220V or 240V Supply Line. The device will be burnt [the power unit].

    Next, If a 220V/240V device is connected to a 110V/100V supply line, NOTHING will happen. No harm.

    Cheers
    ultimate wrong concept. There are equipment that are insensitive to that 10-20V diff but there are many more equipment that are very much sensitive to this 10-20% voltage swell/sag.
    “How fortunate for leaders that men do not think.” - Adolf Hitler

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    Quote Originally Posted by yanyewkay View Post
    ultimate wrong concept. There are equipment that are insensitive to that 10-20V diff but there are many more equipment that are very much sensitive to this 10-20% voltage swell/sag.
    but those are not consumer items lah... most consumer items itself already have a 5-20% threshold.

    and besides that... our power, isn't 230V constant, it flacuates, and worse when you are in rural places (other countries) when you can have low voltage in day time and surge in night time.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  17. #17
    Senior Member josho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jln Teck Whye
    Posts
    2,110

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    Ok ok.. Im back... I asked the people from the shop and confirmed that the step down transformer with the adpater does work well.. I will get the direct power supply from the shop since they do not have stock yet.

    Would like to ask who is playing Wii?

    I got this message out while I am trying to play one of the event in the game.
    Mine is *cough cough* set.

    Jap:

    Eng:
    Last edited by josho; 18th February 2008 at 12:43 PM.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Can 110v use on 100v machine?

    Quote Originally Posted by josho View Post
    Ok ok.. Im back... I asked the people from the shop and confirmed that the step down transformer with the adpater does work well.. I will get the direct power supply from the shop since they do not have stock yet.

    Would like to ask who is playing Wii?

    I got this message out while I am trying to play one of the event in the game.
    Mine is *cough cough* set.

    Jap:

    Eng:
    cough cough cough... i ask mod to delete thread... contagious cough...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •