Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: newbie with SB800

  1. #1

    Default newbie with SB800

    Hi, just recently got SB800. How do I use external flash effectively for indoor?
    I have 2 questions:
    1. I tried using FP with 1/320 from the camera and using Auto-zoom TTL-FP AF-Fill on the flash. I use Manual and set the shutter to x320 but how do I get the correct exposure? I mean when I see the +<--|-->-, it always goes to minus side (make sense because the shutter speed is detected to be too fast no matter what aperture I use). So back to the question, how do I really know I get good exposure using Manual?
    2. When using multiple shots with dynamic focus, sometimes the flash doesn't fire multiple times as the exposures taken, is it because I use faster shutter or longer zoom or anything you know?
    Sorry if the questionns are too stupid, but I need some enlightenments or can give me a link to good websites about using external flash
    cheers.
    D300|18-200VR|SB-800|105VR|

  2. #2

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    The Strobist is a useful website to learn abt flash photography.

    btw what is FP and dynamic focus?

  3. #3

  4. #4

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by nikon-in-D View Post
    Hi, just recently got SB800. How do I use external flash effectively for indoor?
    I have 2 questions:
    1. I tried using FP with 1/320 from the camera and using Auto-zoom TTL-FP AF-Fill on the flash. I use Manual and set the shutter to x320 but how do I get the correct exposure?
    I used a SB600 and the max flash sync speed is 1/250. Thought it's the same for SB800.

  5. #5
    Member/Tangshooter
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    ClubSNAP Community
    Posts
    3,120

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by nikon-in-D View Post
    Hi, just recently got SB800. How do I use external flash effectively for indoor?
    I have 2 questions:
    1. I tried using FP with 1/320 from the camera and using Auto-zoom TTL-FP AF-Fill on the flash. I use Manual and set the shutter to x320 but how do I get the correct exposure? I mean when I see the +<--|-->-, it always goes to minus side (make sense because the shutter speed is detected to be too fast no matter what aperture I use). So back to the question, how do I really know I get good exposure using Manual?
    2. When using multiple shots with dynamic focus, sometimes the flash doesn't fire multiple times as the exposures taken, is it because I use faster shutter or longer zoom or anything you know?
    Sorry if the questionns are too stupid, but I need some enlightenments or can give me a link to good websites about using external flash
    cheers.
    1. u r on TTL..flash meters subject thru lens data..it will fire a pre-flash and base on ur set ISO and aperture..then adjust automatically +/- from the preflash..

    2. flash recycling time not able to catch up..Auto FP mode although allows u to trigger at faster shutter speed..but it also consumes more batteries..
    This is an electronic post which requires no signature.

  6. #6
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,759

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by nikon-in-D View Post
    Hi, just recently got SB800. How do I use external flash effectively for indoor?
    I have 2 questions:
    1. I tried using FP with 1/320 from the camera and using Auto-zoom TTL-FP AF-Fill on the flash. I use Manual and set the shutter to x320 but how do I get the correct exposure? I mean when I see the +<--|-->-, it always goes to minus side (make sense because the shutter speed is detected to be too fast no matter what aperture I use). So back to the question, how do I really know I get good exposure using Manual?
    2. When using multiple shots with dynamic focus, sometimes the flash doesn't fire multiple times as the exposures taken, is it because I use faster shutter or longer zoom or anything you know?
    Sorry if the questionns are too stupid, but I need some enlightenments or can give me a link to good websites about using external flash
    cheers.
    Dude... in the first place, auto FP function is there for you only when the ambient light is higher than the normal 1/60 requirement and having such a low shutter speed will over-expose the BG.

    In your case, you should have left the mode in A priority mode and let the camera control the shutter speed which would normally be at 1/60. Shooting at 1/320 will give you serious under-exposure as the flash is unable to give you the amount of illumination required.

    And if you wish to get a brighter background in such indoor situations, you should try to increase the ISO and also reduce the minimum shutter speed to as low as 1/15 or 1/30.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  7. #7
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,759

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by lightbrush View Post
    I used a SB600 and the max flash sync speed is 1/250. Thought it's the same for SB800.
    Auto FP mode allows higher shutter speeds.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  8. #8

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    The Strobist is a useful website to learn abt flash photography.

    btw what is FP and dynamic focus?
    http://kenrockwell.com/tech/syncspeed.htm#fp

  9. #9

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    FP=Focal Plane
    I read this in dpreview:
    AUTO FP High-Speed Sync
    The mechanical shutter of the D2H has a flash sync speed of 1/250th sec. The new SB-800 can automatically set itself to FP (Focal Plane) flash mode should camera shutter speed rise above the standard flash sync speed for Balanced Fill Flash in bright light with high shutter speeds or fast aperture lenses.
    FP mode outputs a series of smaller continuous flashes that synchronize at up to 1/8000th second with the new Nikon D2H Digital SLR.

    *thanks for the link anyway.*
    D300|18-200VR|SB-800|105VR|

  10. #10

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by 2.8photography View Post
    oic. thanks. nvr used it though.

  11. #11

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    Auto FP mode allows higher shutter speeds.
    ahh...thks!

  12. #12
    Member/Tangshooter
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    ClubSNAP Community
    Posts
    3,120

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    oic. thanks. nvr used it though.
    u not canon user meh?
    This is an electronic post which requires no signature.

  13. #13

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by blazer_workz View Post
    u not canon user meh?
    yes but i dun use high speed sync.

  14. #14
    Member/Tangshooter
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    ClubSNAP Community
    Posts
    3,120

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    yes but i dun use high speed sync.
    ic...not many ppl use hi-speed sync oso..and AutoFP is not the true hi-speed sync method..furthermore it consumes more power..usually 1/250 will be just nice..but some camera bodies minimum ISO200 and max. sync speed is 1/125, that will be quite tricky..
    This is an electronic post which requires no signature.

  15. #15

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by blazer_workz View Post
    ic...not many ppl use hi-speed sync oso..and AutoFP is not the true hi-speed sync method..furthermore it consumes more power..usually 1/250 will be just nice..but some camera bodies minimum ISO200 and max. sync speed is 1/125, that will be quite tricky..
    i think the current canon models have a iso 100 as a base iso and sync speed is at least 1/200 so no worries there.

  16. #16

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    In your case, you should have left the mode in A priority mode and let the camera control the shutter speed which would normally be at 1/60. Shooting at 1/320 will give you serious under-exposure as the flash is unable to give you the amount of illumination required.

    And if you wish to get a brighter background in such indoor situations, you should try to increase the ISO and also reduce the minimum shutter speed to as low as 1/15 or 1/30.
    Basically, i just tried to get a balanced lighting foreground/background while using faster speed and/or hoping to get good DoF also. Yes, without any flash, I can get good exposure in natural lighting with 1/15 or 1/30, so, when using external flash, I was simply hoping to use the fastest shutter speed as possible to freeze some actions. So go back to my initial question, how do I use flash effectively here?
    Actually, using FP 1/320 didn't really get under-expose shot which was surprised me and part of the reason I asked the 1st question. Why the meter show underexpose but actually not.
    About using the higher iso, I also thought using flash will give me enough light to use a lower iso, right? or if I wanna keep the background lighting, i can use slow sync which go back using slower shutter, I guess.

    Anyway, must learn more about TTL-FP, thanks for those who had replied and sent me the links, I completely forgot abt kenrockwell site
    D300|18-200VR|SB-800|105VR|

  17. #17
    Member/Tangshooter
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    ClubSNAP Community
    Posts
    3,120

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by nikon-in-D View Post
    Basically, i just tried to get a balanced lighting foreground/background while using faster speed and/or hoping to get good DoF also. Yes, without any flash, I can get good exposure in natural lighting with 1/15 or 1/30, so, when using external flash, I was simply hoping to use the fastest shutter speed as possible to freeze some actions. So go back to my initial question, how do I use flash effectively here?
    Actually, using FP 1/320 didn't really get under-expose shot which was surprised me and part of the reason I asked the 1st question. Why the meter show underexpose but actually not.
    About using the higher iso, I also thought using flash will give me enough light to use a lower iso, right? or if I wanna keep the background lighting, i can use slow sync which go back using slower shutter, I guess.

    Anyway, must learn more about TTL-FP, thanks for those who had replied and sent me the links, I completely forgot abt kenrockwell site
    Actually the flash can freeze some motion..unless your subject moving at very very high speed..flash can oni light up ur subject, for background lighting it depends on ur shutter speed..
    This is an electronic post which requires no signature.

  18. #18
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,759

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by nikon-in-D View Post
    Basically, i just tried to get a balanced lighting foreground/background while using faster speed and/or hoping to get good DoF also. Yes, without any flash, I can get good exposure in natural lighting with 1/15 or 1/30, so, when using external flash, I was simply hoping to use the fastest shutter speed as possible to freeze some actions. So go back to my initial question, how do I use flash effectively here?
    Actually, using FP 1/320 didn't really get under-expose shot which was surprised me and part of the reason I asked the 1st question. Why the meter show underexpose but actually not.
    About using the higher iso, I also thought using flash will give me enough light to use a lower iso, right? or if I wanna keep the background lighting, i can use slow sync which go back using slower shutter, I guess.

    Anyway, must learn more about TTL-FP, thanks for those who had replied and sent me the links, I completely forgot abt kenrockwell site
    It could also be that your distance is close enough for the flash to provide enough illumination. That said, I dun know the rest of your shooting parameters, the ISO and aperture, etc...

    The meter is showing the metereing without the flash input. And you have to strike a balance for the subject which is illuminated by the flash and the BG which requires a good exposure level if you want both to be exposed equally well. If you want to use slow-sync, you may need to go down to a much slower shutter speed to get the BG balanced up and by then you may need a tripod to keep it from moving.

    Personally, I've tried about 1/15 sec at f4 on ISO 400 for a backlit night scene. This differs from location to location and different light level as well. Test it out yourself for a better understanding.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  19. #19

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    The meter is showing the metering without the flash input. And you have to strike a balance for the subject which is illuminated by the flash and the BG which requires a good exposure level if you want both to be exposed equally well. If you want to use slow-sync, you may need to go down to a much slower shutter speed to get the BG balanced up and by then you may need a tripod to keep it from moving.
    Hey, thanks for the reply.
    I used low iso normally (200) and aperture (f4-f8). As I said, first I thought the camera would compensate the meter indicator accordingly when using flash (with Manual or Aperture mode), but apparently it didn't.
    D300|18-200VR|SB-800|105VR|

  20. #20
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,759

    Default Re: newbie with SB800

    Quote Originally Posted by nikon-in-D View Post
    Hey, thanks for the reply.
    I used low iso normally (200) and aperture (f4-f8). As I said, first I thought the camera would compensate the meter indicator accordingly when using flash (with Manual or Aperture mode), but apparently it didn't.
    I dun think the cameras can detect the effective GN for the different models of flashes available yet. Mebbe this can be done in future.

    The only warning will be the ready light blinking 3 times. That would indicate that underexposure may have occured during the flash operation.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •