Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: BG-E3 & Batteries

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    458

    Default BG-E3 & Batteries

    Hello,

    Can I ask anyone who use the batteries grip for the Canon 400D/350D use rechargable NiMH batteries?

    I discovered tat when I use the Canon orignal batteries for the grip, the batt indicator is full (if the original batt is fully charged) even if I only put 1 battery in the casing.

    However, when I put fully charged NiMH batteries in the grip, the batt indicator only indicate 1 bar of batteries nia..... this is the same when I use Eneloop, Energizer, Panasonic, or other brands of NiMH in the grip.

    But if I use any brand of alkaline batteries in the grip, it will indicate full bar on the batt indicator even I use 4 brand new with 2 slightly used batteries....

    Is there a problems with all my rechargable batteries or is it tat we can only use alkaline batteries with the BG-E3?

    Thank you in advance.

    Jay the Killer

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Serangoon, Singapore
    Posts
    855

    Default Re: BG-E3 & Batteries

    u can use any sort of AA batteries i suppose.

    i tink the reason behind using alkaline batteries and showing a full bar is due to the voltage.
    rechargables are 1.2V each, as opposed to 1.5V each for alkaline ones.

    either that or ur rechargables are not fully charged. old rechargables might lose their capability to hold a full charge even after charging.
    Last edited by Fragnatic; 9th February 2008 at 09:41 PM.
    EOS 6D | GH4 | LX100 | HERO4

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Toa Payoh
    Posts
    158

    Default Re: BG-E3 & Batteries

    Quote Originally Posted by Killer_Jay View Post
    Hello,

    Can I ask anyone who use the batteries grip for the Canon 400D/350D use rechargable NiMH batteries?

    I discovered tat when I use the Canon orignal batteries for the grip, the batt indicator is full (if the original batt is fully charged) even if I only put 1 battery in the casing.

    However, when I put fully charged NiMH batteries in the grip, the batt indicator only indicate 1 bar of batteries nia..... this is the same when I use Eneloop, Energizer, Panasonic, or other brands of NiMH in the grip.

    But if I use any brand of alkaline batteries in the grip, it will indicate full bar on the batt indicator even I use 4 brand new with 2 slightly used batteries....

    Is there a problems with all my rechargable batteries or is it tat we can only use alkaline batteries with the BG-E3?

    Thank you in advance.

    Jay the Killer
    You might want to sent your set to CSC to check. Mine's using Eneloop and it'll indicate full bar. However, the same cannot be said for my 20D and the BG-E2n.
    Canon 20D,400D,5QD | 17-40mm F4L | 50 f1.8 |100 f2 | 200 f2.8L | 70-210 f3.5-4.5 | 580EX

  4. #4

    Default Re: BG-E3 & Batteries

    same problem u have.. only get full bars with AA akalines. using the akalines as backup only.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    458

    Default Re: BG-E3 & Batteries

    Quote Originally Posted by Fragnatic View Post
    u can use any sort of AA batteries i suppose.

    i tink the reason behind using alkaline batteries and showing a full bar is due to the voltage.
    rechargables are 1.2V each, as opposed to 1.5V each for alkaline ones.

    either that or ur rechargables are not fully charged. old rechargables might lose their capability to hold a full charge even after charging.
    bro,

    thanks for the reply. but i am using brand new rechargable to test leh.

    jay

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    458

    Default Re: BG-E3 & Batteries

    Quote Originally Posted by LancerCK View Post
    You might want to sent your set to CSC to check. Mine's using Eneloop and it'll indicate full bar. However, the same cannot be said for my 20D and the BG-E2n.
    bro,

    thanks for the reply. u mean sent the body to CSC to check or sent the grip to CSC to check?

    jay

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Toa Payoh
    Posts
    158

    Default Re: BG-E3 & Batteries

    Quote Originally Posted by Killer_Jay View Post
    bro,

    thanks for the reply. u mean sent the body to CSC to check or sent the grip to CSC to check?

    jay
    Both. They need both to sort out the problem (I believe its due to the voltage sensitivity like what bro Fragnatic had replied).
    Canon 20D,400D,5QD | 17-40mm F4L | 50 f1.8 |100 f2 | 200 f2.8L | 70-210 f3.5-4.5 | 580EX

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    458

    Default Re: BG-E3 & Batteries

    Quote Originally Posted by Lenscapes View Post
    same problem u have.. only get full bars with AA akalines. using the akalines as backup only.
    bro,

    did u resolve the problem? if not, does it still be able to shoot at least 700 photos with the rechargable batts?

    jay

  9. #9

    Default Re: BG-E3 & Batteries

    so far no such problem with mine, suggest u sent in for servicing
    Canon 400D / Rebel XTi Gripped EFS 17-85mm / 50mm f/1.8
    http://jerryyang.deviantart.com

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    458

    Default Re: BG-E3 & Batteries

    Quote Originally Posted by JerrySH View Post
    so far no such problem with mine, suggest u sent in for servicing
    hi,

    thank you for your reply. had sent in for service and check liao. but the grip do n0t come with any warranty so see wats the verdic....

    jay

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •