Thread: Macro and telephoto set up....how to?? Please help.

Default Macro and telephoto set up....how to?? Please help.

Hello to everyone. I am a newbie to DSLR world. I would like to seek for help/advise to the shooting public of this forum. I would like to have a set of gear that is capable of shooting long range (decent telezoom), and at the same time that telezoom can be utilized for macro shots by adding a close up lense. Currently, here is my set up;

Nikon D40x, lens is Nikkor 18-55 mm.
    I am looking at for a set up as follows;
    Nikon D40x+ AF-S VR 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED (SGD 890) + AF Micro 60mm f/2.8D (Close up lense to be able to do Macro shots cost SGD 600)  Please let me know if this set up is capable of doing decent long range shoots and Macro shots once the close up lense was added.

Not sure if my question makes sense, as I mentioned I am a newbie and I am looking forward for your help guys. I am eager to do long range and macro shots (at the cheapest possible amount of money).

Thanks in advance to all.

Default Re: Macro and telephoto set up....how to?? Please help.

Hi ROMAC

What do you mean by long range ? What do you intend to shoot with this range ?
    The 300mm end of the 70-300mm is pretty long IMHO for my purpose and i dun shoot much at that end, and on a cropped sensor, the equivalent FOV makes it seemed even more telephoto ( ok strictly speaking the focal length of the lens does not change ) But if you wanna shoot birds .. it is still abit short.

Nikon 60mm micro is a good macro lens and by itself can go down to 1:1 ratio already, it itself is a lens like 70-300mm ( but i am not too sure what you mean by adding it ? it is no accessory that you can attach onto your 70-300mm to make it shoot macro ) Of course if u need to get more magnification you can add a close up filter / dioptre to the 60mm.

* Note that the AFD 60mm will not be able to AF on ur D40x