Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 58 of 58

Thread: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

  1. #41
    Senior Member Leong23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    within myself
    Posts
    3,186

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Hi Isisaxon

    Thanks a lot.

  2. #42

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Leong23 View Post
    Hi Isisaxon

    Thanks a lot.
    Thanks for sharing your shots also. I've always been intrigued by how you guys manage to keep those critters still while you take the shot.

  3. #43

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Leong23 View Post
    Image uncropped taken at 3:1 (sorry, don't really know how to link)

    Love that shot of the crab spider!! The DOF is good too, can see quite a fair bit of details on the spider's body too. What were the settings/setup used?

  4. #44
    Senior Member Leong23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    within myself
    Posts
    3,186

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by nyxx88 View Post
    Love that shot of the crab spider!! The DOF is good too, can see quite a fair bit of details on the spider's body too. What were the settings/setup used?
    For this shot, i'm using a 3xTC.

    Here is another example


  5. #45
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by sykestang View Post
    Should be US$9 not SGD$9 if I am not wrong.
    Once you read the site, you should know... heheh
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  6. #46
    Senior Member cichlid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    S'pore
    Posts
    5,060

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by lsisaxon View Post
    Just use [IMG] and [/IMG] like this..
    [IMG]http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2164/2252086021_3cc406218d.jpg[/IMG]

    You'll need to drop the ?v=0.

    ya, i would love to have this 3:1 ratio, no need to crop

  7. #47
    Senior Member Leong23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    within myself
    Posts
    3,186

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by cichlid View Post


    ya, i would love to have this 3:1 ratio, no need to crop
    Thanks for viewing, will be getting a 50mmf1.4 this weekend at Hong Kong, then i will try stacking it with my 200mm Macro Lens to get 4:1 ratio.

  8. #48

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Leong23 View Post
    Thanks for viewing, will be getting a 50mmf1.4 this weekend at Hong Kong, then i will try stacking it with my 200mm Macro Lens to get 4:1 ratio.
    err... isn't a 50 f/1.4 a little too expensive to be used for stacking? you can just use the cheaper 1.8 version for stacking right?

  9. #49
    Senior Member Leong23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    within myself
    Posts
    3,186

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by nyxx88 View Post
    err... isn't a 50 f/1.4 a little too expensive to be used for stacking? you can just use the cheaper 1.8 version for stacking right?
    f/1.4 is brighter, much easiler to focus, and the price in Hong Kong is very

  10. #50

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Leong23 View Post
    f/1.4 is brighter, much easiler to focus, and the price in Hong Kong is very
    i know 1.4 is brighter. but since you are using it to stack, the 50mm lens would be set to wide open anyways. and your aperture setting would be via your 200mm right? dun think 1.8 will be that dark compared to 1.4

    not questioning your preference, but just trying to understand.

  11. #51
    Senior Member Leong23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    within myself
    Posts
    3,186

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by nyxx88 View Post
    i know 1.4 is brighter. but since you are using it to stack, the 50mm lens would be set to wide open anyways. and your aperture setting would be via your 200mm right? dun think 1.8 will be that dark compared to 1.4

    not questioning your preference, but just trying to understand.
    As we view through our lens, it is always at the maximum aperture regardless of what aperture setting, you can only see the actual light difference when you press your depth of field preview button.

    So as you mention that the stack lens, ie 50mm will be always wide open, f/1.4 will allow more light, ie, brighter viewfinder, which is quite important when doing high magnification shoot because of the precise focusing needed in very shallow DOF.
    Last edited by Leong23; 13th February 2008 at 01:25 AM.

  12. #52
    Senior Member Leong23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    within myself
    Posts
    3,186

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    OT a bit.... 50mm f/1.4 cost HKD1950.... and the exchange rate now is so goooood.

  13. #53
    Senior Member cichlid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    S'pore
    Posts
    5,060

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Hi all

    I tried stacking a 50mm lens on my macro 100mm lens just now.

    The working distance is only 1.5cm and with extreme thin DOF.

    The magnification is good though...and the bugs or dragonfly need to be dead or blind/not sensitive b4 and can use this setup

  14. #54

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    What about using a Raynox close-up lens?


    More info: http://www.raynox.co.jp/english/dcr/...exdcr250eg.htm


  15. #55
    Senior Member Leong23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    within myself
    Posts
    3,186

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by cichlid View Post
    Hi all

    I tried stacking a 50mm lens on my macro 100mm lens just now.

    The working distance is only 1.5cm and with extreme thin DOF.

    The magnification is good though...and the bugs or dragonfly need to be dead or blind/not sensitive b4 and can use this setup
    Reverse lens or stacking of lens, the working distance is very short. The bugs need not to be dead, just need to approach slowly at the right time.

    If success, the result is very worthwell.
    Attached photo (uncropped) taken by reversing a 24mm lens.



    Cheers

  16. #56
    Senior Member Leong23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    within myself
    Posts
    3,186

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by DennisWoo View Post
    What about using a Raynox close-up lens?
    The TS had try it before and find it difficult to use.

    For power wise, Raynox 250 is +8, reverse 50mm is +20.
    Both will decrease the working distance.
    IQ wise, reverse lens is way better.

  17. #57

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Leong23 View Post
    The TS had try it before and find it difficult to use.

    For power wise, Raynox 250 is +8, reverse 50mm is +20.
    Both will decrease the working distance.
    IQ wise, reverse lens is way better.
    The D40 kit lens 18-55mm seems to be quite good for reversing. You get maximum magnification with the zoom set at 18mm and magnification goes down as you zoom to 55mm. Downside is you'll have to control aperture manually by trial and error using the aperture actuation lever at the rear of the lens. Plus this lens isn't too expensive.

  18. #58
    Senior Member Leong23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    within myself
    Posts
    3,186

    Default Re: Macro - How to get more than 1:1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by lsisaxon View Post
    The D40 kit lens 18-55mm seems to be quite good for reversing. You get maximum magnification with the zoom set at 18mm and magnification goes down as you zoom to 55mm. Downside is you'll have to control aperture manually by trial and error using the aperture actuation lever at the rear of the lens. Plus this lens isn't too expensive.
    Agreed with that, reversing a zoom lens will be much easiler to use then reversing a prime lens.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •