Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

  1. #1

    Default Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    Hi all,

    Am thinking of getting a new calibrator, and am contemplating between the both. From what I read on CS, seems that Eye One is still slightly better, but Spyder has more functionality (i.e. projector calibration).

    Anyone knows how much both are retailing at CP? The Spyder seems to be at $320.

    One more thing: I saw on CS that there are rumours of a new calibrator from XRite, but I can't seem to find any information on this... Was wondering if anyone could point some direction on this.

    Thanks!

  2. #2

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    don't think the rumours are based on any particular source other than the fact that Spyder 3 is out and xrite should logically have an answer to it soon...

  3. #3

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by theRBK View Post
    don't think the rumours are based on any particular source other than the fact that Spyder 3 is out and xrite should logically have an answer to it soon...
    Hopefully so I guess - they've been really lagging after they merged.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by SNAG View Post
    Hopefully so I guess - they've been really lagging after they merged.
    but their product still works great...

  5. #5

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    go for the i-one spyder cannot make it.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    personally, I think Spyders can do a decent job... more importantly, the operator should remember to reprofile regularly...

  7. #7

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by SNAG View Post
    Anyone knows how much both are retailing at CP? The Spyder seems to be at $320.
    Are you sure?
    I bought the Spyder 3 Elite from Cathay Photo at $500+.

    Here's a review:
    http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/r...der3elite.html
    Last edited by tomcat; 6th February 2008 at 01:36 AM.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    I would go for the i1 Display 2.
    Find it in the buy n sell forum. Its much cheaper.
    You'll only live once. Just once.
    Portfolio | Tangshooters

  9. #9
    Senior Member josho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jln Teck Whye
    Posts
    2,110

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    i1 display 2 user here. No complaint and everything works out damn fine.

    *by the way, does anyone know where to get the weight from? Its meant to hold on the cable for LCD while doing calibration.. *

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Woodlands, Singapore
    Posts
    239

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by josho View Post
    i1 display 2 user here. No complaint and everything works out damn fine.

    *by the way, does anyone know where to get the weight from? Its meant to hold on the cable for LCD while doing calibration.. *
    Did you lose your weight? The weight is suppose to come with the i1 display 2.

    Anyway, I don't bother using the weight. I usually use tape (either masking tape or 3m magic tape). I tape the cable to the edge of the LCD monitor so the calibrator is suspended from the edge. I find the weight provided is too light.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    Spyder3 has sucker and weight.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    as well, tilt the monitor to point upwards slightly to help keep the thingamagic stationary and lying flat against the screen... sucker for CRT screen lah, don't try on LCD

  13. #13

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by tomcat View Post
    Are you sure?
    I bought the Spyder 3 Elite from Cathay Photo at $500+.

    Here's a review:
    http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/r...der3elite.html
    That expensive?? if you look around, it's only selling for around S$350+ online, shipping won't definitely cost THAT much..

    EDIT: Apologies, I didn't see the Elite version.

    Quote Originally Posted by nakashimamika View Post
    I would go for the i1 Display 2.
    Find it in the buy n sell forum. Its much cheaper.
    Thanks for the offer, but what's selling in the B&S section is still considerably more expensive than getting it online.

    I'm thinking of getting one because my old i1Display seems to have died on me - the calibration seems to have gone screwed.

    Am trying to contact XRite on this (to ask them to help check my i1) before I commit to something.

    Thanks a lot anyway!
    Last edited by SNAG; 8th February 2008 at 09:34 AM.

  14. #14
    Member iboey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by SNAG View Post
    That expensive?? if you look around, it's only selling for around S$200+ online, shipping won't definitely cost THAT much..



    Thanks for the offer, but what's selling in the B&S section is still considerably more expensive than getting it online.

    I'm thinking of getting one because my old i1Display seems to have died on me - the calibration seems to have gone screwed.

    Am trying to contact XRite on this (to ask them to help check my i1) before I commit to something.

    Thanks a lot anyway!
    May I know which online shop you are referring? Im interested
    Having expensive gears do not make you a better photographer. Period.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    Hi all,

    Thought i would share on some resources on calibration issues.

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forum...139&order=desc

    Well, AVSForum is more for audiophiles, but the calibration section is chock-full of information and content on the calibrators that photographers use (i.e. i1s, Spyders etc).

    The audiophiles also use the same devices to calibrate their LCD/plasma/projectors etc.

  16. #16
    Member YogiBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Jurong West, Singapore
    Posts
    1,051

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by josho View Post
    i1 display 2 user here. No complaint and everything works out damn fine.

    *by the way, does anyone know where to get the weight from? Its meant to hold on the cable for LCD while doing calibration.. *
    Ages ago I bought a used i1d2 via ebay which didnt come with the weight and ambient light measuring attachment. I wrote to Gretag Macbeth (via Online Support) to request where I could get them. They sent the pieces to me FOC directly from USA.
    search me on Google "simonKLgoh"

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Singapore Central
    Posts
    342

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by SNAG View Post
    Hi all,

    Thought i would share on some resources on calibration issues.

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forum...139&order=desc

    Well, AVSForum is more for audiophiles, but the calibration section is chock-full of information and content on the calibrators that photographers use (i.e. i1s, Spyders etc).

    The audiophiles also use the same devices to calibrate their LCD/plasma/projectors etc.
    AVSforum.com is actually a forum for videophiles. Audiophiles usually hang out at audioasylum.com.

  18. #18
    Senior Member josho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jln Teck Whye
    Posts
    2,110

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    Maybe I should do it too. Thanks! *I lost it thou*

  19. #19

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    Guys, check out this, better pricing than MO prices:
    http://forums.clubsnap.com/showthread.php?p=3769299
    You'll only live once. Just once.
    Portfolio | Tangshooters

  20. #20

    Default Re: Spyder 3/Eye One Display 2?

    Quote Originally Posted by David Chin View Post
    AVSforum.com is actually a forum for videophiles. Audiophiles usually hang out at audioasylum.com.
    Whoops, thanks for the correction.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •