Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

  1. #1

    Default Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    not even 99.999% uptime


  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    sewage drain/manhole
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Why I need to eat and go toilet.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Beyond Space-Time Continuum
    Posts
    6,324

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by pisces25 View Post
    not even 99.999% uptime

    Coz too much **** to clear

  4. #4
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,845
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by pisces25 View Post
    not even 99.999% uptime

    well.... 10K+ users, 1million plus posts, 24/7 service, at any given time, u have 200-300 people logged in at the same time plus equal amount of people just browsing.... gee... can someone please contribute $$$ to owning a server farm? kindly contact CS Admins Darren, Jason Ho or Edmund.

    fyi - CS servers are rented some a service provider. we ain't no Google...
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed.” ― Deeksha Mittal

  5. #5

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75 View Post
    well.... 10K+ users, 1million plus posts, 24/7 service, at any given time, u have 200-300 people logged in at the same time plus equal amount of people just browsing.... gee... can someone please contribute $$$ to owning a server farm? kindly contact CS Admins Darren, Jason Ho or Edmund.

    fyi - CS servers are rented some a service provider. we ain't no Google...
    then you all should upgrade the system and start charging more to recover the cost.

    Its more to the hardware problem that i see here, not bandwidth.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by conquer500 View Post
    then you all should upgrade the system and start charging more to recover the cost.

    Its more to the hardware problem that i see here, not bandwidth.
    since when did we charge?

    You wan us to pass you the bill?

    TIA for the new server... else... talk is cheap.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by pisces25 View Post
    not even 99.999% uptime

    Did you pay for some hosting package?

    Unless we're charging users, else how come you are enforcing a 99.999% uptime?
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Sion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    新天地
    Posts
    4,768

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by pisces25 View Post
    Why CS always maintenace 1 ?
    So to give people a rest from surfing the net to go back to the real world.

    Some say CS downtime has saved many marriages.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cons digger.
    Posts
    3,924

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by conquer500 View Post
    then you all should upgrade the system and start charging more to recover the cost.

    Its more to the hardware problem that i see here, not bandwidth.
    do you want to pay to surf CS? kindly subscribe to webspace to show your support
    “How fortunate for leaders that men do not think.” - Adolf Hitler

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cons digger.
    Posts
    3,924

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    Did you pay for some hosting package?

    Unless we're charging users, else how come you are enforcing a 99.999% uptime?
    exactly..

    this just proves that we are all addicted to CS.
    “How fortunate for leaders that men do not think.” - Adolf Hitler

  11. #11

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by pisces25 View Post
    Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Because Chinese New Year is round the corner and needs spring cleaning. ^^

  12. #12
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,901

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    to prevent photographers for post one image only and talk a few hundreds posts in the same thread.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  13. #13
    Senior Member Sion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    新天地
    Posts
    4,768

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    I welcome CS maintenance.

    I make use of the downtime to have a haircut.


  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by yanyewkay View Post
    exactly..

    this just proves that we are all addicted to CS.
    even with the 'kena bought over by SPH' IT forum, with 'Deluxe' membership also experience downtime and slowness on their 'priority' service.

    sheesh... type of things ppl take for granted.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    since when did we charge?

    You wan us to pass you the bill?

    TIA for the new server... else... talk is cheap.
    means that I will have a share in the profit from the collection of money on the advertistment.

    Talk is never cheap.

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    Did you pay for some hosting package?

    Unless we're charging users, else how come you are enforcing a 99.999% uptime?
    he wants uptime, you are having advertistment on your website, you got to show those who are paying that you have a uptime.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by conquer500 View Post
    means that I will have a share in the profit from the collection of money on the advertistment.

    Talk is never cheap.



    he wants uptime, you are having advertistment on your website, you got to show those who are paying that you have a uptime.
    with your type of attitude, i really wonder did we owe you a duty of care?

    first this is a free usage online forum, its inevitable there might be issues from time to time, we're running on old servers, and with a huge capacity to cater to the masses.

    and seriously, to show to the advertisers is really none of your business as well.

    if you have anything against the administration of mod, please pm us. If you wanna do some donations, we welcome as well.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  17. #17
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    291

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    We,the mainstream user are not paying to help even out the cost of this site so why are you people demanding a zero downtime?

  18. #18
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    291

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by conquer500 View Post
    means that I will have a share in the profit from the collection of money on the advertistment.

    Talk is never cheap.



    he wants uptime, you are having advertistment on your website, you got to show those who are paying that you have a uptime.



    If there's anybody demanding uptime,it should ONLY be the advertisers/producers.
    Who are you who isn't part of a monthly premium to demand?
    The way i see this issue,the admins are only accountable to those who fork out a premium for the service of this site.
    Definetly not you.
    Last edited by dotaboy; 31st January 2008 at 01:04 PM.

  19. #19
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,901

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    hello,

    we pay 3k and 1k for advertising in two local portals, they also have downtime, sometime a whole day, not even say a word of sori for the downtime, also don't tell you why and when will it be up, treat it like nothing happen like that, all the advertisers also L L still have to carry on advertising there.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  20. #20
    Senior Member Big Kahuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    2,127

    Default Re: Why CS always maintenace 1 ?

    Oh...I saw lots of junk post by somebody selling handphone stuffs prior to that....so I tot the shut down was to clear up the shits

    Anyhow.....relax lah guys.....it's better to do regular maintenance than to have a long downtime......hosting and maintaining a website is not as easy as seting up your home standalone PC......we should praise the CS admins....3 cheers for making CS one of the best forum in SG, JB and some say Batam

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •