View Poll Results: Do you shoot RAW?

Voters
1299. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, RAW for everything (snaps included). JPG is a waste of time.

    494 38.03%
  • Yes, only for more important shots and when time is not an issue

    487 37.49%
  • No, JPEG only. RAW is too big, takes up too much time to process.

    251 19.32%
  • No, I shoot TIFF (siao)

    8 0.62%
  • No, camera does not support RAW

    32 2.46%
  • What's RAW?

    27 2.08%
Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 256789 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 140 of 210

Thread: Do you shoot RAW?

  1. #121
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    the blue planet
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    a lot of raw shooters..wow..
    i find myself horrible in doing PP. wife & kids prefer their pics straight-out-of-cam-JPGs so i have to give up raw for the moment

  2. #122

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    I shoot RAW all the time for work but i think jpg is good enough for candid family shots.

  3. #123
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Singapore, CanonGraphers.org
    Posts
    3,157

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    of course RAW!Thats what I bought a DSLR for!

    Raw because I can print big with details preserved better. Raw because I can control the colors coming out of the photo....everyone knows all these...

    My camera is mainly set on Raw+jpeg small.
    Jpegs for quick viewing and web uploads that do not require high resolution. Raw for when I'm compiling the stuff into a collective narrative body of work.

    yes, Raw does take up a lot of space, but when you get your shooting under control a little, its not so bad.


  4. #124

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    I am trying to use Capture one software to convert my RAW files
    but i have troubles letting the software read the .RW2 file becos ".RW2" is not recognized in Capture One.
    Anyone have this problem?

  5. #125

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    Shooting jpeg as I'm still bad ar processing raw files.

  6. #126

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    What is RAW?
    It is the camera, not the photographer.
    my flickr - adamloh.com

  7. #127
    Member eosandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Land of smiles
    Posts
    842

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    Recently learned that shooting JPEG only can give unexpected & poor quality results.
    Now shoot JPEG + RAW just in case, for those important shots only. Gives more options when tweaking.

    Always carry spare CFs ALWAYS ... they are the most cost-effective part of your kit. Space should not be an issue if you carry a few.

  8. #128
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    1,105

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    With LR2, processing RAW files are a breeze....now my camera is set to RAW only when it was RAW + JPEG...
    G

  9. #129
    Member jasonteoch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    384

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    mine is set to RAW + JPEG

  10. #130

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    Raw for correct white balance later

  11. #131

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    unfortunately the quality of digital is still bad enough to only shoot RAW .. then again, i'm an old geezer coming from the film era ..

  12. #132
    Member Deming86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SengKang
    Posts
    261

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    if storage space is not an issue, RAW is the way to go (esp since i keep getting free SD cards! =P)
    Shoot with your heart, not for greed/ego..

  13. #133

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    I tried RAW after reading CS and now use RAW whenever I want quality, when weather/lighting is too poor for my cam and even when travelling. Post-processing, tho slow, does help to save many pictures. Go RAW whenever possible. Anyway, RAW vege has got more nutrition

  14. #134

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    Quote Originally Posted by pipo999 View Post
    unfortunately the quality of digital is still bad enough to only shoot RAW .. then again, i'm an old geezer coming from the film era ..
    You must be still using an old geezer of a digital camera
    deadpoet
    my portfolio

  15. #135

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    Quote Originally Posted by iNotion View Post
    I am trying to use Capture one software to convert my RAW files
    but i have troubles letting the software read the .RW2 file becos ".RW2" is not recognized in Capture One.
    Anyone have this problem?
    Which version of C1 do you have? Update to 4.6 and it should be able to handle .RW2 files. If not, change the file extension, .RW2 to .RWL ( D-Lux 4 RAW ) as 4.5 supports .RWL files. The LX 3 and D-Lux 4 are basically the same camera.

    N.S. Ng
    http://nns555.zenfolio.com/

  16. #136
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Up North...
    Posts
    161

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    Just spotted this thread while surfing.

    If a no rush job to deliver right after shoot, RAW with high quality JPEG.
    If require to deliver right after shoot, smallest RAW with med quality JPEG.

    In all situation, i take my RAW as my digital proof that i own that image.

  17. #137

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    Shooting JPEG most of the time. RAW is for some more important shots.

  18. #138
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ClubSNAP East
    Posts
    1,702

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    You guys tweak raw files one by one (manually) and then converting them to JPEG accordingly? Or have you come up with some batch process to automate things up (doubt so)?

    I personally like RAW but I shoot JPEG most of the time.

    :Later,

  19. #139

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    Only do it for important shot. Most of the time, just shoot jpg as do not have so much time to tweak and post-processed (too time-consuming).
    Good photography is not so much about what you use as the way that you use it.

  20. #140
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Nagano, Japan
    Posts
    83

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    Yes I shoot in RAW.

    Like what most had said, the tweaking of the white balance is a really useful feature of shooting in RAW.

    Sometimes, even the mere process of setting the white balance in camera can miss those fleeting moments.

    Besides I prefer to post process the white balance in LR2 than to find out the color temperature is not correct in a compressed JPEG.

    The cons of shooting in RAW is the slow write time to the memory card and the large space it takes.

    However the ability to edit almost everything in RAW far outweighs the cons, at least for me.

Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 256789 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •