View Poll Results: Do you shoot RAW?

Voters
1299. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, RAW for everything (snaps included). JPG is a waste of time.

    494 38.03%
  • Yes, only for more important shots and when time is not an issue

    487 37.49%
  • No, JPEG only. RAW is too big, takes up too much time to process.

    251 19.32%
  • No, I shoot TIFF (siao)

    8 0.62%
  • No, camera does not support RAW

    32 2.46%
  • What's RAW?

    27 2.08%
Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 3456710 ... LastLast
Results 81 to 100 of 210

Thread: Do you shoot RAW?

  1. #81
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    1,899

    Default

    shouldn't be as bad as that. first you may need more ram, also better to defrag the disk. ultimately I have a practice to reinstall my OS every year or so actually calling windows an OS is an insult… to the other real OSes.

  2. #82
    Senior Member scud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,808

    Default

    OK, finally i managed to solve my probs.

    previously, i download to HDD and use PSCS to edit. took me hell lots of time.

    now, try this... from PSCS, open photo from CF (or CDR) and within few seconds the photo appear on the screen. after editing, save to HDD.

    think it is my HDD which is having a low buffers (how to check??).

    thanks.

  3. #83
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    1,899

    Default

    if your disk is 40GB and two years old, likely to have 1-2MB buffer. Is it 7200RPM? Faster better.

    Still something fishy, it cannot be read very slow and write (saving to HDD) very fast.

  4. #84
    Senior Member scud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,808

    Default

    dunno leh, anyway, going to log off and defragmenting HDD later.
    TA TA....

  5. #85
    Senior Member scud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,808

    Default

    only recent HDD is 7200rpm.
    mine is 5200rpm (somewhere this figure, cant rem).
    adios.

  6. #86
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    1,899

    Default

    5400 rpm lah.

  7. #87

    Default

    ok. I've some RAW pictures here... but it looks very dull
    Care to share what's your parameters apply to Photoshop CS before converting to JPG?

    I need some value as guide where I can't judge how good/bad works on my random parameters :P

    Appreciate your input.

    Thanks.
    Canon 40D|17-55 f/2.8 IS|100 f/2.8 Macro|135 f/2L|300 f/4L IS|430ex|BG-E2

  8. #88
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    1,899

    Default

    when you open the RAW file in PSCS it will have a special RAW panel. There you can adjust all sorts of things. I usually select colour balance, exposure and saturation. Then go inside PSCS proper and do the usual curve adjustments and sharpening.

  9. #89
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Near Tampines MRT
    Posts
    975

    Default

    I only recently discovered the beauty of NEF on my D100 when I met a '高人' at AHBT. B4 that I was a jpeg man.

  10. #90

    Default

    recent convert too....

  11. #91
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    171

    Default

    I shoot RAW most of the time. Like the tweaking ability. I don't convert my RAW and store them in RAW for long term archive. I only convert and tweak them to make prints but will not touch my RAW file. I only shoot JPEG for un-important files such as shoot picture for my Yahoo auction.

    Yes, RAW is big and that why I have just got a 2GB CF card which now can hold 256 RAW files for my coolpix 5000. The only problem is slooooow. You have to be patient....

  12. #92

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    Once the groom asked "Can you shoot RAW and Large?"
    I ask "What is RAW?" then he looks at me as if I am an idiot.
    I think he meant he wanted sashimi or non-photoshopped images.
    It is the camera, not the photographer.
    my flickr - adamloh.com

  13. #93
    Member/Tangshooter Redsun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    7,931

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    Quote Originally Posted by adamadam View Post
    Once the groom asked "Can you shoot RAW and Large?"
    I ask "What is RAW?" then he looks at me as if I am an idiot.
    I think he meant he wanted sashimi or non-photoshopped images.
    wait....this sounds familiar

  14. #94

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    raw all the time.

    in terms of photo editing using PS CS3 n adobe bridge its realli god n fast.

    currently using Q6600 2gb ram desktop n 2 monitors realli makes this ultra fast n easy.

    Since u have the function to shoot raw y shoot with jpeg.


  15. #95
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    TPY
    Posts
    2,458

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    aiyo... don't know what format to shoot.... use both.... impt one use RAW to tweak, not so impt one, use the jpeg... ....... but must get 4GB or 8GB X many many...

  16. #96
    Senior Member dennisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Freezing Upp Thomson/Mandai!
    Posts
    2,010

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    Sounds remotely obscene doesn't it.... haha. Shoot in Raw+small JPG. JPG is to quick review, RAW to tweak originals.

  17. #97
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    487

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    Same. I shoot in RAW all the time and occasionally + basic/smallest JPG for quick previews on the computer too.

  18. #98

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    Quote Originally Posted by Redsun View Post
    wait....this sounds familiar
    This sounds very familiar lor!
    LOL
    I think its from one of the thread from one of the grooms complaining his photog doesnt know whats "raw"
    Canon: 5DMKIII & 40D|17-40L|70-200f4ISL|100Macro|Sigma30|580EXII| Olympus: EP3|25mm f1.4

  19. #99

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    I shoot RAW as much as possible. I compare JPEG and RAW pp image, the RAW pp is much better. However, only if you have time to do post processing (pp).
    Canon5D 50mm/100mm (macro)/24-105mm/100-400mm
    My flickr

  20. #100

    Default Re: Do you shoot RAW?

    I can't find the RAW setting on my box of Fuji Provia 100.

    Fuji tells me it's not supported and that I 'must get it right the first time'. I am so scared. Skali I bobo shooter then how?

    Aiyah.... what to do.

Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 3456710 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •