View Poll Results: Do you shoot RAW?

Voters
1299. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, RAW for everything (snaps included). JPG is a waste of time.

    494 38.03%
  • Yes, only for more important shots and when time is not an issue

    487 37.49%
  • No, JPEG only. RAW is too big, takes up too much time to process.

    251 19.32%
  • No, I shoot TIFF (siao)

    8 0.62%
  • No, camera does not support RAW

    32 2.46%
  • What's RAW?

    27 2.08%
Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 123458 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 210

Thread: Do you shoot RAW?

  1. #41

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by espn
    Can't shoot RAW. Takes too long to write, 14MB/file off my CP5700 if I shoot for wedding/ROMs wah piang eh... 2 shots max I think the couple sign and kissed and left the room.
    i can shoot rRAW
    becase my cam is only a D30, just 3.34MP. 4MB/file.

  2. #42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Newman
    Try Phase One's Capture One software. Much better than RAW plugin from Adobe.
    Phase One
    I tried the trial version and it rocks!
    too bad it is too expensive...

  3. #43

    Red face Cooked is better

    No time for postprocessing. So far taking picture just for fun, not for living. Color adjustment for printing? Let the lab people do it for me, I paid for it

  4. #44
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    562

    Default

    No no...MUST be a RAW convert. Try it out at Photohshop...compare...dpi for 10D jpegs are only 180dpi. For RAW images it's 240dpi for the picture. Thats like 30% upgrade for *free! The prints are much cleaner too (compared pics at ISO 800). It does make a difference!
    Believe it. And it will be so.

  5. #45

    Default

    No, yet another misconception. The DPI value in PS is meaningless unless you print it out. Then you get 180 dpi printous and 240 dpi printouts, and the physical size of the printed photo will be different as well.

    Nothing is for free, not even pixels.

  6. #46
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Horus
    No no...MUST be a RAW convert. Try it out at Photohshop...compare...dpi for 10D jpegs are only 180dpi. For RAW images it's 240dpi for the picture. Thats like 30% upgrade for *free! The prints are much cleaner too (compared pics at ISO 800). It does make a difference!
    as stated by YSLee, this is a misconception. dpi is meaningless for stored images (just like inches and cm is meaningless for a stored digital image). Whether RAW or Jpeg, the resolution is 6MPs.

  7. #47
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    562

    Default

    oh yeah hor...thanks for bringing that to light...it must be coz the size is bigger at 3k+x2k+ for RAW instead of just 2k+x1x+ for JPEG High Res image size
    Believe it. And it will be so.

  8. #48

    Default

    tried raw twice, couldnt find any program that work in my OS to read the file, gave up

  9. #49

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Horus
    No no...MUST be a RAW convert. Try it out at Photohshop...compare...dpi for 10D jpegs are only 180dpi. For RAW images it's 240dpi for the picture. Thats like 30% upgrade for *free! The prints are much cleaner too (compared pics at ISO 800). It does make a difference!
    I'm a newbie and have not tried printing a RAW vs. jpg pix, but on the screen, the difference is obvious. THe RAW is super sharp and compared to the jpg (which I feel is overly processed with white balance and softening), the RAW image has an 'untouched' feel to it. Superb!
    Last edited by cheekeong; 31st March 2004 at 12:12 AM.

  10. #50

    Default

    i dont know man...i shoot in jpg all the time..edit in PS....never did once did i shoot in RAW because the file size will just murder my 512MB CF.....i am shooting on a Canon 300D....and i think the problem here lies with the knowledge of PS.....i correct everything and i mean everything in PS.. not a problem at all..

  11. #51

    Default

    i also shoot tiff using my bro's old kodak dcs...lol

    can anyone send me a link of where to download free software to convert raw to jpeg??

  12. #52
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Home - where the heart is
    Posts
    327

    Default

    I shoot in raw when I want to achieve the highest possible quality from my shoots - and when its really important.

    I am curious - how much time do you spend in converting your images (for those who shoot in RAW) from Raw to your finished photo?

    Happy snapping
    Trigger

  13. #53
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Home - where the heart is
    Posts
    327

    Default

    Hi pureflow
    2s - that is very fast - what camera are you using?
    It takes me 15s from RAW to Tiff (am using the S2)

    And most likely another 3 - 5 minutes to finish clearing up the shot in PS - if needed.

    How much time do you spend in PS on each photo?

    Thanks for sharing
    Trigger

  14. #54
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Home - where the heart is
    Posts
    327

    Default

    same here
    I dont usually need to do any editing after conversion.
    But if I need - I usually only spend 3 - 5 minutes.

    I love the quality of raw from the S2.

  15. #55
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Home - where the heart is
    Posts
    327

    Default

    True ...

    Quote Originally Posted by pureflow
    time spend on PS.. hmm per image ranges from 1 min to 3 hrs.. it really depends on the requirements.

  16. #56
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    77

    Default

    heh, sorry dude, think you got the wrong info...

    8bits per channel would give u 24 bit colour which is the 16million++ colours u see.

    only the latest photoshop, the cs version, gives u the capability to edit in 16bits per channel ==48bits, thereby retaining the colour quality which unfortuantely might not be seen on your monitor. the largest setting on graphics cards so far that i know of is 32bits... but it never hurts to have more when u can afford it... and an expensive monitor to go with it.

    Quote Originally Posted by loupgarou
    Would need explanation on 8bits/channel and 16bits/channel. Thanks

    8 bits /channel means you have a picture comprising of 256 color tones
    12 bits / channel means you have a picture comprising of 4096 color tones
    16 bits/channel means you have a picture comprising of 65536 color tones.

    for those people who don't work with raw / play games, you may as well set your graphic card adapter to a lower bit resolution as well...heh

  17. #57
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    East, Singapore
    Posts
    174

    Default

    been playing with RAW and the C1 Pro software and i must say that the results are stunning! and it seems that canon RAW does come with compression, making them smaller than RAW files of other manufacturers. however, it is lossless compression so its just as good.

  18. #58
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Home - where the heart is
    Posts
    327

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureflow
    it takes about 2 secs to convert from raw to jpg for me.
    What application do you use?

  19. #59
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default

    I guess it boils to individual preferences.

    For me...
    All Scenery shots: RAW
    Ppl shots: Max JPEG or RAW
    Snapshots: Med JPEG
    Travel shots: Max JPEG

    Basically that's it.

  20. #60

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureflow
    it takes about 2 secs to convert from raw to jpg for me.
    Ask this simply because I m puzzled indeed.

    Whats the reaosns that cause you shoot all in RAW using your camera, and convert to JPG using your computer.

    Isn't there a simpler way of doing this? Shoot RAW and process to JPG all in your camera by simply shooting JPG.

    I know there are many ppl who shoot RAW cos that give them more rooms to PS later on but you dun normally do,...therefore,....

    Just curious.

Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 123458 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •