View Poll Results: Do you shoot RAW?

Voters
1299. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, RAW for everything (snaps included). JPG is a waste of time.

    494 38.03%
  • Yes, only for more important shots and when time is not an issue

    487 37.49%
  • No, JPEG only. RAW is too big, takes up too much time to process.

    251 19.32%
  • No, I shoot TIFF (siao)

    8 0.62%
  • No, camera does not support RAW

    32 2.46%
  • What's RAW?

    27 2.08%
Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 12347 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 210

Thread: Do you shoot RAW?

  1. #21

    Default

    I shoot RAW most of the time. I understand that JPEG do not have the same bit-depth as RAW. So to the do-it-right-the-first-time thingy...I'd also try not to lose too much the first time
    Gallery | Facebook Page Spreading the Good photography.

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    East, SG
    Posts
    2,641

    Default

    Originally posted by StreetShooter
    That's interesting. I use only Jpeg, but I was speaking to Canturn, and he says RAW processing with CaptureOne saves him a huge amount of time. Just set custom white balance, sharpening and a few other parameters, and batch process. No need to go through the files one by one, and no need to use PS.

    Almost tempted me, until I realised that I ENJOYED going through the pictures I had taken and tweaking them...
    It's Grey balance, not white balance

    Depends on nature of the shoot.... If you need to deliver the volume, say 400+ shots, imagine the amount of time needed.

    For really large printing, RAW is the way to go cos the in-camera compression for JPEG is rather high actually (resave a jpg to quality 12 in PS7 and u'll know what I mean) The artifacts does show at that level.

  3. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    453

    Default

    Here's the solution

    Quoted by Canon G5 specification

    * Any image shot as JPEG can be instead saved as RAW by pressing FUNC during record review

    http://www.dpreview.com/news/0306/03060201canong5.asp

    So we just shoot jpeg in future?

  4. #24
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Can't shoot RAW. Takes too long to write, 14MB/file off my CP5700 if I shoot for wedding/ROMs wah piang eh... 2 shots max I think the couple sign and kissed and left the room.

  5. #25

    Default

    I am a beginner, and I shoot in RAW all the time. People might think RAW is best left for the experts, but I think it's suitable for everyone. Firstly, I need not bother about white balance anymore, just leave it at AWB all the time. Secondly, RAW has helped saved me a couple of shots which were either over or under-exposed. If you invest on a more advanced RAW conversion program, like the Adobe RAW plug-in, more can be achieved thru RAW. I even find it more effective to remove colour casts during the conversion process. Lastly, my RAW file size average only around 3-4MB. Oh, Canon's RAW format is much smaller sized than other manufacturers it seems.

  6. #26

    Default

    Try Phase One's Capture One software. Much better than RAW plugin from Adobe.
    Phase One

  7. #27

    Default

    Originally posted by Newman
    Try Phase One's Capture One software. Much better than RAW plugin from Adobe.
    Phase One
    I use this too. Very good piece of software.

  8. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Serangoon
    Posts
    429

    Default

    Seems like Phase One is not meant for non-DSLR?

  9. #29

    Default

    It works for raw files only. Some non-DSLR can do raw files. Unless your raw file is same as the DSLRs it supports, tough luck.

  10. #30
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    476

    Default Raw, Nothing But Raw

    I shoot raw only. I don't convert all the image I shot from raw after my shooting. I basically view the Raw images using Nikon View which produce a resolution good enough for me to tell whether it a good shot, It process viewable images within 10 sec from D1x's raw file.

    I'll then convert the images I want to Tiff.


    But for wedding or other assignment which required to have hundreds of printouts, I think Jpg is the way out.

    Regards

    Vincent
    Last edited by Vinnievinyl; 12th November 2003 at 12:09 PM.

  11. #31
    pauly
    Guests

    Default is there any small digital camera with raw format

    is there any small digital camera with raw format. can anyone list some out for me

  12. #32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pauly
    is there any small digital camera with raw format. can anyone list some out for me
    CP5700 which I'm using. Canon G series?

    Reference my earlier post in this thread for shooting RAW.... I'm beginning to have second thoughts.

    It's taking up too much disk space I've clocked 10K digital frames mostly RAW, at 7MB each RAW my HDD is already maxed out Now converting most of them to JPEG.
    Gallery | Facebook Page Spreading the Good photography.

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CYRN
    CP5700 which I'm using. Canon G series?

    Reference my earlier post in this thread for shooting RAW.... I'm beginning to have second thoughts.

    It's taking up too much disk space I've clocked 10K digital frames mostly RAW, at 7MB each RAW my HDD is already maxed out Now converting most of them to JPEG.
    What you need is a DVD+/-RW writer. The prices are pretty good now. If that's not enough, a 120GB harddisk iis in order. Get an external casing for it and you can make it portable.

    Regards
    CK

  14. #34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ckiang
    What you need is a DVD+/-RW writer. The prices are pretty good now. If that's not enough, a 120GB harddisk iis in order. Get an external casing for it and you can make it portable.

    Regards
    CK
    Did exactly as you mentioned last week... testing out my DVD now
    Also got a 1394 HDD casing... now (after 17-40L) too broke to get the HDD...hahaha
    Gallery | Facebook Page Spreading the Good photography.

  15. #35
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sedna, Orion Stars
    Posts
    856

    Default

    RAW only when i using my friends 300D or another friends 10D or another friend A1 where i use TIFF. Mine is a A70 so i cant take in RAW, otherwise i would.

    But then again, RAW takes very very long to write and load... writing 1 RAW can write 4 JPG.............. why not? haha

    IMHO, i feel that JPG and Photoshop is good enough... no need for RAW....

  16. #36
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    East of Singapore
    Posts
    1,678

    Default

    RAW with the new Photoshop CS is a very powerful combination, especially now that Photoshop CS supports Canon 10D raw files.

    Playing around with the different settings within CS is about 10 times faster as compared to Canon's own RAW viewer.
    http://www.avianwatchasia.org for some real bird photos
    My website : http://www.gorgeousfeathers.com

  17. #37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Harlequin
    RAW with the new Photoshop CS is a very powerful combination, especially now that Photoshop CS supports Canon 10D raw files.

    Playing around with the different settings within CS is about 10 times faster as compared to Canon's own RAW viewer.

    Would need explanation on 8bits/channel and 16bits/channel. Thanks

  18. #38
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Talking

    Hi, can anyone recommend a good program that can be used to edit and convert RAW images to JPEG from my 300D? I want to be able to edit the white balance, brightness, contrast, etc.
    LAst of all, the program must be FREE!!

  19. #39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by +evenstar
    Hi, can anyone recommend a good program that can be used to edit and convert RAW images to JPEG from my 300D? I want to be able to edit the white balance, brightness, contrast, etc.
    LAst of all, the program must be FREE!!
    In that case, that's easy.... File Viewer Utility !!!

  20. #40

    Default

    Would need explanation on 8bits/channel and 16bits/channel. Thanks

    8 bits /channel means you have a picture comprising of 256 color tones
    12 bits / channel means you have a picture comprising of 4096 color tones
    16 bits/channel means you have a picture comprising of 65536 color tones.

    for those people who don't work with raw / play games, you may as well set your graphic card adapter to a lower bit resolution as well...heh

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 12347 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •