Thread: What would you do ?

Default What would you do ?

Writing this during my lunch break.
    I just need some opinion regarding how I should tackle the issues im facing in my new job.
    Just started work in a high profile media company. I was offered a senior post in a very administrative intensive dept which overseas the sales support for my company.
    What I found out is that from before I was even offered the job, the dept was undergoing a re-structuring but apparently it was met with certain levels of resistance from the existing staffs. However as I was not in the picture prior to my employment, I chose to just 'go with the flow' of things and adopt the new structure.
    But one month down the road, it became clear that this 'merger' was hastily planned and structured. Many of the old birds who already have the knowledge and experience need to take on additional tasks on top of their former scope. For me, as a newbie I have to learn everything from scratch and expect to perform on par if not better than the juniors simply cos I was conferred the SENIOR title. But I felt it is extremely unfair to me, especially considering the amount of training I received is so haphazard (in the old system, new staffs undergo an intensive 2-3 mths of training before having hands on, I only had less than 2 weeks of it).
    It dosent help that my dept is structured where everyone takes care of their own area of scope, which I feel dose not give any room for teamwork. And as expected, when I was 'thrown' into the job itself, mistakes were made and soon enough my boss sat down and started to 'have a nice chat' with me. Worse scenerio now is 3 of the senior experienced staffs have tendered their resignation, and i am expected to cover some of their work as well.