Thread: What lens is best for Editorial Photography??

Default What lens is best for Editorial Photography??

I am an amateur to photography and I'm abt to help a fren to do some editorial style photography for her portfolio.

i'm having a problem deciding wat lens is best suited to achieve the magazine style effect? Will a Tamron 17-55mm 2.8f be good enough? Or do i have to look for something better? I heard 85mm 1.8f is oftenly used, but it will require quite a distance if i wanna take a full body shot.

Currently, i'm owing a 18-70mm D70 kit lens. =)

Default Re: What lens is best for Editorial Photography??

It depends on which Nikon body you are using.

For single or double page spreads, the most common lenses/focal length that photographers uses are:

(prime lenses)
    1. 35mm
    2. 50mm
    3. 85mm
    4. 105mm
    5. 180mm

U can sub with good zoom lenses to cover the range.

Have a team of good makeup artiste, hairstylist, fashion/wardrobe stylist/art director and of course good lighting

In good hands, the Tamron 17-50mm should suffice!

I'm no pro, but from what I can see, the stuff you see in magazines use all kinds of focal lengths, from wide, through to standard (50mm approx), to mid-tele (85mm ish) for head/shoulder crops. Of course if you want the best in sharpness and distortion control, go for the primes.

IMO, what's more important than the lens in a editorial spread is the concept and lighting. Once you've got your concept, the best lens/focal length for the job will emerge. I don't believe in one lens fits all! Lighting is very important because it'll create your mood, bring out your textures, etc etc. The lens is just one piece of the puzzle.

The tamron has a decent zoom range so you'll be able to cover many focal lengths. It's a sharp lens too. Just remember to stop down to f/3.5 or f/4 for optimal sharpness. good luck!

Quote Originally Posted by Buckteeth LCL View Post
    It depends on which Nikon body you are using.