Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Four Thirds Standard (4/3 and m43)

Four Thirds Standard (4/3 and m43) Four Thirds and Micro Four Thirds Discussions

View Poll Results: which one would you buy if they are the same price
zuiko digital 50mm f/2 macro 9 39.13%
zuiko digital 50mm f/1.4 (imaginary) 14 60.87%
Voters: 23. You may not vote on this poll

Old 2nd January 2008   #1
wind30

Default Which one would you buy?

Which one would you buy? IF they are the SAME PRICE.

kind of curious about the decision for olympus to make a zuiko 50mm f/2 marco instead of a zuiko 50mm f1/4.

Last edited by wind30; 2nd January 2008 at 03:35 PM.
Old 2nd January 2008   #2
aryanto

Default Re: Which one would you buy?

I would buy a real lense. How can you buy an imaginary lense man. OK I can sell you imaginary lense but you pay me with real money? can?
Old 2nd January 2008   #3
wind30

no lah,

IMAGINE olympus made BOTH lens lah. a 50mm f1.4 and a 50mm f2 macro. which one will you choose? assuming the zuiko 50mm f/1.4 is a high grade lens, in the same league as the 14-54, 50-200mm. 50m macro.
Sponsored Link
Old 2nd January 2008   #4
aryanto

Wishful thinking man. How can the price be the same?
The design for bright lense is different from normal zoom, different from macro, etc.
There are similarities but get over it and just go buy yourself a sigma 30mm f1.4.
Don't tell me you still want it to be macro too?
Or go find other non 4/3 lense and forgo the auto focus etc and get it fully manual.
Old 2nd January 2008   #5
viewwing

I think i'll still get the 50mm F2 macro...

Most of the lens with F1.4 seems to be a little underperforming comparing against F1.8 series and even F2.8... and

So i'm not so keen on getting a 1.4 unless i really want a DOF that thin
Old 2nd January 2008   #6
wind30

Originally Posted by aryanto View Post
Wishful thinking man. How can the price be the same?
The design for bright lense is different from normal zoom, different from macro, etc.
There are similarities but get over it and just go buy yourself a sigma 30mm f1.4.
Don't tell me you still want it to be macro too?
Or go find other non 4/3 lense and forgo the auto focus etc and get it fully manual.
?? what is there to get over? I have the 50mm f/2 macro and I thought it is a pretty good lens.

Why can't the price be the same??????? you think the 50mm f1.4 will be more expensive or cheaper than the macro? I think the pricing for both lens is around the same ballpark.

I am just curious which 50mm is more desirable to olympus users.

BTW, I don't think it is tough to design a 50mm f1.4 which is sharp wide open. 50mm is the EASIEST lens to design and zuiko image circle is only HALF of what canon/nikon 50mm has... so basically you just need to center portion to be sharp. Furthermore, when I shoot using the 50mm f1.4 I am only concerned about center sharpness as corners are OOF.

The sigma 30mm f1.4 I had is very sharp at f1.4 at the center, and I REALLY don't think a zuiko 50mm f1.4 will be worse than a sigma...
Old 2nd January 2008   #7
wind30

Originally Posted by viewwing View Post
I think i'll still get the 50mm F2 macro...

Most of the lens with F1.4 seems to be a little underperforming comparing against F1.8 series and even F2.8... and

So i'm not so keen on getting a 1.4 unless i really want a DOF that thin
the DOF is not really very thin when you mount it on 4/3rds. It is eqv of 100mm f2.8 which is I think can be useful in a number of situations
Old 2nd January 2008   #8
viewwing

ya lor... sigh... if really want a thin dof... have to switch team liao... dont' think oly will ever come out with a FF right? since they are already totally into 4/3 hee hee...
Old 2nd January 2008   #9
wind30

Originally Posted by viewwing View Post
ya lor... sigh... if really want a thin dof... have to switch team liao... dont' think oly will ever come out with a FF right? since they are already totally into 4/3 hee hee...

they can come out with a ZD 50mm f1.4... but they probably won't.
Old 2nd January 2008   #10
blurboiboi

Originally Posted by wind30 View Post
they can come out with a ZD 50mm f1.4... but they probably won't.

why wor??... will be too ex??
Old 2nd January 2008   #11
Oly5050
Contributor

To a noob like me, I always thot it is a no-brainer that f1.4 will always be better than a f2.0 lens, right??
Old 2nd January 2008   #12
drakon09

Originally Posted by Oly5050 View Post
To a noob like me, I always thot it is a no-brainer that f1.4 will always be better than a f2.0 lens, right??
Nope.

Lens will be big and diffraction will be an issue.
Old 3rd January 2008   #13
microcosm

Originally Posted by drakon09 View Post
Nope.

Lens will be big and diffraction will be an issue.
Quite true...

Sigh... the SHG lenses are never lightweight...
Old 3rd January 2008   #14
microcosm

Honestly speaking, it does not matter whether the "new imaginary" 50mm is a f1.4 or f2.0 (one stop difference) in operation since there is IS on the new camera bodies, but in the case of DOF, it is overrated really. I really think that people need to have a deeper understanding on how lenses work before embarking on that crazy f1.0 madness. Canon made that 50mm f1.0 in the film days (do they still have it these days??) but it was not selling well anyway... pricey is one thing, usability is another according to someone I met in Camera Workshop then who had that lens...

What the hell are you guys shooting anyway that needs such a thin DOF??
Old 3rd January 2008   #15
drakon09

Originally Posted by microcosm View Post
What the hell are you guys shooting anyway that needs such a thin DOF??
Err... eyelashes?
Old 3rd January 2008   #16
microcosm

Originally Posted by drakon09 View Post
Err... eyelashes?
Kaoz... eyelashes...

Anyway, do borrow someone's 85mm f1.4 on their fullframe cameras and then take them out for a spin to convince oneself that do you really need that kind of gear for your most common shoots. We can discuss and argue until the cows end up in MacDonald's but in real world use, let's see how that super wide lens is usable... like the 7-14mm lens discussion we had yonks ago, and in the end, that is another SHG lens I sold... the second biggest white elephant I had...
Old 4th January 2008   #17
retrovox

Originally Posted by microcosm View Post
Kaoz... eyelashes...

Anyway, do borrow someone's 85mm f1.4 on their fullframe cameras and then take them out for a spin to convince oneself that do you really need that kind of gear for your most common shoots. We can discuss and argue until the cows end up in MacDonald's but in real world use, let's see how that super wide lens is usable... like the 7-14mm lens discussion we had yonks ago, and in the end, that is another SHG lens I sold... the second biggest white elephant I had...
I think the novelty of super wide angle shots wears off easily.
Old 6th January 2008   #18
bousozoku

I'm not sure why I'd want a 50mm f/1.4 since it would be a mild telephoto lens on four-thirds. I'd certainly want a 25mm f/1.4, though to get all those everyday (everynight?) shots that I've been missing due to poorly lit situations.
Old 6th January 2008   #19
Kirika

ooh I know I know! The portrait shots are to look like macro shots! jk =p I think the f2 would be my choice, because it has macro capabilities. I'd really rather that my lenses be able to do as much as possible. f1.4 may be faster and AF faster, but then we'd still have to see how it performs in the real world...
Old 8th January 2008   #20
OlyFlyer

I'd still prefer the 50/f2 macro. But if we are talking imaginary lens, I'd like a revised macro lens with a switch to switch off macro when not needed. Of course, that could be done in firmware as well maybe.

I would also love if Oly (or a 3rd party) would make ~2-5 mm extension tubes with pass through electrical contacts to give me the hair thin DOF when I want it using the same lens. I wonder why nobody is making these simple things any more. I really believe there is money to make on them.

ParkertR, I hope you read this...

Last edited by OlyFlyer; 8th January 2008 at 10:23 PM.
Closed Thread