Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 1st January 2008   #1
wf7850

Default Shooting BULB mode with 3rd party wireless remote on 40D

Hi, any 40D users manage to use the Ownuser Mini-RHS 2B to shoot in BULB mode?

http://www.ownuser.com.tw/e_mini_1.htm

Works well in the usual 'Focus' and 'Shoot' mode but just cant get it to work in the 'B Slow-shutter speeds' as no matter what settings I'm at the exposure will be only 1".

Tried searching for details/info from the 40D manual and online but cant find anything relevant. The Ownuser Mini-RHS 2B instructions seems to say it is just plug and play.....

So, are there some specific settings we need to program in the camera itself? Or it simply doesn't work with 40D at all....???

Hope to hear from other users. Thanks in Advance...!!
Old 2nd January 2008   #2
nikolaiski

Default Re: Shooting BULB mode with 3rd party wireless remote on 40D

hmm...you mean it will only work if you preset the shutter speed ON the camera itself right? I used this before..had the same problem..but i make do anyway because it doesn't really affect me much lah.
Old 2nd January 2008   #3
wf7850

Originally Posted by nikolaiski View Post
hmm...you mean it will only work if you preset the shutter speed ON the camera itself right?
not sure if it is the same case as yours. perhaps i will try to give a more detailed description...

When I press the 'FOCUS' button on the remote, the 40D will AF as if I am half-pressing it's shutter button. The cam will fire off when I press the 'SHOOT' button on the remote, similarly to full-pressing the cam's shutter button. The shutter will stay open based on whatever settings the shutter speed was set at. No issue with this function of the Mini-RHS 2B.

However, if I press the 'B Slow-shutter speeds' button on the remote after acquiring AF, the 40D will just fire off with a 1-second exposure time no matter what I have set for the shutter settings, even if I have set it to 'bulb'.

One more thing to highlight is that although the shutter had opened and closed, the image will not be displayed at the LCD and the remote will continue to beep as if the shutter is still open. No response if I press the 'B Slow-shutter speeds' on the remote again or any other buttons on the 40D (less switching off the power). Only when I press 'CLEAR' on the remote then will the 40D return to normal and display the image on the LCD. The exif will show that the shutter speed was 1".

but i make do anyway because it doesn't really affect me much lah.
Sighz... i can also live with this but it will mean i will have to get myself the original cable release if i have to shoot fireworks next time...
Sponsored Link
Old 4th January 2008   #4
wf7850

Anyone has got experience or advice on this?

Else, the RS-80N3 will be back on my shopping list liao....
Old 5th January 2008   #5
wf7850

Hey, guess what... i did a "Clear All Customs Functions" on my 40D... and the remote is working like a gem now.

With the shutter speed on the 40D now set to 'Bulb', i can either choose to press and hold the 'Shoot' button on the remote for the duration i desire, or to press the 'B Slow-shutter speeds' button and the shutter will open, and then press 'Clear' to close it.

keke, sibeh happy lor, at least can now remove the RS-80N3 from my shopping list again...! and am looking forward to the River Hong Bao fireworks....!!

Old 5th January 2008   #6
megaweb

I recommend RS-80N3 over remote shutter
- immediate respond
- RS-80N3 does not need battery
- shooting in very dark environment, you can feel the shutter is open trigger by RS-80N3. As for remote, you may miss the sound and cause uncertain the shutter is open.
- RS-80N3 may trigger other DSLR nearby ?
Old 5th January 2008   #7
wf7850

Originally Posted by megaweb View Post
I recommend RS-80N3 over remote shutter
- immediate respond
- RS-80N3 does not need battery
- shooting in very dark environment, you can feel the shutter is open trigger by RS-80N3. As for remote, you may miss the sound and cause uncertain the shutter is open.
- RS-80N3 may trigger other DSLR nearby ?
i agree that nothing beats original... dare to say tt till now the only 3rd party stuff in my bag are the remote, 2 batts and a lambency diffuser...

i have never tried the RS-80N3 so cant compare if there is a lag with the 3rd party remote but so far am quite satisfied with it's function. maybe we can try it out during the next SEED and have a more conclusive finding?
Old 5th January 2008   #8
nikolaiski

Mine's still not working! lol..but i guess i dun care cuz i always prefocus first, then set to MF to lock it, then activate the shutter by remote..

Mine is worse arh..i can only get it work one way - press "shoot" to open and close as you describe for the duration of the shutter as preset by your shutter speed on the camera, OR in bulb mode, where the shutter will not close at all till i press "shoot" again.

The "B" button doesn't seem to work at all...lol...and btw, the "F" button seems to trigger the shutter sometimes...lol

Last edited by nikolaiski; 5th January 2008 at 04:57 PM.
Old 6th January 2008   #9
wf7850

The "B" button doesn't seem to work at all...lol...and btw, the "F" button seems to trigger the shutter sometimes...lol
hmmm... yours seemed to have more problems as compared to mine... anyway, that's the problem with 3rd party stuff, sure has it's glitches n flaws.

anyway, was at MS today, their RS 80N3 selling @$68.
Old 6th January 2008   #10
megaweb

Originally Posted by wf7850 View Post
i agree that nothing beats original... dare to say tt till now the only 3rd party stuff in my bag are the remote, 2 batts and a lambency diffuser...

i have never tried the RS-80N3 so cant compare if there is a lag with the 3rd party remote but so far am quite satisfied with it's function. maybe we can try it out during the next SEED and have a more conclusive finding?
You should take some night shots with long exposure to try out your new setup.
Old 7th January 2008   #11
daohuay

Just to check how much did u guys brought it?

Ownuser Mini-RHS 2B seems to have a expensive price tabs on the website TS post.
Old 7th January 2008   #12
charmingorion

hi, i've got a 40D. Is this as good as the LC-5 remote controller? Man! The canon remote is damn expensive loh!!!...i wonder why would anyone would spend S$500 to buy just a small remote controller. it apparently is not creating market sales for their products!

ok, where is MS? and how much did u buy it for? Is it very good as i tend to use aperture priority quite a bit.

thanks!
Old 7th January 2008   #13
wf7850

You should take some night shots with long exposure to try out your new setup.
i did... this is one of them, 3 shots stitched together.

somehow find that the images are abit soft, think the focus was abit out. cant wait to go night shoot with the guys to learn more...!!
Old 7th January 2008   #14
wf7850

Originally Posted by daohuay View Post
Just to check how much did u guys brought it?
bought mine at OP. normal price is $80 but i got some discount as bought a number of stuff together.

Originally Posted by charmingorion
ok, where is MS?
MS Color, Block 711 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 8, #01-3501C Tel: 6457-6380 sales@mscolor.com.sg

Originally Posted by charmingorion
Is it very good as i tend to use aperture priority quite a bit.
i was having problems previously with the 'B Slow-shutter speeds' button but have since rectified it. so far am satisfied with it's performance.
Old 7th January 2008   #15
megaweb

somehow find that the images are abit soft, think the focus was abit out. cant wait to go night shoot with the guys to learn more...!!
What is the setting used ? What is your setup ? Tripod / ballhead ?
Old 7th January 2008   #16
wf7850

What is the setting used ? What is your setup ? Tripod / ballhead ?
Settings
M mode
ISO = 100
Av = f11
Tv = 15 secs
AF = AI Servo
Metering = Partial

Setup
40D c/w EFS17-55mm

Tripod
Man 190xproB c/w 486RC2

something that i could have done to make the shot better?
Old 8th January 2008   #17
nikolaiski

yeah..get original canon remote..confirm ur shot swee swee..wahaha..ok just kidding..

I'm not an expert in pano, but the images look underexposed, and during the PP, maybe you could've brought out the reflections in the water more to make the overall effect more dramatic, and yeah, the images look soft..which is wierd for your settings. maybe underexposed lah. was the 17-55 having problems focusing in those lighting conditions?
Old 8th January 2008   #18
megaweb

Settings
M mode
ISO = 100
Av = f11
Tv = 15 secs
AF = AI Servo
Metering = Partial

Setup
40D c/w EFS17-55mm

Tripod
Man 190xproB c/w 486RC2

something that i could have done to make the shot better?
Can you post single unstitched photo ? Do you have shot taken by timer mode ?

The softness could be due to out of focus.
Old 8th January 2008   #19
Pauche

why do u use AI Servo?????
Old 8th January 2008   #20
megaweb

Originally Posted by Pauche View Post
why do u use AI Servo?????
Agree with you, why use AI Servo ? Maybe that's why the focusing is out.