Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 64

Thread: thinking of getting a macpro

  1. #41
    Member Parka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,067

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    Quote Originally Posted by varf View Post
    the extra RAM capacity on the Mac Pro may matter very little to you then, since at the moment (if i remember correctly) CS3 has a max RAM allocation of 3GB, despite the total amount of physical RAM you have.

    this article that Parka posted earlier makes a reference to this limit: http://diglloyd.com/diglloyd/free/MacPro/memory.html
    Well, it's sort of 3gb.

    According the adobe.com's documation, photoshop allows usage for 8gb ram.
    3.7gb will go to photoshop's normal usage. The next 4gb onwards will be used as a virtual scratchdisk instead of the harddisk.

    The below link is very useful for people looking to optimize Photoshop for their Mac OS system. There's one for XP/Vista also.

    http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/view...nalId=kb401089

  2. #42

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    Quote Originally Posted by JillValentine View Post
    how about Aperture? can support more RAM?
    yay, another Aperture user

    Aperture should definitely benefit from more RAM. see http://www.bagelturf.com/files/b8439...de1e-1061.html for more tuning tips.
    eyes | head | feet | flickr | APAD: straight from camera

  3. #43

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    Quote Originally Posted by Parka View Post
    Well, it's sort of 3gb.

    According the adobe.com's documation, photoshop allows usage for 8gb ram.
    3.7gb will go to photoshop's normal usage. The next 4gb onwards will be used as a virtual scratchdisk instead of the harddisk.

    The below link is very useful for people looking to optimize Photoshop for their Mac OS system. There's one for XP/Vista also.

    http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/view...nalId=kb401089
    thanks for the clarification, good to know.
    eyes | head | feet | flickr | APAD: straight from camera

  4. #44

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    i dont have a MP yet...but so far, when i look at pics on my MBP, i realised the screen is not 'viewable' from all angles.hard to describe...but i dont see this problem on my apple 23 and 30 inches display.
    which is why I would have recommended (I did in some other threads actually) a Sony or Asus (some models) laptop... their screens look incredible, from all around... was almost tempted to buy one over the weekend...

    but for Mac Pro config, have to look at the typical work one does on Photoshop... if it is simple editing, even opening multiple files, then don't have to max out the processor and RAM... maybe a low to midrange pair of dual cores would do, with maybe 8GB RAM... should be more than enough for most, unless working with gigabyte sized (each) files (for these, the skies the limit)...

  5. #45

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    Learn how to build your own computer,it is pretty fun one.Pre config system sucks as you don't really know what are you getting and you can run hackintosh now.You can get a more powerful cpu for cheaper and you can use more normal component.

  6. #46

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    just launched today - Apple updates Mac Pro -- "the fastest Mac we've ever made"

    too bad the Apple store is down for updates
    Last edited by varf; 8th January 2008 at 11:14 PM. Reason: on second thought, gratuitous image removed - see at link target
    eyes | head | feet | flickr | APAD: straight from camera

  7. #47
    Member Parka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,067

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    I estimate it to be sgd4600

  8. #48
    Senior Member StrifeYun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Rivervale Drive
    Posts
    2,216

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    Over Clock the Mac ? hhahaha

    Canon EOS "Luxury"
    [flickr]

  9. #49
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kembangan
    Posts
    151

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    Quote Originally Posted by varf View Post
    just launched today - Apple updates Mac Pro -- "the fastest Mac we've ever made"

    too bad the Apple store is down for updates
    Got Bluetooth! I didn't buy a wireless mouse because mine dun have bluetooth.

  10. #50

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    just got this in my email...
    is this the new macpro?
    so is it time to buy now?
    http://store.apple.com/1800-MY-APPLE...2-AA0000085851

  11. #51

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    just got this in my email...
    is this the new macpro?
    so is it time to buy now?
    http://store.apple.com/1800-MY-APPLE...2-AA0000085851
    This is a sweet deal, price is lower than what I've expected..

    Lucky you wait until now.. it's quite a good buy.

    Just thinking... anyone who has just ordered their new 8core, and want to discard his/her entry level PowerMac or MacPro, PM me!! hhehehe

  12. #52

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    hahahhahaha

    i tried configuring one for myself...

    the price comes to 31.5k.

    LOLOLOLOLOLOL

    i wonder how many 'sim lim' computer i can buy...

  13. #53
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    4,532

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    hahahhahaha

    i tried configuring one for myself...

    the price comes to 31.5k.

    LOLOLOLOLOLOL

    i wonder how many 'sim lim' computer i can buy...
    order liao?

  14. #54

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    Quote Originally Posted by Errz View Post
    order liao?
    wat u think?

  15. #55
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Beyond Space-Time Continuum
    Posts
    6,324

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    She prob maxed out everything and expecting delivery before CNY

  16. #56
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kembangan
    Posts
    151

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    hahahhahaha

    i tried configuring one for myself...

    the price comes to 31.5k.

    LOLOLOLOLOLOL

    i wonder how many 'sim lim' computer i can buy...
    You also getting it?

  17. #57

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    Quote Originally Posted by JillValentine View Post
    You also getting it?
    whether she's getting it is not important.

    the main point is HOW MANY?

  18. #58
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kembangan
    Posts
    151

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    Quote Originally Posted by satay16 View Post
    whether she's getting it is not important.

    the main point is HOW MANY?
    I also will be getting 1. actually is my brother but I got to use it too.

  19. #59
    Member Parka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,067

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    Welcome to the Mac Pro gang.

    You'll all be blown away by the OSX more than the machine.


  20. #60
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kembangan
    Posts
    151

    Default Re: thinking of getting a macpro

    Quote Originally Posted by Parka View Post
    Welcome to the Mac Pro gang.

    You'll all be blown away by the OSX more than the machine.

    I have been using OSX for quite a while.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •