Thread: Canon 17-40 or Tamron 17-50

Default Canon 17-40 or Tamron 17-50

I currently owned a Canon 17-40L. I'm thinking of switching it to Tamron 17-50, as the savings could go into purchasing a macro lens. My concern is what better solutions?

1) Hold on to the 17-40, and get a Sigma 105mm macro lens;
    2) Switch to 17-50 f2.8, and get a Tamron 90mm macro lens;

I intend to get macro lens for product photo shoot. Feasible distance maybe around 50-60mm, but i'm also keen to extend the distance for insect shooting. Really in a dilemma cos must set budget aside.

Macro lens in considerations are: Canon EF-S 60mm, 100mm, Tamron 90mm & Sigma 105mm.

I'm not an expert, still exploring my skills and not a heavy user. Pls advise.
    Canon 7D, Fujifilm X-T1, 70-200IS f4L, 17-55 f2.8, G12, Fujifilm 23mm, 35mm & 18-55mm.

Default Re: Canon 17-40 or Tamron 17-50

Quote Originally Posted by tc811 View Post
    I currently owned a Canon 17-40L. I'm thinking of switching it to Tamron 17-50, as the savings could go into purchasing a macro lens. My concern is what better solutions?

1) Hold on to the 17-40, and get a Sigma 105mm macro lens;
    2) Switch to 17-50 f2.8, and get a Tamron 90mm macro lens;

I intend to get macro lens for product photo shoot. Feasible distance maybe around 50-60mm, but i'm also keen to extend the distance for insect shooting. Really in a dilemma cos must set budget aside.

Macro lens in considerations are: Canon EF-S 60mm, 100mm, Tamron 90mm & Sigma 105mm.

I'm not an expert, still exploring my skills and not a heavy user. Pls advise.
    Actually if you're using a cropped sensor dslr, i think a 60mm macro is prb better for product shoots. I'm using the tamron 90mm on a nikon d50, and i find the working distance abit too long for my liking.

That said, if you intend to shoot insects as well, you'll probably appreciate the longer working distance.