Default Child

This photo was taken at East Coast Park, details of the photo is as follow:
    Here's EXIF information
    Camera: Canon 40D with 18-55mm IS
    Shutter: 1/60 sec
    Aperature: f/4.0
    ISO: 1600
    WB : 5200K

I used AV mode to take this shots as i'm still new to this dslr...this photo is very blue and i think this is the best pic i take that day in east coast...

How to improve it to make it better as i'm a newbie and just bought this first dslr

Please comment and give some tips on improving the shot i made

Thanks guys!
    Last edited by oceanloverm; 23rd December 2007 at 02:12 PM.

Default Re: Child

i find the pic abit dark..

the people sitting at the stone there seem rather distracting if the child is the main focus..

juz my 6 cents worth =]

Quote Originally Posted by solar View Post
    i find the pic abit dark..

the people sitting at the stone there seem rather distracting if the child is the main focus..

juz my 6 cents worth =]
    Thanks for the comment as i just bought my first Dslr Canon 40D, still getting the hang of it still learning

You should shoot at a lower angle, make the subject, the boy, stand out.

And the white balance quite off....its too cool!
    Dun blame the camera...blame the one behind the viewfinder :bsmilie:
    My Flickr..pls leave comments!

White balance will make the photograph less blue. Alternatively due to the fact that the photograph has already been taken, turning it into a Black and White photograph might work however it is really important to take a good photograph and not relying on too much editing. A DSLR especially one as good as a D40 will give u much room to play with the aperture, shutter speed, iso and white balance to achieve a better shot than what you've taken. Overall a good shot keep trying keep improving =) Hope to see more of your work =) Cheerio!

Just a little editing using windows picture viewer.. (lazy open photoshop) LOL =)

Last edited by ilsam; 27th December 2007 at 06:34 PM.