Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Four Thirds Standard (4/3 and m43)

Four Thirds Standard (4/3 and m43) Four Thirds and Micro Four Thirds Discussions

Old 21st December 2007   #1
k3mistry

Default Hoot! Just gotten the E510...with 50mm macro - ok lens?

Spent a bomb today....but finally got it! Cant wait to do some shooting!
Old 21st December 2007   #2
schon

Default Re: Hoot! Just gotten the E510...with 50mm macro - ok lens?

and the point of this thread is?

the 50mm macro is more than an 'ok' lens.
Old 21st December 2007   #3
obewan

Since you have spend a bomb, remember to share some pictures taken with this lens
Sponsored Link
Old 21st December 2007   #4
Hitman

50mm Macro is not an ok lens.... it is an amazing lens! Learn to appreciate the sharpness and versatality of this lens, you'll love it. Enjoy!
Old 21st December 2007   #5
microcosm

Originally Posted by k3mistry View Post
Spent a bomb today....but finally got it! Cant wait to do some shooting!
Congrats on your purchase and joining us, the crazy bunch of 4/3 system shooters... I am sure you are going to enjoy the camera and the 50mm Macro. That is an awesome lens that will provide hours of pleasure shooting. Share your images (in the right section/thread please) and show us what you have shot!

Once again, congrats!
Old 21st December 2007   #6
dorts

You hoot already right? Next kopi session, must let me try the 50mm Macro hor!

Congrats.
Old 21st December 2007   #7
k3mistry

hi all,

Just gotten the batt charged...cracked some shots...i like it very much!
Didn't know there were many reviews on it....was reading just a while ago.. I got it because needed to shoot some product shots.

I think it could be used for portraits too? Correct me if I am wrong.
Old 21st December 2007   #8
dorts

Originally Posted by k3mistry View Post
hi all,

Just gotten the batt charged...cracked some shots...i like it very much!
Didn't know there were many reviews on it....was reading just a while ago.. I got it because needed to shoot some product shots.

I think it could be used for portraits too? Correct me if I am wrong.
Of course. Although focusing a bit slow, but you will be stunned by the sharpness and colour. Not forgetting the nice bokeh.
Old 21st December 2007   #9
Oly5050
Contributor

Originally Posted by Hitman View Post
50mm Macro is not an ok lens.... it is an amazing lens! Learn to appreciate the sharpness and versatality of this lens, you'll love it. Enjoy!
What OK? It is a fantastic lens!!!!!
Old 21st December 2007   #10
xanth78

i am jealous! played with it yesterday.... totally smitten by the results! enjoy it while i slowly save up...
Old 22nd December 2007   #11
microcosm

Ha ha ha... Looks like our friend here is making everyone else jealous with his new lens! Yes, any lens can be used to shoot anything. Just a matter of using your creativity. There are no reasons why a fisheye cannot be used to shoot portraits or a 300mm super tele cannot be used to shoot full body shots... (though you have to stand very far away). This depends on how you want your image to come out in the end. Experiment! It will be very rewarding at the end of the day...
Old 22nd December 2007   #12
k3mistry

Got to learn and pick up a lot from you old birds and experienced hands...that's most important.
Old 22nd December 2007   #13
spidey89

Originally Posted by microcosm View Post
Ha ha ha... Looks like our friend here is making everyone else jealous with his new lens! Yes, any lens can be used to shoot anything. Just a matter of using your creativity. There are no reasons why a fisheye cannot be used to shoot portraits or a 300mm super tele cannot be used to shoot full body shots... (though you have to stand very far away). This depends on how you want your image to come out in the end. Experiment! It will be very rewarding at the end of the day...
I agree,I think Marky has some pretty nice potriats taken with his fisheye,kinda amazed there's no distortion
Old 23rd December 2007   #14
doodah

I am so hoping Olympus will release a 100mm f/2.8 macro lens. That will be way cool.
Old 23rd December 2007   #15
dorts

Originally Posted by doodah View Post
I am so hoping Olympus will release a 100mm f/2.8 macro lens. That will be way cool.
Yea! f/2 better lah!
Old 23rd December 2007   #16
drakon09

Originally Posted by dorts View Post
Yea! f/2 better lah!
It will be too big and too expensive - in any case, for macro applications you need more rather than less DOF.
Old 24th December 2007   #17
VSonic06

100 f2.0? Get the ZD 35-100/2.0 and stick it at 100mm lol.
Old 24th December 2007   #18
spidey89

but it doesn't have macro capabilities,lol
Old 24th December 2007   #19
microcosm

Originally Posted by spidey89 View Post
but it doesn't have macro capabilities,lol
EX25!!
Old 24th December 2007   #20
Kirika

Wish the EX-25 wouldn't cost quite so much. But anyhoo...the 50mm f2 can be used with the EX-25, too! *waving poisoned dagger around*
Closed Thread