View Poll Results: What is your screen resolution?

Voters
185. You may not vote on this poll
  • less than 800 x 600

    1 0.54%
  • 800 x 600

    5 2.70%
  • 1024 x 768

    87 47.03%
  • 1280 x 1024

    63 34.05%
  • 1400 x 1050

    6 3.24%
  • 1600 x 1200

    12 6.49%
  • more than 1600 x 1200

    11 5.95%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 45

Thread: What is your screen resolution?

  1. #1
    Senior Member jOhO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,485

    Default What is your screen resolution?

    I posted a panorama shot at 1200 pixels wide and was wondering if it would be a pain for those with lower res to scroll horizontally. Personally i hate scrolling horizontally cos for vertical scrolling, i have a scroll button!

    If an option isn't there just pick the nearest!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Northwest
    Posts
    5,011

    Default

    I checked the poll results and noticed that 60% uses 1280X1024.

    My question to those using this resolution, are you aware that the aspect ratio for this resolution is 5:4 instead of the usual 4:3 for resolutions like 1024X768 or 640X480?

    Do you physically measure the display area onthe screen and adjust the V and H sizes accordingly to get the 5:4 aspect ratio for 1280X1024?

    When I first got my 21 inch display for use at work, I set to this resolution and noticed the flattening of the images displyed. I then adjusted the V and H sizes until the display area has the 5:4 aspect ratio.

    - Roy
    As complexity rises, precise statements lose meaning and meaningful statements lose precision.

  3. #3
    Senior Member jOhO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,485

    Default

    i'm one of the 1280x1024 and yeah i know the aspect is 5:4 not 4:3...

    but dunno wat u mean about the h and v thing. i just stretch the screen to the edges!!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Northwest
    Posts
    5,011

    Default

    Originally posted by jOhO
    i'm one of the 1280x1024 and yeah i know the aspect is 5:4 not 4:3...

    but dunno wat u mean about the h and v thing. i just stretch the screen to the edges!!
    Every signle pixel should theorethically be displayed as a perfect square on the screen.

    If you stretch the display all the way to the edges, this will most likely end up in a 4:3 physical aspect ration.

    As a result, when you display a picture of a circle on screen, it will not be a circle, but stretched sideways into some sort of an oval shape.

    What I did was to maximize the display area vertically, and then measure the vertical display size, multiply that by 4/5, and the adjust the horizontal size to that dimension.

    This makes the actual display aspect ratio match the screen resolution setting aspect ratio. So there is no distortion in the display.

    - Roy


    As complexity rises, precise statements lose meaning and meaningful statements lose precision.

  5. #5
    Senior Member jOhO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,485

    Default

    arr ok i get u...

    yeah u're right about objects looking a little flatter but it doesn't bother me much. i dun think it's that much of a difference. anyway no matter how, i still feel that using the monitor to judge how something would print out is quite pointless.. really buay zhun one lor. not just in colour but stuff like fonts sizes etc.. looks ok on screen but when print out like too big or too small, u know that kind of thing.

    so after ur measurements to keep pixels "square" how much black space to u get on the sides of ur screen? issit alot? like "waste" screen space like that leh.

    or else u could just go up to 1600x1200 21" display should be ok at that res.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Northwest
    Posts
    5,011

    Default

    Not much waste lah...about 1/2 inch per side. I felt it was worth it.

    My system quite slow at 1600X1200, and the refresh rate is not gooh enough at that resolution, only 50 Hz.
    As complexity rises, precise statements lose meaning and meaningful statements lose precision.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    No in-between sizes like 1152 x 864, 1280 x 960, etc?

    Regards
    CK

  8. #8
    Senior Member jOhO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,485

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang
    No in-between sizes like 1152 x 864, 1280 x 960, etc?

    Regards
    CK
    oh yah those are the ones that i wasn't sure of. can help me add pleaseeeeeeeee?

  9. #9
    Senior Member jOhO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,485

    Default

    wah.. the fella (or lady!) that use more than 1600, wat size is ur monitor?

  10. #10

    Default

    I think quite a number of those selecting 1280x1024 did so because 1152x864 and 1280x960 were not available as choices.

  11. #11
    Senior Member ivor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    SINGAPOUR
    Posts
    1,369

    Default

    I am on 1024 x 768 resolution...

  12. #12

    Default

    I am running a dual monitor set up

    17" Mitsubishi Diamond Plus 72 @ 1024x768
    19" Sony G420 @ 1280x960

  13. #13
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    ClubSNAP community
    Posts
    2,775

    Default


    21" monitors.... how i wish...

  14. #14
    ClubSNAP Idol Adam Goi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    5,682

    Default

    Running @ 1280 by 1024 on my Sony G420.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    running dual monitors @ 1600 x 1200

    dun worry....your pano image can extend to my secondary monitor

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    11

    Default

    dual monitor (20" and 17") both at 1600x1200 . total 3200x1200

  17. #17
    Senior Member jOhO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,485

    Default


  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Town of Queens doing PORT-9YOU
    Posts
    12,716

    Default

    Sony G400 @ 1280x1024 @ 85Hz
    Sony G420 @ 1024x768 @ 120Hz

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    "You Are Here"
    Posts
    276

    Default

    SGI (Sony OEM) GDM20E21 @ 1280x1024 (dumb ATI R8500 doesn't have a 1280x960! I want my Matrox G400.... )

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ClubSNAP East
    Posts
    1,702

    Default

    1024x768 on Sony E230 @ Home ( personally, I want 1280x1024 but then I'm not the only one using this computer )

    1280x1024 on Philips 109S and Acer 99c @ Office (finally! )

    :Later,

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •