Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 31 of 31

Thread: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

  1. #21
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    291

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by conquer500 View Post
    I disagree on the wireless part fully, it takes almost no time from the CPU at all, unless you are running a system so slow.

    Vista is still not really for the mass market yet, not everyone software or system can support vista yet, Vista is just too new and faulty, it needs a few more years. The market outcry have force Microsoft to relaunch XP again. Those who suffer most are industrial user whose system are not vista ready, and support are not available till now.

    Batt life is short with vista as compared to XP, unless Microsoft can improve that, let see whether it happens in SP1.
    What he said is true.
    The wireless connection to the router tend to cut off at times and sometimes,there'll be no detection of network after startup.

  2. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Guillemard
    Posts
    249

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by Kid Shotter View Post
    4x1GB 667 is ok enough unless you overclock.
    Getting 4GB of ram for a 32 bit system is a waste of $$. 32 bit system will reserve some adreessing space for the os usage, so the max ram the os utilise will not be the 4GB.
    MS says 3.12GB max.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929605

    As for vista is memory hungry, read this, vista have a different memory management, so the less memory u have, the better performance it is.

    http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/archives/000688.html

  3. #23

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaycelim View Post
    Getting 4GB of ram for a 32 bit system is a waste of $$. 32 bit system will reserve some adreessing space for the os usage, so the max ram the os utilise will not be the 4GB.
    MS says 3.12GB max.
    so, OS uses some RAM, the rest (~3GB) used by software like Photoshop and whatever may also be running in the background, ok what... not a waste...

  4. #24

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by conquer500 View Post
    ok, whatever, lets wait after 2014 and see what happens to vista and xp.

    btw, we are still using fossil fuel to power most of our homes.
    doesn't need to wait till 2014.. personally i feel that your this comment doesn't help in anyway.. come on.. we are still using fossil fuel but are you still living in the past? ask yourselves how much the tech has change and improve our life?

  5. #25
    Senior Member Big Kahuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    2,127

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Change the harddisk to a faster 5400 or even 7200rpm one....IBM lappy is notorious to come with those slow 4200rpm Hitachi drive to save cost and battery power

  6. #26

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    faster harddrive could improve speed somewhat... but must factor in reduction of battery life cause more power required... or, if money not a prob, get solid state drive (flash drive)... boot up faster at reduced power draw...

  7. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Guillemard
    Posts
    249

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by theRBK View Post
    so, OS uses some RAM, the rest (~3GB) used by software like Photoshop and whatever may also be running in the background, ok what... not a waste...
    Do you have reference site that says so. Memory space are like empty slot that a system can access, when the first 1Gb of address space is taken up by the physical devices, the 32 bit system is not able to use access the full 4Gb physical ram.

  8. #28

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaycelim View Post
    Do you have reference site that says so. Memory space are like empty slot that a system can access, when the first 1Gb of address space is taken up by the physical devices, the 32 bit system is not able to use access the full 4Gb physical ram.
    sure, the kernal and what have you would use the 1GB... and what is left?... nobody said that photoshop or any program would use all 4GB... and those programs won't need to use all 4GB for 4GB of RAM on a computer to be useful right?

    to TS, sorry for OT...

  9. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Jurong Island
    Posts
    1,124

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    I think it is good if you can reinstall Vista.

    The pre-installed Vista comes with too many useless software that slows down startup, take chunks of RAM, etc...

  10. #30

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    its the laptop manufacturers that stuff all sorts of rubbish on the laptops, not so much Vista itself...

  11. #31

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lmodel View Post
    I think it is good if you can reinstall Vista.

    The pre-installed Vista comes with too many useless software that slows down startup, take chunks of RAM, etc...
    yeah, argree with that.


    btw, how long exactly does it take from pressing the on button till reaching that usable desktop? cos is it "so long" as compared to another fast desktop you used before?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •