Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

  1. #1
    Senior Member Ansel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Land Downunder
    Posts
    2,207

    Default Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    On a top of the line Thinkpad T61 (2.2 GHz processor with 4 MB of L2 Cache) with 2 GB of memory, it takes an excruciating long time for the computer to boot up to the signon screen and thereafter, another excruciatingly long time till the harddisk stop spinning.

    Why??

    Is there anything I can do to speed it up?

  2. #2
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    291

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ansel View Post
    On a top of the line Thinkpad T61 (2.2 GHz processor with 4 MB of L2 Cache) with 2 GB of memory, it takes an excruciating long time for the computer to boot up to the signon screen and thereafter, another excruciatingly long time till the harddisk stop spinning.

    Why??

    Is there anything I can do to speed it up?
    lol,i use buisness too and there;s no problem unless it's a reboot after an update.
    Maybe you can go do something to your virtual memory.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    hmm.....is the lappie new? as in just came without extra software installed yet? you can always try formatting it firstthough i believe your thread will have a reduction its usefulness as many naggers will be lambasting vista soon, demanding you to stay away from vista using a tone of a predictable military rsm.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    West
    Posts
    3,136

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    I have lots of questions too. Why is vista taking up 788mb of my RAM upon bootup, why is it so crap, etc.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    788MB RAM?!!??

    can other uses please confirm..i'm planning to get a new desktop......hai..now stuck between XP and Vista....

  6. #6
    Senior Member Ansel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Land Downunder
    Posts
    2,207

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by dotaboy View Post
    lol,i use buisness too and there;s no problem unless it's a reboot after an update.
    Maybe you can go do something to your virtual memory.
    Quote Originally Posted by satay16 View Post
    hmm.....is the lappie new? as in just came without extra software installed yet? you can always try formatting it firstthough i believe your thread will have a reduction its usefulness as many naggers will be lambasting vista soon, demanding you to stay away from vista using a tone of a predictable military rsm.
    Yes, it is a brand new unit I got at Sitex. Since day one it has always taken a long time to boot, yes, occsasionally with new updates to OS or virus scan can take even longer. I hate to think it is a Vista bad memory/CPU management problem. I am inclined to think that if I swictch to XP, the computer will fly.

    Quote Originally Posted by Vulpix0r View Post
    I have lots of questions too. Why is vista taking up 788mb of my RAM upon bootup, why is it so crap, etc.
    Right now with just Internet explorer running, the memory usage is 62% of 2GB and CPU usage hovers around 10%.


    Heard SP1 is out, but my autoupdate feature doesn't seem to spot it.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    don't know about you guys... my Vista 64 system is using about 1GB of RAM but CPU usage is 0~2% utilized while idling with multiple IE windows open, less than 10% when posting a message... throw in more RAM and you have no probs...

    SP1 is not out in an official release yet... only in RC1 level (release candidate 1, something like a more advanced beta of the final product)

  8. #8
    Senior Member dorts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    2,173

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Me no problems with Vista. Using 512MB of RAM only and it's working good. Not as fast as XP, but fast enough. Except when multitasking, where it gets pretty slow. It's not as bad as everyone says actually. But I agree, boot up is slower than XP. But I usually don't shut down, only sleep/hibernate.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    it depends on the bit you use.. mine also t61 with vista, would agree it is not as fast as i would expected it to be but nonetheless still ok.. but after changing some setting i can achieve from stand to useable within less than a min.. maybe you can search around the net for some information to change some settings.. also, the reason why such high CPU usage maybe due to many users being created and also the issue with its wireless.. i would urge you not to downgrade first and wait for the SP1 to be out next year.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ansel View Post
    On a top of the line Thinkpad T61 (2.2 GHz processor with 4 MB of L2 Cache) with 2 GB of memory, it takes an excruciating long time for the computer to boot up to the signon screen and thereafter, another excruciatingly long time till the harddisk stop spinning.

    Why??

    Is there anything I can do to speed it up?
    First what software u installed in your system? the more software, the slower the system.

    I have the 2GHz processor version of the T61, do you know why your HDD is spinning non stop? You HDD is spinning cause your laptop is doing indexing of the vista system. Even you off the indexing, it will still do the indexing, there is nothing you can do about it. Everytime their is a software change, indexing will start again. usually first few time u use the HDD spin for around 20mins.

    For the shutdown, go change your prefetch to 0, shut down time will improve to around 30sec.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by slypower50 View Post
    it depends on the bit you use.. mine also t61 with vista, would agree it is not as fast as i would expected it to be but nonetheless still ok.. but after changing some setting i can achieve from stand to useable within less than a min.. maybe you can search around the net for some information to change some settings.. also, the reason why such high CPU usage maybe due to many users being created and also the issue with its wireless.. i would urge you not to downgrade first and wait for the SP1 to be out next year.
    its the indexing creating this problem, not the wireless or many user. SP1 will not be any more useful, still best to use XP with SP3

  12. #12

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by conquer500 View Post
    its the indexing creating this problem, not the wireless or many user. SP1 will not be any more useful, still best to use XP with SP3
    i agree that the indexing if one of the factor but disagree the part on the wireless and other users coz they do affect the system. Especially the wireless card.. there are some known problem when the wireless will be cut off and nv turn on again.. after it is off, it will slow down the whole system as the CPU usuage will increase.. the next move will be to restart the comp which will take a lot of time. Also, personally i do not recommend user who is unfamiliar with the system to change the prefetch setting to 0.
    And i disagree on the part that SP1 is any useful. It is time to move on from XP. With some tuning here and there, Vista will be and can be as fast or even faster than XP.

    (This is just my personal comment, no offence to anyone)

  13. #13

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by slypower50 View Post
    i agree that the indexing if one of the factor but disagree the part on the wireless and other users coz they do affect the system. Especially the wireless card.. there are some known problem when the wireless will be cut off and nv turn on again.. after it is off, it will slow down the whole system as the CPU usuage will increase.. the next move will be to restart the comp which will take a lot of time. Also, personally i do not recommend user who is unfamiliar with the system to change the prefetch setting to 0.
    And i disagree on the part that SP1 is any useful. It is time to move on from XP. With some tuning here and there, Vista will be and can be as fast or even faster than XP.

    (This is just my personal comment, no offence to anyone)
    I disagree on the wireless part fully, it takes almost no time from the CPU at all, unless you are running a system so slow.

    Vista is still not really for the mass market yet, not everyone software or system can support vista yet, Vista is just too new and faulty, it needs a few more years. The market outcry have force Microsoft to relaunch XP again. Those who suffer most are industrial user whose system are not vista ready, and support are not available till now.

    Batt life is short with vista as compared to XP, unless Microsoft can improve that, let see whether it happens in SP1.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Vista made my dualie rig seem like a 486. Reinstalled XP and now it's breeze.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Vista is a resource whore, but apart from that hasn't caused me any heartache - yet.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by conquer500 View Post
    I disagree on the wireless part fully, it takes almost no time from the CPU at all, unless you are running a system so slow.

    Vista is still not really for the mass market yet, not everyone software or system can support vista yet, Vista is just too new and faulty, it needs a few more years. The market outcry have force Microsoft to relaunch XP again. Those who suffer most are industrial user whose system are not vista ready, and support are not available till now.

    Batt life is short with vista as compared to XP, unless Microsoft can improve that, let see whether it happens in SP1.
    no.. what i mean is that it will happened only when the wireless feature is being switch off by the computer itself. Once this happen, the computer will be slow down and not the wireless that slows it down. ya. i understand the part on the software compatiabilty problem but this is a problem with all newly introduce OS.. Just compare it to the time when people start to switch from flim to digital.. many do welcome that and give lots of reasons not to accept the change.. but now how many people dont even use flim anymore.. what i really wish that people will accept the fact that the tech will change and we have to continue to support it. When everyone chooses to fall back on old reliable tech, how can we advance.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    so is there a clear verdict??

    i'm considering a new desktop,....can add more RAM..

    does more ram helps say 4x1G 667MHz. or will faster ram be better??

    Or really just get XP first. (then later must pay to upgrate to Vista again..hai...)

    A pain to upgrade PC at the moment!

  18. #18

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    mine 1GB ram worst right...

  19. #19

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by slypower50 View Post
    no.. what i mean is that it will happened only when the wireless feature is being switch off by the computer itself. Once this happen, the computer will be slow down and not the wireless that slows it down. ya. i understand the part on the software compatiabilty problem but this is a problem with all newly introduce OS.. Just compare it to the time when people start to switch from flim to digital.. many do welcome that and give lots of reasons not to accept the change.. but now how many people dont even use flim anymore.. what i really wish that people will accept the fact that the tech will change and we have to continue to support it. When everyone chooses to fall back on old reliable tech, how can we advance.
    ok, whatever, lets wait after 2014 and see what happens to vista and xp.

    btw, we are still using fossil fuel to power most of our homes.

  20. #20

    Default Re: Why does Win Vista Business take so long to boot up?

    Quote Originally Posted by di0nysus View Post
    so is there a clear verdict??

    i'm considering a new desktop,....can add more RAM..

    does more ram helps say 4x1G 667MHz. or will faster ram be better??

    Or really just get XP first. (then later must pay to upgrate to Vista again..hai...)

    A pain to upgrade PC at the moment!
    4x1GB 667 is ok enough unless you overclock.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •