Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What Flash to use for olympus E510

Default What Flash to use for olympus E510

Hi People. I'm new to DSLR's n just wondering if all Flashes are compatible with my E510? Also if there any generic one's that I can buy?meaning CHEAPThanks for the help.

Default Re: What Flash to use for olympus E510

Olympus FL36 or if you need longer reach, the FL50.
    There are newer models FL36R and FL50R, but don't think E-510 can utilise the wireless function(someone please correct me if I am mistaken).
    Can also use the old Nikon SB26 for faster recyling time but will lose TTL.
    There is also a 3rd party flash made by Metz but don't think it is available locally yet.

hi bro i posted a similiar question in the 4/3 section u may wanna just look through it an see whether its helpful

http://forums.clubsnap.com/showthread.php?t=329668
    P&S: Sony U20, Pana-leica FZ5, Canon S90, Pana DMC-T3
    SLR: Nikkor F60, Oly E-510, Oly E-5

Hi Guys, Thanks for your replies n especially to bro Viewwing for your link to your thread. Hope I did not piss ppl off for posting the same question u did. Thanks a million buddies. so now I do have to get the original one from Olympus. Should have stuck to my casio exilim.

don't really need to but... to me i think its still safer else u can look at some of those links which give the voltage of the older flash... but without ttl you'll have to really control those apertures and shutter speed.

i used both 36 and 50. if you are not covering events and going to places with high cellings a fl36 is actually very good. And its small too...

alot of bros selling it off around 200++ depending on conditions
    P&S: Sony U20, Pana-leica FZ5, Canon S90, Pana DMC-T3
    SLR: Nikkor F60, Oly E-510, Oly E-5

Hey bro Viewwing tks again for your info n help. much appreciated. I'm now trawling the buy/sell forum looking for the f36.

Actually, the onboard flash will do for simple usage. What you need the flash for?