Thread: Product shot of canon lens cap

Default Product shot of canon lens cap

hi. i shot this to test out off shoe flash.
    i would like comments more on the lighting, background(not white?)

settings:
    canon 350D
    kitlens
    shutter speed: 1/100
    F8
    iso 400

Default Re: Product shot of canon lens cap

any comments?

err... i'm not going to comment on the picture, but just asking you a simple question.

What do you want the critics to comment on in this picture when the subject is not appealing?
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

Hi noob117

Thanks for sharing the shot.
    Aside from the fact that the item does not seem appealing, i assume you are looking for comments on illuminating an object ?

I think you did a good job. But i would prefer the shadows casted to be softer if not less obvious. I am also pretty new to shooting such objects in achieving balanced lighting and illumination. I use multiple flashes and experiment along as well. I shoot in a light tent, and my flashes diffused.

The foreground is slightly darker than the whiter background at the back.
    The lens cap at the front is likewise darker and details lost. I would place another light source to very slightly light it up by a bit

If it is still not white enough can always lighten up the picture a little with curves.

Peace
    Ryan

Quote Originally Posted by giantcanopy View Post
    Hi noob117

Thanks for sharing the shot.
    Aside from the fact that the item does not seem appealing, i assume you are looking for comments on illuminating an object ?

I think you did a good job. But i would prefer the shadows casted to be softer if not less obvious. I am also pretty new to shooting such objects in achieving balanced lighting and illumination. I use multiple flashes and experiment along as well. I shoot in a light tent, and my flashes diffused.

The foreground is slightly darker than the whiter background at the back.