Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Fungus or dust?? help!

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore Pasir RIs
    Posts
    1,093

    Default Fungus or dust?? help!

    Hi guys
    please take a look at this..
    Lens or fungus?
    Can someone tell mi if this is dust or fungus??
    I found this lens in a cupboard abandoned by my dad... yrs ago..
    all his other lens got this stuff oso..
    can someone tell mi how to remove them?
    THanks a lot..
    Last edited by m00nman26; 12th May 2003 at 10:03 AM.

  2. #2

    Default

    Should be fungus..... 99% sure.....

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore Pasir RIs
    Posts
    1,093

    Default

    ok.... can it be removed by buying some solution or do i have to take it to a shop for removal?
    any good methods to recommend?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    everton park
    Posts
    234

    Default

    for shops can try camera hospital at sunshine plaza or camera workshop at peninsula. just bring down and ask for qoute so if u thinkits too ex, then can just dun clean. clean fngus off my lens at cam workshop for $65. look for daniel and say friend from clubsnap recommend, might give u better price=)

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    453

    Default

    Originally posted by xin
    Should be fungus..... 99% sure.....
    I add 1%

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    5,499

    Default

    Originally posted by jasonpgc
    I add 1%
    yeah, definitely fungus. dust appears as specks, not the spidery weblike thing you see on your lens.

    and definitely try TCW first for cleaning. they're one of the better repair shops around.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore Pasir RIs
    Posts
    1,093

    Default

    ok... so that means can't clean them by myself lah...
    hmm how do they charge?
    coz I got 3 of such lenses... both sides all kena leh..
    so does this means $65 x 6?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    everton park
    Posts
    234

    Default

    maybe can get bulk discount! i think its x3, never mind if its on both sides butthat one i not sure. ok, jokes aside, seriously.. think u mention that you dug them out of your dad cupboard and they are at least years old. are u gonna use them? if so, clean is good and i dun think you can DIY unless u wanna end up like sharpshooters nikon coolpic ( took it apart cannot put back)
    but if u not thinking of using them, can just sell them really cheap to someone. not gonna fetch much but better than sit at home and yes..grow fungus! (pardon the pun, can't help it!)

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    398

    Default

    Hi. I am only 70% agree that it is fungus. As the picture is not too sharp in the first place. It might be stains.

    If it is fungus, and if it is at the outside surface, then can clean yourself. If it is inside then have to go to shops to clean. I have fungus on 1 of my lens rear element too, but luckily it is on the outside, so clean it by myself.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore Pasir RIs
    Posts
    1,093

    Default

    hmm tink I'll go check out the prices.
    dunno whether can use or not leh...
    Mi using A70.. suppose to be able to add on lens rite?
    one of the lens says something like 52mm and 1:2.8
    heres 2 pics of it:
    lens1 lens2
    and another one is huge that says macro so I assume is macro lens rite?
    hmmm its for a real old Canon cam AE1... anybody heard of it at all?
    Anyone can advise me whether or not they can be used on my A70?
    thanks

  11. #11

    Default

    Originally posted by m00nman26
    hmm tink I'll go check out the prices.
    dunno whether can use or not leh...
    Mi using A70.. suppose to be able to add on lens rite?
    one of the lens says something like 52mm and 1:2.8
    heres 2 pics of it:
    lens1 lens2
    and another one is huge that says macro so I assume is macro lens rite?
    hmmm its for a real old Canon cam AE1... anybody heard of it at all?
    Anyone can advise me whether or not they can be used on my A70?
    thanks
    No. SLR lenses CANNOT be used on digicams. You have use those on the old AE-1.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore Pasir RIs
    Posts
    1,093

    Default

    Ooops
    Pai Seh man.. this is wat chinese call zhi zuo cong ming (try 2 act smart)
    tks 4 the enlightenment


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •