Thread: Lens help please!!

Default Lens help please!!

Hi folks. I am a newbie to this site and a newbie to camcorders and I need some help. I was in Singapore recently for a day as part of a Far East cruise,and I wandered in and out of the camera shops on Orchard Road (as you do) and as you might have guessed, everyone was trying to sell me a new camcorder. I have a Canon MV800 DV camcorder and to be fair, I had been experiencing trouble with it due the intense hunidity during the cruise. However it did right itself and whilst I did not actually buy a new camera, I let myself be persuaded to invest in a wide angle lens and UV lens for my camcorder. I really didn't know a lot about it or about the price, so I agreed to the sale which was in the region of 120 UK pounds. The salesman kept saying that it was much cheaper than in the UK. The lenses I bought were a Macro lens, a wide angle Grobartig Digital Wide x38 wide angle lens, and a 55mm polarizing lens. When I got back to the UK,I showed these items to my camera dealer, and he said that I'd been caught!. Now, I don't know who to believe and before I contact the shop in Singapore (no names given (yet), could anyone let me know whether these prices were more or less correct or not? Many thanks

Default Re: Lens help please!!

You probably should only have paid not more than 15 pounds.

NOBODY here shops for cameras on orchard road. We avoid it like the plague.
    Alpha

don't speak for everyone lar..

james at Lord's camera has been great for many years.

Thanks guys, that makes me feel whole lot better (not) Don't suppose I have any redress against the seller? I did pay by credit card. Maybe I should write to them together with a copy to the local Chamber of Trade or Commerce, and complain about overcharging.